We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad customer service”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Would have given this hotel a 5 star rating due to clean and comfortable; however, website was deceiving, room price was supposed to include overnight parking..was told it did not at checkout. Very dissatisfied with lowes management in addressing this issue..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. While I am happy that you enjoyed our guestrooms, I am disappointed to hear of your issue regarding parking. I welcome the opportunity to further discuss this issue with you. We seek to make every stay a memorable one and I am sorry we failed to do so with your stay. I hope you will afford us another opportunity in the future with a return visit.

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,834
    1,365
    413
    182
    123
See reviews for
1,045
1,161
226
1,905
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Cozy yet spacious rooms with mini-bar options and complimentary Keurig brewer. Spacious bathroom and spa-quality complimentary toiletries. Housekeeping prepared for any request. Bank & Bourbon is A+++! A/C a little weak.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the guestroom and its amenities. We are also pleased that our housekeeping staff members made your experience memorable and that you had the opportunity to dine in our new restaurant Bank & Bourbon. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My family and I stayed there from Friday, July 4th to Sunday, July 6th. When I called and booked the hotel, I requested an early check-in, and the rep said is not a problem. When I arrived at a hotel at 2:00pm, I let the hotel know that I requested an early check in when I booked the hotel, I even notified the shift manager (Jenna), but she was less than willing to accommodate us to check us in a room, as the hotel room was not even ready at 4:00pm. After waiting around for about four hours (6:00pm) and we missed our dinner reservation at 5:00pm as well, we were able to check in a room on 31st Floor.

When we got to our room, we noticed that the room was not able to view the firework. We called the front desk staff. She was very impolite and said, "We are 100% fully booked, and can not offered a new room.” I complained to the shift manager and requested another room but was told there were no other rooms available.We picked this hotel because of the location and the only reason I paid more is to view the firework and some positive reviews I had read online. However, this is a very an unpleasant experience and we were very disappointed.

On our second day, when we returned to our room at 3:30pm we noticed that the beds had not been made, and cleaning staff had not visited yet. I spoke to front desk at the lobby and ask, and they said they were understaffed and finally at 4:00pm, a maid came in and only took her less than 10 minutes to clean our room. While I do understand that low staff can cause issues, but we did pay for full service.

I am shocked by this terrible service. This is not what anyone expects for $300 a night!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for submitting a detailed review of your stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. I want to apologize for the issues you encountered while on-site and I welcome the opportunity to discuss them with you. We strive to make each stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel a memorable one, and I am so sorry we failed to do so with your stay. Again, please contact me directly if you wish to discuss these issues further. Thank you for your review and we hope you will offer us another opportunity in the future with a return visit.

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was there for a major convention and the Marriot somehow screwed up my reservation where they had me staying July 11th - 15th when I needed to be there through the 16th of July. The Loews manager took care of me, signed me for the Loyalty program and whereever I go I will look to see if there is a Loews and it is near the convention center. Thank you.

The Philadelphia location is pet friendly. WOW!!!!!

GOD Blessed

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dell Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are thrilled that we were able to turn an unpleasant event into an opportunity to make your stay in Philadelphia pleasurable and memorable. We appreciate that you will seek out Loews properties as you travel and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Came for a business conference, extremely impressed with how Loew's preserved/renovated this modernist landmark building. Very respectful renovation that resulted in both the public areas and the individual rooms being consistent, well executed, and comfortable modern/international settings.

Beyond this, the meals through the conference and the restaurants and room service were fine.

Finally, the front desk and concierge service were superior. Jessica, Daisha, and others whose names I didn't get we're helpful and showed enthusiasm for working in the hotel and providing good service to guests.

Well done.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwnyc0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our recent enhancement project and how we blend the historic elements with the modern amenities that today’s travelers want and need. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our friendly team members and that they made your stay memorable. We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel. The atmosphere and staff are exceptional. We hosted my daughter's wedding there and with the exception of a few minor details all was as requested. The food was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for y our recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed the atmosphere and our team members made your experience a memorable one. We are also pleased you enjoyed the food. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We only stayed for one day. The hotel staff was nice, The lobby and guest areas are chic and relaxing. Room furniture was a little dated, especially the chair. The corner bed near to the window was broken I think as it was slanted and I kept rolling off the side. Suffice to say the lumpy mattress and the slanted bed made for one of the worst sleep we have ever had in a hotel room. The bathroom was very roomy and was adequate. Had some cleanliness issues. We had a a corner room 2516 and the view was nice.
I am giving it three stars because of the location and because we overall liked the modern look and feel of the hotel. They need to update the beds and the bathrooms and it will be a 4 and half star hotel. We booked this hotel as this was one of the few that had a pool. The pool is very narrow. Two lanes. Did not visit the spa. We never ate at the restaurant.There are loads of other choices around. The reading terminal market is a great stop, even if its is a bit expensive. If you just make you way down the street a bit you get to passayunk which has tons of good restaurants. Out of towners- lot of places are closed on Monday.
So overall ok experience. But wont stay there again.

Room Tip: Check the beds as ours was broken and check the cleanliness of bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelzen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are thrilled our team members made you feel welcome and that you enjoyed the lobby and public areas. We recently completed a $25 million enhancement project which included the public areas, guestrooms and the addition of our new restaurant Bank & Bourbon. We are sorry you did not like the recent renovations. We are glad you had the chance to sample the local food, especially Reading Terminal Market. I apologize that your experience at the hotel was not a memorable one and hope you will afford us another opportunity in the future with a return visit.

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,219 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,328 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing