We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating management team”
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penn's View Hotel
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very accommodating management team”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

When we arrived for a family weekend celebration, the room was not ready, but it was not a problem to come back later. The room was very clean, plenty of towels for the three of us. The location is great walking distance to so many activities. AND continental breakfast was included. Parking was $23/day with in-and-out service. When I checked out, I inadvertently left my phone and charging cord in the room. On the way to the airport, when I realize my error ... I panicked and then called the hotel. After a short conversation, they put it in a cab and I met the driver outside my departure stop. They made it sooo easy for me to get my phone back in 30 minutes. Ahhhhh!

Room Tip: 5th floor has individual patio to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    285
    69
    18
    9
See reviews for
87
444
39
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Each year, my husband and I attend a sporting event in the Philadelphia area. Although we enjoy the event, the highlight of our trip is getting to spend time at our favorite hotel, The Penn's View Inn.
As soon as you walk through the front door, you are made to feel welcome. I cannot say enough about the graciousness of the staff at the Penn's view. Thomas, the front desk representative always greets guests with a welcoming smile. Mr. Antonio Conrado, the Reservations and Front Office Manager, makes every guest feel special. Antonio has a wealth of knowledge about the city and will be able to answer any questions you may have. He is charming and will stop at nothing to make your stay comfortable and unforgettable.
Now, about the accommodations. Every room we've stayed in has been lovely, however, we were celebrating a special anniversary so we booked room 510, the Queen Patio. This room was absolutely beautiful. It had a fireplace, a spa shower and a patio that had gorgeous views of the Benjamin Franklin Bridge and the Delaware River. The view at night was breathtaking! We didn't want to leave. I would highly recommend this room if you want to experience the true beauty of this great city or if you are celelbrating a special occasion.
Be sure to visit Ristorante Panorama. The bar has a been recognized by Wine Spectator Magazine as having one of the finest wine collections in the country. We have always enjoyed every meal we've had in the restaurant. The new $35.00 prix fixe menu makes this fine cuisine very affordable.
The hotel offers a delicious continental breakast every morning - everything from fresh fruit to pancakes. Carol, who helped serve in the breakfast room, was very attentive and made sure that everyone was pleased with their breakfast choices.
We look forward to returning to the Penn's View very soon. It truly is a gem

Room Tip: The View on the 5th floor is extraordinary and very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC2169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is well-kept, the location is convenient to tourist buses, the staff are friendly and helpful, dinner in the restaurant was very good, the wine selection with their tap system was great, but don't stay in room 200 until they replace the mattress. We should have switched rooms, but I was beat. The mattress is like a hammock.

Even if the mattress gets replaced, room 200 is right above the lobby and the bed is above the front door. I have poor hearing, but I heard the door close every time when the bar closed for the night. You can also hear people talking as they leave the hotel.

Room Tip: Not room 200
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacobRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I really liked this hotel. The room was spacious with 2 chairs in addition to the bed. The bed was offset so that there was no light coming in from the door. Staff was outstandingly helpful & pleasant.

Room Tip: Make certain to get a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blumebwaybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel will not be as good in terms of space, comfort and facilities as the big corporate hotels downtown.However, as a general rule, it will be markedly cheaper than the big ones. We consider it to be the best value available if you want to be close to the main tourist attractions. Adjacent to the interstate, but our room (at the side) was not affected by noise.
There is room for improvement in the breakfast arrangements. Space is at a premium, table clearing was slow, and the scrum of people jostling to boil an egg to their liking in a single boiler is frankly a bizarre arrangement.
The onsite Italian restaurant, Panorama, is a bit pricey but well worth it for the excellent food and ambience

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellmawr, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a very clean, charming, quiet hotel with a very courteous, knowledgeable concierge staff. They also have Ristorante Panorama with delicious food & a incredible wine bar with wine flights. We will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: The Suites offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel is quite charming and in a wonderful location. The restaurant is fantastic and has the world's largest cruvinet (a huge, refrigerated case of wines on tap!!). The staff is friendly and extremely helpful. We had an event here and Nick Dominijanni took fabulous care of us--a real pleasure and I heartily rercommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn's View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn's View Hotel

Property: Penn's View Hotel
Address: 14 N Front St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2202
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn's View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the “Birthplace of America” at the Penn’s View Hotel in Old City, Philadelphia. Enjoy a stay in one of 49 comfortable rooms and 2 spacious suites with the convenience of Wi-Fi access and complimentary breakfast every morning. Additional amenities include: Daily newspaper, cable television, private balconies*, jetted spa bathtubs*, patios*, fireplaces*, pull-out sofas*, separate dining areas* fitness center, ATM access, and computer access. Penn’s View Hotel places you within access to all of Philadelphia’s greatest attractions. Also, enjoy an atmosphere of casual elegance at Ristorante Panorama, the authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. At its unique wine bar, Il Bar, you can enjoy the custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, which is the current Guinness Book of World Records holder. Penn’s View Hotel is a true Old City gem, and we look forward to welcoming you. (*Available in some rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Penn's View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penns View Philadelphia
Hotel Penns View
Penns View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing