We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location / wonderful spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 October 2011

I booked this Omni in the historic district for $205 + another $37 for parking. At about $250 the location and amenities represent decent value for money. Location is the main draw, the property is inside the historical district within very short walking distance of all the major American independence draws including the Liberty Bell and the Constitution Center. The spa on the ground floor has the full suite of amenities with lap pool, hot tub, sauna, massage rooms, locker, etc.. The staff, and we interacted with nearly all of them, were unfailingly courteous and the restaurant and lounge are top-notch although pricey. Street noise is limited, rooms are spacious and well-maintained. In short, it earns its high ranking on this website.

Room Tip: As with any city hotel, request an upper floor
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewestchestarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,655)
There are newer reviews for The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,276 - 1,282 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

I decided to spend my final two nights at the Omni Hotel at Independence Park. The Omni is in what is known as the Old City, adjacent to Independence Park and within walking distance of all the major historic sites in Philadelphia. In addition, there are a plethora of restaurants and shopping easily accessible without a car. If you do have a vehicle, be prepared for the hefty $37 charged by the hotel per night.

The hotel lobby is neither large nor small; I liked that there was plenty of seating and a bartender always available. Guest rooms are located on floors 1-12, with a penthouse on floor 14. Below the lobby is the hotel's Lux Spa & Fitness. While I did not purchase any of the spa services, it seemed nice and relaxing. An indoor pool is behind the spa area and you pass through the spa to get to the hotel's fitness center. I used the fitness center twice; for a hotel gym, it was certainly above average in terms of the variety of equipment it offered (weight benches, press, leg and arm machines, etc). Unfortunately, it seemed very crowded in the room that housed it - simply too much equipment for a room that size. Moreover, the room was in need of cleanup and organization (why is it that hotels seem to neglect keeping their fitness centers clean?). The fact that the gym was in the basement was also a con for me - there was no natural light, which, with the drab colors and condition of the gym, does not inspire energy. Finally, the hotel closes the gym at 8:00 p.m. even during the week - I assume this is because it is within the Spa - all the more reason to move it.

My guest room was good-sized with an entry/foyer that led into a room with living room area. The bed was very comfortable, but the pillows and "dressing" did not strike me as 4-star. There was a new flat-panel television as well as a Bose alarm clock and radio. Decor was what would be expected - not my style, but suitable for the style the hotel sought. The hotel could use some updating - the carpet was old and the wallpaper drab. Perhaps I found it so because I dislike the particular style of decorating. On a positive note, my room was on the 11th floor and had an excellent view of the city and the Delaware River.

I found the hotel's staff accommodating and polite, though I had an incident interrupting an important meeting that could easily have been avoided had the "do not disturb" sign been respected. The hotel does offer turn-down service and my one meal from room-service was served quickly and was quite good. Overall, I found the hotel to be average to slightly above-average.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer great views of the city
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexjrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I spent the weekend at the Omni at Independence Park in Philly. It is the perfect location for tourists. It is in the "Old City" neighborhood and only a couple blocks from Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell, The Bourse. Its right across the street from the Portrait Gallery and a nice park. Center City is a short cab ride away. Restaurants and bars are everywhere. You have a wide variety from which to choose. The famous Steven Starr restaurant, Budakan is a block away. Its worth checking out.

The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. Nice size room and great bed. Climate control was good. Staff was friendly and helpful. I recommend this place for either a business or pleasure.

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the park on Chestnut Street.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rejoyceWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This is the perfect hotel location. Right down the street from all the historical activities and a large number of great late night dining right around the corner. The hotel is a little dated but the bar/lounge is nice, the rooms are large, and the staff very accommodating. Valet parking a little pricey but service was excellent and worthwhile if you plan on using your car during your stay.

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and would definately recommend to a friend and return ourselves. We also find the hotel quiet which is surprising for such a central location.

Room Tip: Higher up the better to avoid street noise but all in all the hotel seemed very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onthegoTwainHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Spent an awesome 5 nights at this property to see the sights of Philadelphia. The room was clean and spacious. The bathroom had plenty of counter space. Housekeeping was excellent. Our corner room had plenty of light and and nice view overlooking Independence Park.

We couldn't really hear any street noise from the 9th floor. And the noise from the neighboring rooms was minimal. The elevators were quick. No problems with the A/C unit. Large LCD TV. The bed was comfortable. The staff were all friendly. I would definetely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to see the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall.

Plenty of place to eat on Chestnut. We were able to walk to two Philly cheesteak places, Campo's and Jim's. (Campo's being the closer of the two) For fancy places there was Buddakhan and Morimoto. For casual food, there was Cosi's right across the street or at the Bourse. We also ate at Jones, Spasso's Italian, and Han Dynasty.

Plenty of transportation nearby. We used the Philly Phlash and buses. We didn't have any issues with homeless in the area. We felt safe the whole time we were in Philadelphia.

The only issues I had with the hotel was that the pool was tiny and our in-room safe ran out of battery twice. But this was no big deal. Taxi to and from airport was around $30.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sctrojan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

For the most part, this hotel lives up to Omni's standards of taking an older luxury property and offering very close to a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton experience at 50% of the price. There were a few misses, mainly staff training issues, I expect, but we had a very nice stay. The issues were quickly resolved and the staff was very nice. Rooms at this property are good sized. Very high quality linens, bedding and towels. Bathroom is high quality, although on the small side for true luxury property (but, it appears to be a rehab of an older property, so, that is to be expected.) The location is great for business or history travelers. The bar is small, but very pleasant. Morning coffee on time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This hotel did not meet expectations for the rating and price. The location is terrific, and the service is very good, but the building is starting to feel run down. There was significant mold in the bathroom (both on the wall and on the shower curtain). And there was a long black hair in my scrambled eggs at breakfast. When I pointed this out to the server, she gave me the breakfast for free, but still. I've stayed at 5-6 different hotels in Philadelphia over the years & I can say there are definitely better options available. I'm not likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cfischer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omnihotel, Manager at The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your most recent stay at the Omni Hotel at Independence Park. I am sincerely sorry for the poor food quality and cleaning oversight in your guest room. We strive every day to improve our customers experience and take great pride in providing a flawless stay.

We have reviewed your experience with the appropriate department managers and will strive for nothing less than a perfect stay. We would love the opportunity for you to try the Omni Hotel again, please give me a call directly on your next visit to Philadelphia.

Sincerely,
Christopher Laufer
Director of Sales and Marketing
-----------
---------

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 87 in Philadelphia
5,284 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Address: 401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £122 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, our elegant hotel in Old City Philadelphia, Pennsylvania has undergone a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia hotels. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe guest rooms offer a park view or they overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our doorstep. Our luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best, all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing