We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Great Hotel. We could see Independence Hall from our window. 5-10 minute walk to unlimited restaurants. Independence Hall. Liberty Bell. The Mint. Betsy Ross house. Ben Franklins Grave. Hotel very nice. Staff very courteous. They even had goodie bags for our children upon arrival.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    477
    154
    74
    36
See reviews for
547
448
68
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, MI
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Enjoyed the week of July 4th in Philadelphia. The Omni is a great location within the historic district, walking distance to the major attractions and restaurants. Our room had a great view of independence hall, just awesome to see it from the room when you wake up. We had a corner room, so might have been a little bigger than most. It was very comfortable for 4 of us, and had great views.

Staff was great, Andy the doorman was especially friendly and gave us some good restaurant picks. Although an older hotel, the Omni was well maintained and clean, with added historic charm. Clearly a great pick for anyone visiting historic Philadelphia. Didn't get try the restaurant we spent most of our time exploring.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room facing independence hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kak531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We just returned from a one night stay at the Omni. Very nice hotel. We arrived early, and they let us go ahead and have our room. We had a king room with a pull-out sofa for our son. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is walking distance to all of the historical sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank etzv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

You can't even come close to beating the location of this hotel if Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell are on your short list of things to do while in Philly. We spent two nights here and our 10th floor King room was just lovely with a magnificent view of the river, the park across the street and the Philadelphia Skyline. The bed was sooo comfortable and all of the furnishings were gorgeous. We ate breakfast each morning in the restaurant here and were quite pleased.

My husband wasn't happy that the air conditioner in the room couldn't be turned down below 68 degrees. We like to have the room cool when we sleep and I must admit that it did seem a little warm at this temperature. I also agree with other reviewers that this hotel is more adult friendly and the pool is geared for adults rather than children.

However, the quality of the hotel, and the value and the pleasure of the experience of staying here, for me, was much greater than these minor issues. I strongly recommend this hotel, especially for those who want a beautiful convenient location of good value to visit the historic areas of Philadelphia.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifesaBanquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Omni. I chose this hotel due to it's proximity to Independence Hall and Liberty Bell.
Room- the room is very nice with nice toiletries. It's a great sized room for two people. We are on the 6th floor streetside. As others mentioned, there is street noise but it winds down at night. You can also hear the wind whistling through the windows--again it died down or the curtains covered the noise.
Restaurant- we ate there for breakfast and dinner. The food is pricier. I enjoyed breakfast more. The dinner menu didn't have much variety. The wait staff was friendly and accommodating.
Pool- we went to go for a swim in the pool and were very disappointed that the key was missing for the lift. Without the lift or actual stairs (like in the hot tub) my mom can't get in and out of the pool. We also had to ask for towels as there were none out.
Overall I'd stay again due to the location of the hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank barbershopchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed 1 night as we were traveling the east coast. This is a friendly hotel with friendly staff. It's location was just right as it was in walking distance to all the museums and food places. I would recommend this hotel for its cleanliness, comfort and nice staff. My 2 boys enjoyed the concierge, as they would high five them every chance they got.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel that is literally steps away from Independence Hall, Liberty Bell and the Constitution Center. I feel like I should warn you that the pool is in the middle of the spa and there are lots of signs asking that noise be kept to a minimum so if you're looking for a pool where the kids can burn off some energy and cool off after a long day of sightseeing, this isn't it. And there is no vending in the hotel. They have an associated gift shop outside the front doors on the street. So again, if you are a parent looking to get a soda after the kids fall asleep, you're out of luck.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,537 reviews
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Property: The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Address: 401 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, this hotel invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, this hotel is about to undergo a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia Hotels. Our 150 exquisitely appointed guest rooms, some of Philadelphia's finest accommodations, are the ultimate refuge. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe hotel rooms offer a park view or overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Host your inspirational meeting or banquet in spaces where national history has been forged. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our hotel doorstep. Concierge services and business center on hand help facilitate business endeavors. Complement your meeting with customized catering services and modern audiovisual facilities. This luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best-all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing