We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved the Location and Elegance of the Omni!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #36 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We used Priceline to book a room in this hotel and were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful it was! The room was large, very clean, and comfortable. The location was perfect for our visit to Philadelphia--across from Independence Square, near Penn's Landing, and within walking distance of the metro connections and many great restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,475 - 1,481 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed at the Omni June 15-17. It was a great hotel! The location was hard to beat. We were right in the middle of every attraction and it was well within walking distance to everything.

The only concern we had was that the room was actually too quiet. We were on the 10th floor and had a corner room. We were woken up every morning at 6am by the local bus stopping at the corner.

Valet parking is the way to go at this hotel. Valet is only $9 more a day and it's in and out service. Self-parking is in a public deck on the north side of the hotel that you have to get a ticket and pay every time you leave. We drove through the deck and didn't see any doors that go directly into the hotel. We were not about to carry our luggage down stairs and on the sidewalks to get to the hotel, so we just paid for valet. But, the hotel is in a spot where you don't have to drive anywhere. We just bought tickets for the Phlash on the day we went to Eastern State Peniteniary.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucicris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I stayed here with my wife for two nights over 4th of July weekend. Our room was on the 12th floor facing south. It was right across from the elevator, which initially gave me pause, but the sound insulation was good enough and the bed was on the far side of the room so we weren't disturbed.

The room was a good size with king size bed, large flat panel tv, big windows to let in the light, and dark curtains to keep it out. There was also a small frig with typically overpriced mini-bar plus an iron/ironing board in the closet. The marble bathroom was spacious and clean with plenty of towels, soap, shampoos, etc. as well as a small coffee maker with a few varieties of coffee and tea. Shower was roomy and strong.

The location is VERY central, only 1 short block from Independence Hall and 2 blocks from the Liberty Bell. There are numerous restaurants of a wide variety of prices and flavors within easy walking distance. The concierge/front desk staff were particularly helpful recommending excellent places for brunch and dinner.

The hotel doesn't have on-site parking, but there is a garage right around the corner which charged us $27/night (it was $34/night through the hotel's valet parking service). The subway is only two blocks away if you want to venture further afield, and taxis seemed pretty available although we walked everywhere. They do prominently feature their spa, but we didn't try it out.

All in all this is hotel is pretty much what you should expect from a 4-star city-center hotel. It's an older building, though not without it's charms, and didn't seem to have a lot of common space, but we never intended to spend a lot of time at the hotel anyway. For under $200/night it's pretty competitive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knievel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Stayed one night, would definitely go back. Somehow we got a corner room on the 8th floor with an unbelievably beautiful view south over the Old City/Society Hill areas and east over the river. The staff was universally friendly, welcoming, and helpful, even though they were managing a huge wedding party the same afternoon and evening. The room and bathroom were immaculate (full length mirror would be nice). The location is perfect for walking to everything. We skipped historical sites, having seen them before, but the hotel is right there on Independence Park if you haven't. We "self-parked", and it was more than quoted because we left the car more than 24 hours, but still good value. Walk or take a cab - they line up in front of the hotel. Easy.

Apparently during the summer you can get rooms mid-week for about $149. We've spent that for a Best Western and this is much, much better.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaxAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Booked a one night stay with Omni in Philadelphia followed by a two night stay in Omni Berkshire Place in New York. Both bookings were made directly on the Omni website.

To make things easier and less stressful, I booked a package deal for both stays which included breakfast and valet parking. Unfortunately, both hotels charged me more than the price quoted on their website and secondly, they charged be again for valet parking - without telling me. It was only by chance that I noticed this on my credit card statement.

For one hotel to mistakenly bill me for valet parking can be forgiven but for both Omni hotels to make the same mistake in three days is inexcusable.

This makes me believe that the package deals are a bit of a con and unless you're clever/lucky enough to spot the double charges then Omni are on to a winner.

Apart from that, the hotel in Independence Park Hotel was lovely - room was spacious, people friendly and very good location.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solomons77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Stayed here for seven nights, the location is very good, just to the east of centre city. The service was pleasing, it had a real feeling of them 'putting the customer first'. This is definitely one of, if not the best hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Croydon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

The Omni is in the perfect location for sightseeing. The hotel is lovely, the rooms spacious and the staff goes out of their way to make sure you have the best stay. We were here only one night but it was certainly worth it and we loved how close the hotel was to everything we wanted to see and do. The parking is expensive but I would still highly recommend the Omni!

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
Thank AzCatsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Address: 401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £107 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, our elegant hotel in Old City Philadelphia, Pennsylvania has undergone a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia hotels. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe guest rooms offer a park view or they overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our doorstep. Our luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best, all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing