We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept older property with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington State
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Well kept older property with great location”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Visited in April 2014. The location of this hotel is the primary reason I chose to stay there. It is in the heart of downtown historic Philly. You can just walk out the door and begin your sightseeing. It has a nice hotel lobby bar and lots of restaurants varying in price and cuisine all around it. I did not eat in the hotel restaurant.
The rooms were comfortable with two arm chairs and a selection of different pillows. The beds were comfortable, not too hard or soft. The street noise did not disturb my sleep. (I was on the 6th floor.)
The front desk and bar staff were extremely friendly and eager to make my experience enjoyable. The bell/valet staff was efficient. Parking in downtown Philly is expensive and the valet was an easy choice.
This is an older property which has been well maintained. It does show some age but the staff was so friendly that it made no difference.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNunamakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    494
    164
    79
    39
See reviews for
562
460
69
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

close to lots of restaurants, sites. great value for room and restaurant. bit noisy at night. but location made up for that! pull out bed is not comfortable so plan on everyone piling into the main bed which IS really comfy. we really enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Beautiful, luxurious hotel. Everyone at hotel friendly & extremely helpful. Entire Hotel extremely clean. Walking distance to Independence Park, Liberty Bell and numerous other historic places. Only draw back would be that there is only two (2) Elevators within this Hotel. Sometimes there was quite a bit of a wait for that Elevator!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Upmarket hotel in a very choice location for sightseeing and the tourist thing. It's a great hotel with super-friendly door staff and a welcoming feel that is sometimes missing from more 'corporate' chain hotels in city centres. The rooms look a little outdated but the quality of the original fixtures and fittings ensures everything is still functional and fit for the job. Our room was spacious and airy but looked out only at a wall whereas our friend's room was just as big and also had a cute view of the Delaware river and some pretty buildings in the old city. We made use of the pool and sauna on two occasions and were very impressed with this facility. The ambiance was very soothing, the pool warm, and on our first visit we had the place to ourselves for over an hour. There was also a spa and fitness centre that we did not have time to use but looked equally good. The concierge and lobby staff were friendly, helpful and down to earth which left a nice impression when entering and leaving the hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I was told that the money charged for incidentals will be unlocked within 72 hrs. Now, after a whole week I still cannot get my money back. Is this how you make your additional profit, dear Omni hotel? This cause me a lot of problems so far, as I could not close my account before leaving the country.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank slawomirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel is really somewhere between average and very good, but I bumped it up to very good due to its fabulous location.

Hotel: very friendly staff; older but nice interior; beds were comfortable but not outstanding; wifi had issues. I paid a decent price and overall considered it a good value. If it were priced above $200/ni I would not have been happy.

Location: right across the street from independence park. I was in philly for work and had only a 1/2 day to sight see - easy from this home base.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrr720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel was fabulous! Great location! Great value! Pool, sauna and hot tub! Also really good customer service! Went for an overnite getaway with 2 teenagers, and couldn't have been more pleased! Felt like a 4 star hotel at 3 star prices!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,058 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Property: The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Address: 401 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2425
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, this hotel invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, this hotel is about to undergo a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia Hotels. Our 150 exquisitely appointed guest rooms, some of Philadelphia's finest accommodations, are the ultimate refuge. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe hotel rooms offer a park view or overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Host your inspirational meeting or banquet in spaces where national history has been forged. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our hotel doorstep. Concierge services and business center on hand help facilitate business endeavors. Complement your meeting with customized catering services and modern audiovisual facilities. This luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best-all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing