We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Omni - it's not for everyone :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Aside from the fact that The Omni doesn't inform you about a $50 fee for incidentals upon arrival is the fact that they don't care if you can pay for it. The problem is that they don't understand that not all of us are high-fallooting one-percenters riding lear jets with our American Express Black Cards. Take my wife and I, for example. We had a small wedding, we are middle class at best and budgeted and saved for an opportunity to use their Moonlight & Mimomas package as a honeymoon splurge.

We put all of the money for the room and taxes on a debit card then were slammed with an additional $50 fee. We totally had the funds available for this but they had a problem splitting this on to another card or cash. Eventually we were checked in and had the time of our lives - but people who don't normally stay in such luxurious settings (like us) should be careful and pay attention to the fine print. We also feel that the room left a lot to be desired for the price we paid, although we understand it was on the weekend where many couples were married on 11-11-11 (we were married a day after).

So, put an extra $200 away or so on top of the price of a weekend night's stay there. Other than that, their customer service was a little patronizing and condescending as we felt that if it wasn't our wedding night, they wouldn't have let us eventually split the room fee between two forms of payment. The bellmen are top notch and far exceed the scripted friendliness of the front desk staff.

The Azalea room is amazing and we highly recommend the mimomas package which allows for late check-in and late check-out. The views from our suite on the 12th floor were gorgeous and it was the perfect setting for the most perfect day of our lives. The Lux spa is like nothing we've ever experienced before. Just make sure you understand that the Omni is beautiful and wonderful and gorgeous and exceptional but not "for everyone."

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanZReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omnihotel, Manager at The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to offer an honest review of our hotel. We appreciate our guests sharing their experiences and helping us bring a better experience to the next traveler. We are happy that most of the honeymoon at the Omni was a great experience.
I would like to apologize for the service experience at the front desk and please contact me when time allows so I can apologize personally.

Christopher Laufer
Director of Sales
215-931-4210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,655)
There are newer reviews for The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,268 - 1,274 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

Just a short taxi trip from Amtrak and seconds from I95 this Hotel is over the top Five Star Service. Greeted warmly from beginning to end... I could live here! Gayle the Concierge was helpful planning our bus tours and with the local eateries. Don't miss this slice of Heaven in the Heart of the Historic district of Philly. Susan in the lounge served perfect cocktails and added huge amounts of local knowledge to make our walking tours more interesting. Sorry I forgot the bellman's name but always greeted us with warmth and respect.
Breakfast in the Restaurant is to "Live For" Egg-cel lent...
We'll Be Back!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margeritavile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omnihotel, Manager at The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Dear Traveler,

We always strive for excellence and looks like we did all the right things during your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience and the names of the individuals who help make your stay so great, we will certainly recognize them for their great service.

Sincerely,

Christopher Laufer
Director of Sale and Marketing
215-931-4210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

OMNI HOTEL, PHILADELPHIA, GREAT REHEARAL DINNER SETTING
I am writing this review to extol the Omni Hotel in Philadelphia for the wonderful rehearsal dinner we had there in October, 2011, for our son’s wedding. The venue was perfect for our approximately sixty guests. We began in the private dining room on the second floor where cocktails were served. Wonderfully generous amounts of hors d’oeuvres were served. The wines that were chosen by the catering staff were an excellent value for the price. As someone who has very high expectations of wines, I was very pleased.
Dinner was served as an intimate affair in a setting that overlooked the museum and gardens across the street. Tables were set as requested and the service was excellent. Hook ups for our presentation as well as a podium were in place and in good working order. Salads were extremely fresh and the main course arrived at each table in a very timely fashion. Tenderloin was cooked to perfection and served with a nice variety of sides. Desserts were wonderful and coffee was continually served as needed. Never once did we need to seek out more water or for that matter anything else. A wonderful children’s meal was also served to the grandchildren.
A special thanks to Chris Laufer, Director of Marketing and Sales who went out of his way to accommodate my many requests. Managers Colin Harvey and Michael Tien did an excellent job of overseeing our event. Servers Amy Brand, Jennifer Trayham, Jerrick Harris, and Fatmir Musa were most accommodating to our guests; especially the grandchildren. Kevin Curtin, the bartender for the evening, did an excellent job of serving a record number of drinks in a very short time. A special thanks to Robin who welcomed me when I first arrived at the Omni to see the space and taste the food.
Please note that I did not review the accommodations since we stayed on the other part of town near the church and reception area. Initially, the rehearsal dinner was to be held at the Union Trust Steakhouse. Sadly they did not honor our contract and failed to tell us this until several weeks after it was signed by both the catering manager and us. We were never told that the restaurant was in Chapter 11 and were very fortunate to get our deposit back. Clearly, the Omni was a far better setting and a wonderful group of people to work with. I did not recount our experience with the Union Trust to the Omni and so this speaks volumes of the fact that the Omni is a wonderful place that honors their contracts and delivers what is agreed upon. I highly recommend them for any event and I am very grateful to them for making our rehearsal dinner a wonderful event.

MM2011

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omnihotel, Manager at The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Dear Valued Customer,

It was our pleasure to host your rehearsal dinner in October and are happy to learn we were able to positively contribute to your weekend.

Thank you very much for taking the time to identify all of the employees who
Take great pride in providing excellent service to all events.

We truly appreciate your kind words and strive for exceptional service during each event and guest accommodation.

Sincerely,

Christopher Laufer
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

from the valet service to the buffet breakfast, from the front desk to the lovely comfortable room and fabulously comfortable bed, this is an excellent choice. we were here for a wedding which was terrific. The food is okay, not great, but all else, well done and worth it. excellent location

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsch0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed over night at the Omni to attend a family wedding. Nice service by valet and front desk. Room was fine - spacious. Older building, so not very sound proof. Pretty lobby and bar area. Elegant dining room.
Only issue: breakfast the following morning. A buffet was the only option. Unfortunately, we were not impressed with the selection. Top layer of scrambled eggs a darker color,from sitting in the warming tray. The french toast was dry. The orange juice served in a plastic dispenser found in a cafeteria. Odd for an elegant hotel. We saw the other wedding guests walking across the street for breakfast...we should have followed along!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy2travel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I booked this hotel because it is the closest to Independence Park, and I am so glad that I did. We had a wonderful stay here. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were very plush and clean, with views of the park. Also, we had breakfast in the Azalea dining room everyday, and it was very good. However, it was a little pricey for what you get, and we would not have gone back everyday if it hadn't been included in our room rate package. But overall, a great place to stay in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLJ718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This is a very nice hotel with a great location. The location is perfect to take in the historical sights. The staff is very helpful, and the beds super comfy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmod1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 87 in Philadelphia
5,285 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Address: 401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £122 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, our elegant hotel in Old City Philadelphia, Pennsylvania has undergone a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia hotels. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe guest rooms offer a park view or they overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our doorstep. Our luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best, all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing