We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice for Philadelphia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for Philadelphia”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The Omni is a fantastic choice for travlers going to the "Old City"/Historical area of Philadelphia. My wife and I just stayed there for a birthday get-away and the location, rooms and staff are all exceptional. This is a great value. I did not use the fitness club or spa services but they did look very nice. Room Service was quick and good

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. Also, if celebrating a special occasion, let the staff know a few days befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    485
    160
    77
    38
See reviews for
554
453
68
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
herminie, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A very nice hotel and the area was walking distance to everything it was a great experience. the hotel staff was very helpful .the valet parking was on top of things we barely waited for our car. the bathroom was large and very well lighted .the mini bar was stocked with a very nice variety .the room was very comfortable .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Viola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

First, the good:
-comfortable beds
-clean linens
-bathrobes
-lots of electrical outlets in the room
-free WiFi

Needs improvement:
-shower was not hot
-room access and reservations (see below)

My experience:

We got there for the conference at about 11 am. We needed to leave our bags as our room wasn't ready. My office booked a block of rooms through work, and our names were associated with each room. The staff at this time was courteous and took down my cell phone number in order to contact me when the room was available. We left our bags with the desk. They called me about 2 hours later (while I was in a meeting) to let us know our room was ready. So far, so good!

We get to the hotel after a long, busy, and stressful day of meetings at around 9 pm. I go to the desk to pick up the key, and we're given the room. At this point there seemed to be some confusion about who was in what room, but they gave us the key and we went up the elevator. We get to the room and it was filled with our coworkers stuff. Oops! We go back down and state there must have been confusion. I figure it is because I share a first name with one of my other coworkers and someone didn't check the billing.

The desk worker apologizes, gives us another key, and we head up. We walk in this time to my female coworker changing clothes. Very embarrassing. We head back down. At this point the desk worker fiddles on the computer and says "this is all very confusing" but creates another magnetic keycard for us and we go back up. Having learnt my lesson, I knock this time. Guess what? The room was occupied.

I head back down and at this point I am starting to get annoyed. I am very tired and want to get to bed and take off my tie. At this point she says "It's all very confusing because YOU booked the room under different names, YOU didn't book enough rooms" -- not even a hint of apologizing for sending us to the wrong room 3 times! She calls my coworker to straighten it out and tells him that "I'm very upset" about the whole affair. She suggests to him that we are going to need to share a room (four adult males in a room... what fun for a business trip!) Finally we get it all straightened out (we had booked the correct number of rooms!), and she gets us in another room. Thankfully it was unoccupied. A full hour later it was resolved.

They really need to upgrade to a computer system that checks whether the room is occupied and that can handle complex reservations.

Next time I go to Philly I will stay somewhere else.

I stayed in the Garden Inn once, which wasn't as fancy, but was definitely cheaper and had very nice customer service.

Room Tip: make sure there is no one in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landcuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here on some snowy January days. It was a comfortable and convenient place to stay. Hotel staff members made us feel welcome. We especially enjoyed the proximity to the historic sites and the indoor pool area. The hotel felt safe and well-maintained. Access to public transportation isn't bad either.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CW1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

What a nice hotel. Starting with the room decor, the size of the rooms, the comfortable beds, the nice bathroom, the location and the courteous staff. It is just a nice place to stay. The only thing is they don't always have a concierge on staff but there is an electronic board that features most of the info you need and it is such an easily navigible city that it isn't really necessary. Really a nice stay. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaEmerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Located in the old city area of Philadelphia, the Omni Hotel was centrally located near the historic sites. The hotel is definitely not a cookie cutter building and is geared towards more sophisticated travelers. The moment one walks into the lobby you know its a unique place. A harp player was playing music in the lobby along with a fireplace. The hotel has an onsite restaurant, a spa, pool, and other amenities. While I tend to stay in more basic hotels, the Omni hotel was a joy to stay in.

My room was very large with great amenities including a Bose clock radio and comfortable bed. The Internet access was fast along with a great desk for work purposes. The bathroom was quite nice but not as up to date other places. However it was more than suitable for my purposes. One caveat was the lack of vending machines but a nearby shop was open until 10pm next to the hotel. The room also had a nice view of the surrounding historical area.

During my stay I was able to use their pool area which was located in the basement area. The pool right next to their spa and fitness center. While not large, the pool had a nice spa feel to it with wooden chairs and towels. A hot tub was situated alongside the pool. Two staff members were more than helpful with questions. The pool was heated.

The location of hotel is very close to Independence Hall, the Bourse building, and a subway stop. Market Street is only a few blocks away. Walking to many great restaurants was easy from the hotel. For a romantic getaway, this hotel would be great choice. For myself the hotel was a nice stay during a short stay on business.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just returning from a holiday stay at one of our favorite Philadelphia hotels. The Omni is perfectly located near the historic sites and great restaurant in this part of town. The price can be high, but if you look for deals, and being a loyalty member helps with this, its well worth it. We always take advantage of the free morning beverage offered to members.

One of the best attributes of the hotel is the staff. The valet, front desk, housekeeping and room service folks never miss a chance to say hello or thank you for staying at "their hotel". This attitude really sets the Omni apart and makes you feel special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Penn's View Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Property: The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Address: 401 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2425
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, this hotel invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, this hotel is about to undergo a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia Hotels. Our 150 exquisitely appointed guest rooms, some of Philadelphia's finest accommodations, are the ultimate refuge. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe hotel rooms offer a park view or overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Host your inspirational meeting or banquet in spaces where national history has been forged. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our hotel doorstep. Concierge services and business center on hand help facilitate business endeavors. Complement your meeting with customized catering services and modern audiovisual facilities. This luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best-all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing