We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
United States
1 review
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Omni @ Independence Park was a really great hotel. Luxurious amenities, great room, great staff, great food. There's one thing you might not know...the Liberty Bell gongs every hour on the hour! I've lived in the area my whole life & never knew about this until we were in our room & kept hearing the Bell! We got the "Starr Package" for our anniversary so we got a deal on dinner @ Morimoto's as well. I highly recommend the Omni. My husband look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Angi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    477
    155
    75
    36
See reviews for
548
448
68
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

What a fabulous place to stay! Great location and beautiful facility. The staff was excellent and knowledgeable about the locale and the best places to visit. The concierge was spot-on with his recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My family and I visited Philadelphia over Memorial Day weekend. The location of the hotel is great as it is a short walk to the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall. The second bank of the United States is across the street and the US Mint is also a few short blocks away. We booked a room with two queen beds and the room was large for a large city hotel. Our room was located on the first floor, above the lobby, and this was a problem as there was a wedding going on. The sound system was extremely loud and kept my kids awake. My wife complained several times to the front desk and she was told that there was nothing they could do about it. She was told that the wedding would be over at 11 PM. They told her they could not move the room as the hotel was completely full. However, after 11 PM, the wedding was still going on and she again complained and the manager of the hotel was summoned and he told her that we would get the room for free (My advice is to ask for a room on a higher floor). We did not eat at the restaurant as it was overpriced for breakfast as I did not want to pay $15 for three pancakes. We found alternative eating arrangements very easily outside of the hotel within walking distance. Overall, the hotel is in a great location and we were satisfied with the end result as the room was free.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JoelM998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Omni for a wedding, so we had to. We stayed as part of a "block of rooms," which was ironic, because none of the rooms were near one another. We have stayed at hotels around the world and found this one to be sub-par. The price is very high and of course parking is additional, but they are not putting the money back into the hotel. The lock on our door was broken, and the sink did not drain. The interior of the room was dated and in need of a face lift. If we return to Philly, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for a quick trip in June. Our room was large, but old and rather dirty. The bathroom had hair in the tub. Not mine or my wife's, as we hadn't even showered yet. Other hair was stuck to the wall as well (gross!). A socket was actually coming out of the wall, which is unsafe with our toddler in the room. The safe + minibar were both broken. Neither would lock. Housekeeping didn't clear away old glasses or replace our used up shampoo. Maybe they don't do that? We were just at a different hotel and they replaced the empty shampoo + conditioner daily, so I thought the Omni would too.
The staff was super friendly and polite. Getting our car out of valet was quick and easy, no matter what time we called.
It's a great location. Really quick walk to Jim's and some great bars and restaurants (National Mechanics + Khyber Pass Pub are great). We stayed on the Chestnut St side. If you like quiet, I'd suggest a different side. It can definitely get loud, as we were right above the entrance. It didn't bother us, but might bother others.
I like Kimpton hotels better (right next door), but money talks and the Omni was at least $100 cheaper with a bigger room. I might consider staying again because the staff was so nice, but if the Kimpton was cheaper, I'd opt to stay there since I like the rooms better.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, make sure you aren't on the Chestnut Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonSooner12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris L, Manager at The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent reply. We strive to provide a clean quality room for all of our guests and do apologize we fell short and did not exceed your expectations. Please contact me directly in the future we so we can make it up to you. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in the future.
Have a Great Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I am a fan of this hotel! Great location, spotless accommodations and the best night's sleep in the city on great mattress! Rooms are spacious and linens and towels are quality! Staff is friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend it. Great value too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Perfect location for walking to all the central historical sites. Plenty of nearby restaurants to enjoy. The staff are friendly and attentive. The hotel is a little worn and tired and could use some maintenance, but the room was clean and quiet. Pool and sauna were nice to enjoy after a long day of walking and sight seeing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Farfalla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,557 reviews
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Property: The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Address: 401 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, this hotel invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, this hotel is about to undergo a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia Hotels. Our 150 exquisitely appointed guest rooms, some of Philadelphia's finest accommodations, are the ultimate refuge. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe hotel rooms offer a park view or overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Host your inspirational meeting or banquet in spaces where national history has been forged. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our hotel doorstep. Concierge services and business center on hand help facilitate business endeavors. Complement your meeting with customized catering services and modern audiovisual facilities. This luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best-all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing