We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great conference hotel in downtown Philadelphia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redwood City
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great conference hotel in downtown Philadelphia”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Spent five nights at the Loews for two conference related events. The newly renovated lobby bar and restaurant are quite nice. The best attribute of this hotel is its central location. There are many great restaurants, bars and other attractions within easy walking distance. Absolutely no need for a rental car if you stay here. Definitely recommend the Loews for conference and other group events. The only negative was the relatively slow wi-fi network access in my room.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms above the 20th floor with a view towards the Delaware river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekGittoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed our newly renovated lobby bar and our new restaurant Bank & Bourbon. We are pleased you enjoyed our location, just steps from great dining, shopping and historic sites. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,837
    1,366
    414
    182
    123
See reviews for
1,046
1,162
226
1,908
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,006)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a work conference and loved it. They were great and easy to work with. One of their employees Clinton even went above and beyond to help me with my belongings. I had excellent service throughout my whole stay and would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay during your conference and hope that you will return again soon. We are thrilled you found our team members to be friendly and helpful and will share your comment with Clinton!

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I booked this hotel on the recommendation of a friend on the hotel website. Check in was super efficient and informative. The location of this hotel is excellent if you're in town to tour the historic monuments which are accessible from one of two train stops each less than 1/2 a block away (11th or 15th stations for Market line). I found the in room decor plain (white with white curtains/black carpet) and not inviting or warm which is more my problem than theirs! THe room however was clean and updated. The price of this hotel was worth the location with excellent service. We used the concierge twice for directions and restaurant recommendations- they were always willing to help and very friendly.

Our room was on the 23rd floor facing the Deleware River towards the East. I would probably recommend the view towards the west facing City Hall and the skyline. Our view was nice but definitely not the money shot we were hoping for.

The only negative was on Friday and Saturday nights we had loud neighbors partying until 3am and running up and down the halls and drinking in the halls. Needless to say we did not sleep well. We didn't bother to call the front desk. Both noise levels from the front door and from next door through the walls were poor.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room higher than 25th floor facing west towards the skyline and Old City Hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WSoonatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed our efficient check in and that you found our location – just steps from great dining, shopping, transportation and the historic sites – to be convenient. We are glad you found your room to be clean and updated. We are sorry that you encountered noise; we strive to provide an excellent experience for all of our guests. I am certain if you had reached out to the front desk we could have been of assistance at the time. It does sound like you enjoyed your stay overall and we hope you will visit again soon!

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here overnight after a mid-week show in University City. I'm a Philadelphia native and was interested to stay in a building with such a strong local history. Excellent service at check-in, I believe Matthew assisted us. He was very friendly, helpful, and most efficient. We arrived right at peak check-in time, but all of the front desk staff worked quickly and efficiently.

Hotel is centrally located and taxis are easy to come by. Also walking distance to Market East, which makes it an excellent base for a city break.

Our room was on the 15th floor facing the river. Our view encompassed Market Street and the Walt Whitman Bridge. The room had no overhead lighting except in the entryway, but the large window allowed plenty of natural light during the day. The bed, towels, and linens were spotless and very comfortable.

The furnishings were modern and chic; it was very much what I would expect in a trendy and contemporary hotel. I would go as far as to say it looked almost exactly like the management photos, which impressed me. Here, what you see is exactly what you get and it was lovely.

Did not eat in house so cannot comment on either room service or Bank and Bourbon, but room services prices looked reasonable considering.

Check-out was seamless - capped a wonderful stay at the Loews. Check out the original PSFS elevators in the lobby before you leave!

Room Tip: 10th floor is pet-friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciadxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our historic building complete with modern amenities. We are glad that you enjoyed your clean and comfortable guestroom. We are happy that you enjoyed the décor and hope that you will join us again so you can dine in our restaurant Bank & Bourbon.

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel was lovely! All of the staff were friendly and courteous. The room was clean and spacious. Our room service experience was positive and they could not have been nicer or more accommodating! I wouldn't recommend the spa for guest services such as massages, I was not 100% satisfied with our couples massage.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are pleased you found our team members to be friendly and courteous and your guestroom to be clean and spacious. We are happy you enjoyed your room service experience. I am sorry you did not enjoy your spa services, but it does sound like you did enjoy your overall experience at the hotel. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed for one night 8/9-8/10 and could not have been more pleased with everything. Yes, it costs around $34 or so dollars to park over night, but at least you know your car is in a garage that's staffed 24 hours a day.
Check in was a breeze and our room was nice. We were in #915...away from the street noise, but sadly not much of a view at all. My only other complaint is that the room doors are loud...all day/night you would hear them slamming.
24 hour room service is a plus and the mini bar will do in a pinch, minus the $11 dollar gummy bears.
Concierge was fantastic...super helpful and accommodating. I somehow managed to not pack any hair elastics. How I did this, I'm still not sure. I called down prefacing that I had an odd request and asked if they happened to have any. I was told they didn't, but he would be happy to run to CVS for me. Within 15/20 minutes of me calling down, they were brought up to my room with a smile. He even purchased the metal free one...I didn't even remember to ask for those!
The bar is open until around 2am, with last call being like 1:30am I think. Conveniently located in the hotel lobby as well.
If I was ever in the Philly area, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher up floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are thrilled that you were pleased with the property and that you enjoyed our concierge and that they were able to provide a package of hair elastics for you. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our bar at Bank & Bourbon and look forward to hosting you again soon!

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here for a weekend getaway and a wedding. Very centrally located to everything we needed. The fitness center here was impressive. We will definitely stay here again if ever in the area again. Staff very friendly and helpful with helping get around the city. Overall wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit during your weekend getaway. We are pleased you enjoyed our friendly team members and that they made your stay memorable. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sean C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,220 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,329 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing