We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service was nice but the room was not.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dover, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service was nice but the room was not.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I had stayed here before and it was amazing. But the second time was like 'what happened?' The cold water handle leaked every time you used it, the remote control wasn't working, the handle on the bed side drawer was broken, the robes were dirty, and to top it off we had roaches in our bathroom. I am embarrassed that I recommended this place as a weekened getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluecaramel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,574
    1,271
    372
    171
    112
See reviews for
959
1,071
210
1,713
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (942)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed at this property for three nights as part of the weekend in Philadelphia to attend the Army - Navy football game. Very nice property. Good location. As all Loews properties, very comfortable beds. A little surprised that the extent of maid service was to remake the bed, replace towels, and that was it. Very obvious little else was done. Great personal contact with folks on the front desk, in the bar, etc.

Room Tip: Get a room removed from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim4249541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Good sized room, comfortable beds, very clean, good linens. Everything one would hope for. The location is ideal. Easy walk to attractions. The staff was consistently friendly and courteous, particularly Dan, who provided excellent tips on dining and local attractions. We had a small dog with us and learned that this limits your room to the 10th floor. I had wanted a higher floor, but as it turned out, it was excellent. Great view, very quiet and convenient. The restaurant on the 33rd floor has a very limited menu, but we enjoyed our dinner as well as the buffet style breakfast. Would absolutely go back, dog or not.

Room Tip: Room 1008 had a good view and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Great location to visit Philadelphia! Walking distance to most everything in the city! Staff was friendly and attentive and gave great recommendations for restaurants in the area as well as things to do nearby. The room was very clean, neat and modern. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliasalerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband and I ended up having an unexpected layover in Philadelphia while traveling to California for a conference. We decided to stay in a downtown hotel so we could go out for a nice dinner and actually enjoy the surprise stay in Philadelphia (fyi: taxis charge a flat rate from the airport to downtown hotels - I think it was around $26-28 each way). We were certainly glad we chose the Loews Philadelphia Hotel for our stay! We booked at the last minute and still received a reasonable rate. The staff were very friendly and happy to make recommendations for good restaurants near the hotel. The hotel room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and despite being downtown it was not noisy at all. The only complaint (and hence the rating of 4/5 versus 5/5) was that we did not have hot water the evening we arrived or in the morning before we left (the hot water finally kicked in just as we were leaving to catch a taxi back to the airport).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmBCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with some friends on vacation and was pleased. Hotel was very clean and quiet. Staff was friendly. Within walking distant to Subway and many restaurants. We enjoyed the free coffee in lobby in the morning. The TV service was out a couple nights of our stay so that was disappointing as we were limited to only a couple channels. So bring a book just in case.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lvmeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
148 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Very nice stay for a work event. Valet parking very convenient. The staff was wonderful, all helpful and professional.The room was clean and had everything we needed, the bed was very comfortable.
Nice location for walking to the Reading market and the Gallery. Great breakfast at the restaurant, omelet station with free range eggs was a nice touch.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodeats22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing