We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location for Historical Sites” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Spotsylvania, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Location for Historical Sites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

I got a GREAT deal on a room here $102 for the night. I wanted to stay within walking distance (short walking distance in the summer heat, that is!) within Independence Park and saw this is about as close as you can get. Independence Hall is a VERY short block away, if that. The Liberty Bell a tad farther. 3 blocks away Ben Franklin's Grave and maybe 4 blocks Besty Ross's House. Unfortunately, the indoor pool was closed early (closes early on a Sunday). We stayed 1 night. Did not eat at the hotel restaurants. We did eat at the Cosi right there on the corner and it not only was lousy, it was hot AND it took forever. Right next door to Cosi is Mrs. K's Koffee Shop. Ate breakfast there for cheap...was good, they were timely and very nice. Should have ate dinner there instead of Cosi.

Took a cab to Reading Terminal Market the day we got there. It was about a $4.50 cab fare..not too bad. We did use the hotel valet and I would recommend it..you have in & out privileges and they are quick to get your car. The room was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was big and clean, no fan though and I really hate that!! The bed was a bit soft for me as I like it firm. We were on level 5 and could hear street noise as well..so ask for a higher room. The sofabed did not look very comfortable..at all and well..it wasn't. My kids didn't complain, but an adult would have. The A/C system wasn't the best. It didn't get all that cool and I like it around 69/70 degrees..it was more like 75 even though we set it down to 70. I would stay here again for the price I paid, but I don't think I would stay here for anything above $150.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dznyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    477
    155
    75
    36
See reviews for
548
448
68
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

Our room was very clean, the bathroom was spacious w/ lots of amenities and thick towels, and have some of the best lighting I have found in a hotel bathroom. The bed was soft and comfortable, though I am not used to a soft mattress,so some back stiffness the next day. Staff was friendly. We had a maintenance issue w/ our door lock, I called the desk, and someone was there within 5 minutes. Will store luggage for free after check out. Would have liked to have had a swim Sunday night, but pool closed at 1pm.

The location cannot be beat for touring the old city, can easily walk to all the historic center attractions, and plenty of restaurants for breakfast/lunch/dinner an easy walk away.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahopac, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

We were in town for a soccer match and decided to tack on a couple of days to see the historical sights. The Omni was wonderful - clean, comfortable and very family friendly (pool was lovely but not really for children). The staff was extremely helpful and went out of their way to insure a wonderful stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marf6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

This hotel is in an unbelievable location, right next to Independence Hall, in the heart of the old city.

The staff were super-friendly and helpful, particularly Carey (sp?), who helped us with our bags and sorted out the valet parking for our car. He also gave us some terrific recommendations for places to find a great Philly Cheese Steak and breakfast. He is a credit to the Omni Hotel at Independence Hall.

Our room was large and spotlessly clean, with a very comfortable bed and nice bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

I come from VA and need to be treated for eye cancer at Wills Eye Hospital in Phila. The Omni is the closest hotel to the hospital and they offer a discount. When we arrived, we circled up and down the one-way streets looking for parking--finally we followed the signs 6 blocks away and schlepped our bags to the hotel in a cloudburst. As soon as we came into the lobby looking helpless, a kind desk clerk ran to the fore to check us in and tell us of the parking garage right around the corner. Most cheery and welcoming! After a tiring day of travel and our cloudburst experience, my daughter and I decided to avail ourselves of the cushy provided bathrobes and order room service. What a treat! Her salad was great and my filet mignon was out of this world. Breakfast the next day was generous, too. The beds were very plush and comfortable. My only complaint was that after my medical procedure ended I wanted to take a nap, and every day at 3 pm sharp a fife and drum reenactment goes off across the street (we are in the tourist section!). I could have given the room a 5 for cleanliness, but its tiled tub/shower was old and a little stained in the grout--not active mildew, just older and stained. The soaps, however, were wonderful! Take them home with you! One other thing: I couldn't get the shower to produce anything but scalding hot water, so I gave myself a sponge bath and shampoo in the sink! Later my daughter explained that you have to crank the handle to the max, then back off to get the cooler temperature you want. I prefer showers to be a little more obvious! Nevertheless, my daughter and i had a very relaxing and lovely stay during some tense times.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyAshburn_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

We just stayed the weekend at the Omni Independence in Philadelphia. It was a great location, near all the sites and they were kind enough to check us in early on a friday into what appeared to be fine room.

On saturday morning, my 6 year old woke up with 10 bed bug bites after sleeping in the sofa bed. We also discovered the carpet next to the AC was damp likely from the condensation.

I went down early saturday morning to report the bed bugs and the damp carpet (your sock would get wet if you stepped in it). The front desk clerk noted my issue, and said she'd talk to the manager.

I wasn't sure if anything was done with the bed bugs as we were out for much of saturday, but i assumed it was...though the carpet by the AC was still very damp. When we checked out on sunday, I inquired with the same front desk clerk who said that they hadn't done anything about it yet...but would send someone up now. Which is great for the next guest but not so much for us as we were checking out.

Overall we had a great weekend beyond just the bed bugs and the discomfort my child was in. But I was disturbed by the lack of responsiveness to what should be an immediate health/hygiene concern of bed bug infestation and possible mold in the carpet (right by the AC). No action was taken till very late, nor did the manager apologize to us. I actually filled out an omni customer satisfaction survey on monday and told my same story, with no response. I was hoping that my survey would prompt some sort of response, so I wouldn't have to write this review. Hopefully now they will pay attention and take some action.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank esy_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

We decided to travel to Philadelphia for a trip with the kids (4 and 2). We thought that the Omni would be the best location as far as walking to and from sites. The location is GREAT!! The service was also very good. They were very attentive and the front desk person was very helpful in choosing places to eat (Jones's and Triumph Brewery were within walking distance and great places to eat). The hotel was clean and the bell staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing that was a little surprising was the size of the pool. The pool is a lap pool that is located within the spa in the downstairs of the hotel. It is small and very slippery around the perimeter. Do not expect a lot of room when swimming however it is very nice. The kids enjoyed it but it is not that big for older kids to have a good time in. Also, the valet parking was expensive but use it. The in and out privileges alone make it worth the $34/night. Overall the sound level of the outside was not a problem and if you are a member of the Omni Guest Rewards program, you will get a lot more for your stay - all complimentary. We did receive everything that we were promised - from the paper in the morning to the complimentary morning beverages. They were delivered when we asked them to. The room was very clean but the floor was not vacuumed entirely during our stay. Bose radio in the room was nice and the view was of the south side of Philly - so we could see the stadiums in the distance. Again, this is the place if you are looking to do a lot of sightseeing in center city and do not want to walk too far. Overall we would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,557 reviews
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Property: The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Address: 401 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, this hotel invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, this hotel is about to undergo a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia Hotels. Our 150 exquisitely appointed guest rooms, some of Philadelphia's finest accommodations, are the ultimate refuge. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe hotel rooms offer a park view or overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Host your inspirational meeting or banquet in spaces where national history has been forged. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our hotel doorstep. Concierge services and business center on hand help facilitate business endeavors. Complement your meeting with customized catering services and modern audiovisual facilities. This luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best-all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing