We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penn's View Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District(Philadelphia)(Great Value!)
US$255
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
US$214
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$230
US$211
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$238
US$219
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square(Philadelphia)
US$246
US$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$263
US$213
Loews Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$404
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveller rating
422
316
81
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
422
316
81
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barold citypanorama restaurantboiled eggssmall balconypremium king roommarket streetfranklin fountaingas fireplaceexposed brickwithin walking distancehardwood floorsjacuzzi tubquaint hotelmajor highwayfresh fruitliberty bell
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 847 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Wonderful boutique (Luxe) hotel at the foot of Market Street. Our room was perfect (407) and extremely quiet. Breakfast is included and is presented in the main dining room. First time I have ever been able to make my own soft boiled eggs which went well with the waffles, fresh fruit and scones. I, too, am glad that there were no TVs in the room. We had lunch (twice) and dinner once in Panorama Ristorante and it was just perfect. Parking is convenient and, considering it is Philadelphia, was reasonable. $23 for 24 hours with unlimited in/out access. Conveniently located with a short walk to Penns Landin where we attended the commissioning of the USS Somerset. Plenty of places within walking distance in Old City for drinks, munchies, etc.. Antonio, the desk manager, could not have been more courteous or helpful. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (307, 407) and the "suites" are nice, at the end of the hall overlooking the river with views of the bridge.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chipman2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Absolutely loved this little gem! Food at the Panorama Restaurant was delicious, Worlds biggest wine bar, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable staff, beautiful rooms, Priced right, great views of Market street and the waterfront.

Room Tip: Room facing the river was nice but the south side towards Market had a balcony and great view too
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I was pleased with this quaint, historic hotel. It met all our needs and was the perfect location for being tourists for a weekend. We had no specific plans - many sights were within easy walking distance - the historic area, South street, and Penn's landing where we got to tour the USS Somerset which was in port for commissioning. Our room 502 was charming with a tiny balcony with a nice view. We loved the breakfast room (which we were happy to see had no TVs) - it had beautiful murals and white table clothes. The breakfast consisted of fruit, scones, cereal, make-your-own waffles and eggs, coffee, juice, etc. The parking was easy access next to the hotel and $23 for 24 hours. We also got a reasonable rate on the hotel. I will definitely stay here the next time I'm in Philly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Global_Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

It's been a little while since we visited, but we have not forgotten about all the good things at the Penn's View Hotel. Location is always important when I travel and this hotel is perfect if you are visiting to see the historical sights. So many are within easy walking distance, we never needed our car. Took a taxi a couple of times. Fast and fairly priced. Good public transportation just outside the door. Room was spacious and quiet. The bar inside the hotel alone is worth the trip. I give special thanks to Front Office Manager Antonio for going out of his way to ensure our visit was comfortable. Thanks

Room Tip: Hotel is a consolidation of old buildings, so there are probably few similar rooms. Check with hotel in advance to best fill your needs.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gbthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Location is very easy walking distance from Independence Hall, Betsy Ross House, Old City, Penn's Landing, and Constitution Center. Right above the blue line subway if you need to go City Hall, 30th Street Station or West Philadelphia. We were there for business, and it was a 5-10 minute cab ride to City Hall or Rittenhouse Square.

Hotel itself is decent - rooms are large and sort of fussily furnished and a bit out of date - my room was too hot the entire time and I eventually had to turn off the heat when it was below freezing outside. Hotel breakfast is continental and just OK (waffle maker, fresh fruit) but with some quirks (you have to hard boil your own eggs, all the cereal was gluten-free). Service was only OK - we arrived during a blizzard and no one helped with our bags, but staff was good about directions, and the woman who handled breakfast was friendly and helpful. No minibar (if that's something you care about).

Room Tip: Not sure if any have a nice view, but my room had a majestic view of dumpsters. Not the end of the world, and as someone who lived in Philadelphia for four years and still loves the place, it made me a little nostalgic.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimInNWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews