We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penn's View in Philly”
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penn's View Hotel
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This pretty little hotel was quiet, within walking distance of many nice bars and restaurants, Alsford Alley, Betsy Ross' House, the Liberty Bell, etc. and also had a large area to park your car for a fee. I think it had one of the best continental breakfasts I've ever had anywhere. The lobby was decorated with a homey Christmas theme when we went.

The beds were comfortable, everyone was nice, it had everything we needed, you name it. Love this place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kelly55423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

I lucked out by finding a room at the Penn View, which is a rare gem in Philly. I didn't realize what a pleasant side of town it would be, and what a great staff I'd discover! When I first arrived, the lack of a ramp into the small cozy entrance way of the hotel put me off, but I quickly learned that that was actually part of the charm of the place; everything you found was the antithesis to a large, chain, and impersonal run hotel. I loved the staff, the hotel room, the breakfast area, and the environs.

Room Tip: I'd advise trying to get a room with a view, above the 2nd floor, if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Greatly enjoyed my stay at Penn's View. Comfortable room, excellent breakfast, unfailingly helpful counter staff, free internet access, extremely convenient to bus and subway and walking distance to many attractions. Very good value.

Room Tip: River view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shields3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Just got back from 4 days in Philadelphia attending a conference. I selected Penn's View based on price and the number of great reviews it had received. I was not disappointed. Though it was not in the convention center district, Penn's View was a 15-20 walk or easy subway ride to the convention center area. The room was very well maintained, desk staff very friendly and accommodating and the complimentary breakfast adequate. Room service was far better than most hotels with well-prepared Italian fare and an unmatched wine selection.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MNLibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Hubby and I stayed overnight on Feb. 24th his birthday. They had a special Leap Year rate for anyone born between 2/24 and 2/29 - plus you got a bottle of champagne, a cake and a box of chocolates. We were greeted with such pleasantry and that carried throughout our stay. This little boutique hotel is perfect and in a great location - rooms are clean and quaint, bed comfy and the staff was wonderful. We had a small balcony that looked out over Market street and also partial waterview. We stayed here before many years ago and it still is as nice as I remembered. They also have a wonderful Italian restaurant on the premises that has one of the biggest by the glass wine bars in Philadelphia and also include a free continental breakfast for all guests. At night, the Ben Franklin bridge is lit up and its beautiful. Easy to get around town from the hotel and close enough to bars, restaurants, pubs and historical sites that you could walk all over. Don't miss this hidden gem of a property. The staff, prices and stay was a great one and we would definitely come back. All in all a very memorable time spent in Philadelphia!

Room Tip: Several types of rooms are available - if you want a fireplace they have those but get something tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nailbitter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My husband and I travel as often as possible and stay at an array of hotels, motels and inns. This is one of our favorites. We were celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary and decided to stay simple by driving to Philly and splurging a little on a hotel. We were not disappointed. When we arrived we were greeted by a friendly woman at the front desk. We loved the room. We went out for most of the evening and wandered through the olde city and Penn's landing. It wasn't till we came back hours later that we noticed a slight problem. While the bed sheets looked clean they had stuff stuck to them from the wash. I went down to the front desk where a different woman was and explained the situation, thinking she would have someone come up and change the sheets. To my surprise she handed me keys to two other rooms and told me I could pick the one we preferred. We wound up in the loft room and loved it. I have never been in such an accommodating hotel.
That evening we ordered room service from the restaurant and were very happy with that as well. Breakfast was great and made for a wonderful start to the day.
When we checked out the man at the front desk also knew that we had changed rooms and was apologetic.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Loft room has private stairs and a Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My wife and I and another couple stayed here on the weekend of Feb 3, 2012. The rooms are great. Our room was a great big room, with a brick wall that had the years of history to it. The furniture was very comfortable as was the bed. The other couple had a great room also. we met some friends there and we had plenty of room to hang out and sample wines. The resturant is great and needless to say, the wine list is unbelievable
highly recommended

Room Tip: 4 th floor facing the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Conan24056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,395 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn's View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn's View Hotel

Address: 14 N Front St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2202
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £141 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn's View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the “Birthplace of America” at the Penn’s View Hotel in Old City, Philadelphia. Enjoy a stay in one of 49 comfortable rooms and 2 spacious suites with the convenience of Wi-Fi access and complimentary breakfast every morning. Additional amenities include: Daily newspaper, cable television, private balconies*, jetted spa bathtubs*, patios*, fireplaces*, pull-out sofas*, separate dining areas* fitness center, ATM access, and computer access. Penn’s View Hotel places you within access to all of Philadelphia’s greatest attractions. Also, enjoy an atmosphere of casual elegance at Ristorante Panorama, the authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. At its unique wine bar, Il Bar, you can enjoy the custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, which is the current Guinness Book of World Records holder. Penn’s View Hotel is a true Old City gem, and we look forward to welcoming you. (*Available in some rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Penn's View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penns View Philadelphia
Hotel Penns View
Penns View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing