We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, wonderful staff, poor maid service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Huntly, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location, wonderful staff, poor maid service”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The location is perfect if your goal is to see Old City and have a nice view from your window. The hotel itself is very pretty. The lobby staff (front desk, valet, concierge, etc) are incredibly friendly, courteous and helpful. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The maid service we had was poor in that they didn't tuck in the bottom sheets one night or supply us with a sufficient number of robes or towels (even after leaving a note requesting more than 2 bath towels). Had we called the front desk, I'm sure they would've delivered extra towels promptly, though. We also couldn't get a good water temperature in the shower most days. The water was either too hot or too cold. We had one issue with a loud sound from, possibly, a furnace or generator. I called the front desk and the problem was resolved within 30 minutes. Like I said, the hotel staff is wonderful. Internet is iffy on the 12th floor, so if you want reliable internet, its best to get a lower room. We didn't watch much TV, but were unable to adjust the aspect ratio on the LCD TV to correct the distorted images from an incorrect setting. Overall, it was a nice stay, but we're not sure we'd stay there again because of the maid service issues.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank KSBinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    492
    164
    79
    39
See reviews for
561
459
69
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I've stayed at a few different Omni properties and this one by far, sad to say, needs help. Based on previous experiences at Omni hotels, I had a level of expectation on hotel service and quality for the brand.

I had read previous reviews about street noise and when I checked in, I asked the front desk if they could put me in a room that doesn't face the street. He said he was going to put me on the quiet side of the hotel. But what I got was a 4th floor room that faced directly out onto Chestnut. There must be a bus stop right in front of the hotel so all night you hear the buses beep and buzz by your room as if the bus stop is in your room! Many of you might be thinking "well it's a city and you should expect city noise". This is true as I travel many times to New York for business. However, unlike the triple paned windows in New York that prevent most of the noise from seeping into your room, the Omni is clearly using some cheap single pane window and hasn't updated it in quite some time.

I did ask the front desk if there were any other rooms available I could switch to and they said they will leave a message for the on-duty manager to get back to me. I checked in with the front desk when I went out for dinner and they said they definitely left a message with the manager and that he would get back to me soon. I never heard from the manager during my entire stay.

Speaking of updating, the rooms are in desperate need of one. There is an "old world charm" to the rooms but the carpets were ragged, paint/wallpaper chipping off the walls, and the bathroom needs a massive scrub down from built up mildew. Ladies, pack a mirror because there was no vanity mirror here to help put your makeup on.

I could have easily given this hotel a 1 or 2 stars but the saving grace of my stay was the friendliness of the rest of the staff. Everyone from the waitress at the hotel restaurant to the doorman/bellman was courteous and friendly. They wanted to make sure you were having a pleasant stay. Even the gentleman that initially took my message about changing rooms - he knew that the manager never got back to me and offered me a free breakfast coupon to try to make it up to me. Perhaps these people could give that on-duty manager a lesson in customer service.

Location wise, the hotel is just a block from Independence Hall. The location was great and I think it's also close to public transportation (remember the bus?).

If I was coming back to Philly on business again, I'll make sure to remember to stay at the Hotel Monaco next door. Perhaps they have managers who care about their guests.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucidlilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I've stayed here on previous occasions, and it is by far the best in customer service, and amenities. The furnishings and decor are fabulous. Everyone is professional and goes out of their to please the customer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millburn, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

The Omni is centrally located, and offers nice facilities for the kids. We spent last weekend here with our 11 and 13 year olds, and the indoor pool was warm, and a perfect break. The staff was friendly, and the hotel lobby is impressive and comfortable. The towels in the bathrooms were more plush than most hotels, too! Upon leaving, we realized that dogs are welcome, too. May bring the little guy next time. Would definitely recommend this hotel for couples or families.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paoli, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

excellent hotel, restaurant & spa & the location is perfect to see the historic sites of Philadelphia. I would definitely return if in the area. The local buses come directly in front of the hotel & cabs are also plentiful in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The room and service is what you would expect from a 4-star hotel. Perfect location for the Old Town experience and easy freeway access or Mass Transit. The room was spacious, great city views and loved the gesture of providing free water and coffee delivery service. The concierge staff was always full of great tips and advise. My only complaint as a business traveler was the slow internet speed and cost of valet parking. At times it was no better than dial up service and had to use my cell service wi-fi when I needed to get quick response. I am sure the wireless internet access is highly dependent on location in the hotel from the access point and traffic bandwidth at the time of use. All the good points including a great rate helped overcome these negatives and would definitely consider coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

First time at Omni and it was an awesome experience. Beautiful accommodations, exceptional friendliness of staff and service was outstanding. I was amazed at the size of the bathroom - plenty of room to feel comfortable (there were 3 of us sharing a room). I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jolene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,040 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Property: The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Address: 401 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2425
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, this hotel invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, this hotel is about to undergo a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia Hotels. Our 150 exquisitely appointed guest rooms, some of Philadelphia's finest accommodations, are the ultimate refuge. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe hotel rooms offer a park view or overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Host your inspirational meeting or banquet in spaces where national history has been forged. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our hotel doorstep. Concierge services and business center on hand help facilitate business endeavors. Complement your meeting with customized catering services and modern audiovisual facilities. This luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best-all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing