We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel for work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Darien, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine hotel for work”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I spent three days and two nights at the Loews in Philadelphia during January for a sales kickoff meeting. The hotel was functional for our event, but had a very strange layout. The food served at our large events was quite good, however, I never tried the restaurant, nor the bar.

I would recommend this hotel if you are in twon and have meetings close, but would not go out of my way to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSFagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed our banquet food and conference services. However, we now offer complimentary Wi-Fi for all hotel guests. Thank you again for your recent review, and we hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,924
    1,395
    427
    186
    130
See reviews for
1,093
1,188
230
1,952
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,030)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, NJ USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed at the Loews Philly on 1/27/14 for business. Very efficient check in process and the front desk staff were very welcoming. The room was on the 24th floor and had a great view of downtown Philly! Room was modern, bathroom was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Really can't complain at all about this hotel. Also, right in the middle of everything, so easy to get anywhere in downtown. The front of the hotel was under construction, so had a bit of a hard time finding the place, but overall it was a nice stay. One thing to note was valet parking was the only option, and was $38.

Room Tip: Get a room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yankees2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are pleased our front office team gave you a warm welcome and a wonderful view, something we are very privileged with. Our location is really convenient to shopping, restaurants, and activities. Thank you again for your recent review, and we hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The staff here was the most pleasant and professional I’ve had the pleasure of encountering at a large hotel anywhere. Location is extremely convenient to the Convention Center. As for location, you can be inside the Convention Center 1 minute after leaving the hotel or if you’re like me and enjoy some fresh air between conference meetings, it is a pleasant 5 or 10 minute walk to the far entrance of the Center. Tons of delicious and varied food offerings at Reading Terminal market – again about 100 yards from hotel door. I also took a delightful walk south of hotel and enjoyed Philadelphia’s many public murals and Rittenhouse Square. A very pleasant stay.

Only thing that kept this from being a 5 star rating is the fact that room was too warm (with heat not adjustable) for first two days and the expensive yet very iffy wi-fi. I upgraded to the “Premium” wi-fi hoping it would be better than the “Standard” after having no luck with the regular and it was dodgy too.

But, all in a very pleasant stay in no small part to the great staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellinghamBikesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are that our staff provided and “and more” experience for you. I can truly say that is what makes our hotel so special. As a note, the high speed Wi-Fi becomes complimentary when reaching a gold status with our You First, guest loyalty program. Thank you again for your recent review, and we hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I in Philly for business and had a great stay. The suite I was given was ridiculous. Kim who manages the complementary club breakfast really knows the meaning of hospitality. She remembered me every day and asked if I wanted something I asked for the first day. Kevin on the concierge desk didn't just tell me where the nice breakfast place was, he gave me the name of his favorite diner and it was exactly what I wanted.

I hope to stay here again when our organization comes back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chivenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are elated you enjoyed your stay during your convention. I will make sure Kim on Club and Kevin at the Concierge Desk get recognized for their outstanding service. Thank you again for your recent review, and we hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Building dated but room really good, comfortable and clean. Receptionist and staff on the 33rd were all very good. Like most hotels in the area they look as if they were built 60 years ago but haven't had much love since. For Buisness it was far better than the hotel across the road!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Oatland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. One of our goals is to keep our history and old charm with our modern touches. We are pleased you enjoyed your newly renovated room in the first built American skyscraper. Thank you again for your recent review, and we hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The room was pleasant and nicely decorated, bedding was very comfortable. The ongoing construction in the building was causing a bit of chaos in the lobby, with slow check in / check out (but this could also have been caused by some convention going on - it is probably the main draw back of the hotel: because it is so close to the convention center, there will be large, noisy groups so not ideal... unless you are part of the said convention of course). I recommend the breakfast on the top floor restaurant - the food is average but the view is nice. Valet parking is way over priced so go with a different option if you can.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkny364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the room; we just completed a 14 million dollar room renovation and also recreated the sleeping experience. Breakfast with a view is also a great way to start the day at Level 33. Thank you again for your recent review, and we hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Philadelphia Loews Dec. 13-14, 2013 while in town to see the Army-Navy Game. While the check-in process was difficult due to construction on the hotel blocking the entrance and hampering access to the garage, the bellmen went the extra mile making it as easy as possible-- Thank you, Kevin and Justin! Not only did these gentlemen help get us checked-in, but also delivered our bags to our room, ensured we knew where everything was and provided us maps and recommendations for getting around and getting a bite to eat. It was very cold and windy, but when we got back to the hotel lobby, there they were with a hot coffee and a smile to welcome us "home."

Room Tip: Our room was next to the elevator and we, typically light sleepers, had no problems with the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja_D504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the room; we just completed a 14 million dollar room renovation and also recreated the sleeping experience. Breakfast with a view is also a great way to start the day at Level 33. Thank you again for your recent review, and we hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#16 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,272 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing