We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Philly Favorite”
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Penn's View Hotel
Ranked #13 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stumbled onto Penn's View during a business trip after my reservations at another hotel got screwed up. I discovered a hidden gem. A converted warehouse built in the early 1800's, it has many features that remind me of hotels where I have stayed in Europe. Each room is unique, the restaurant is great and, unlike where I was suppose to stay, the complementary breakfast was on real china. And the staff was more than professional. During my stay, a special business need came up and the Front Office Manager, Antonio Conrado did more than go out of his way to accommodate us. All this, with a perfect location near the river and the historical district, and right next to public transportation. It will be the only hotel I use when I go to Philly from now on.

Room Tip: Go to their web site to check out the different rooms and features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JIm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 822 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay here in July. A nice touch was the availability of cold lemon-water in the lobby. The staff was very pleasant with suggestions. Our suite was on the second floor and very roomy with a sofa bed, large dining table, and separate bedroom. Very quiet -- no problems. They gave us a wake up call when we requested it and called a taxi for us.

Room Tip: Second floor suite was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dixiep730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I spent Saturday July 5th, traveling through to Atlantic City. This hotel offers offstreet parking, different vendor, but it appeared to be manned most of the time. We walked over the bridge, lots of entertainment and fireworks went off that evening. The hotel is within walking distance to Campos, famous for their Cheesesteak sandwiches and of course, the national mall. Due to the patriotic holiday it was, the buildings had extended their hours.

The hotel is older, the stairs were narrow and steep, but the room had everything we needed. A bed, and bathroom even though it was a tad small then again we only slept there. We ate at the restaurant, which was pricey but the food was excellent. According to the waiter they are in the guiness book of records for having the most bottles of wine open. They did have an extensive list, which makes the decision harder. I was able to tell the bartender what I like in a wine and he brought me a very lovely Chardonnay. The hotel also offers a free hot breakfast, perfect for sending us on our way the next day.

The hotel is perfectly located near historical district for sight seeing, we walked there around and back. Also located directly across from the river. We would definitely stay there again and for a longer period of time as one day is not nearly enough to see what Philly has to offer. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IowaIowa4Vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Nice place to stay - very clean and comfortable. It's just a few blocks from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell so it's a good place for tourists. It was kind of hard for us to find at first because our GPS got confused but otherwise no problems.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joefromdsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel; room was very clean. Close to many shops, restaurants and historical landmarks in Philadelphia. Room had a wonderful little balcony with a great view of the city. This hotel is good for tourist as well as business travel. Amy, in the bar, was very nice and friendly. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor; excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

From the fireplace to the furnishings this is a place to head with the one you love. You can enjoy a delectable dinner then head back to the room and enjoy the jacuzzi tub. The location is great for day trips in the old city. Breakfast is good for a continental, but after several days of identical I would have preferred a change. Try the dining room for lunch or dinner. 1/2 portions are ample, and wine selection is top notch.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pencowgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent only one day in Philadelphia but this was a good home base for us. It's located in a place that makes it's easy to walk anywhere. Check in was very easy and the room was clean and a bit unique in a good way. Breakfast was OK. Rates were also reasonable, parking a little pricey but right next to the hotel so also very convenient.

Room Tip: Choosing a room near the front of the hotel might be a better view. However it might also be noisie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DJT326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,429 reviews
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn's View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn's View Hotel

Address: 14 N Front St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2202
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £109 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn's View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the “Birthplace of America” at the Penn’s View Hotel in Old City, Philadelphia. Enjoy a stay in one of 49 comfortable rooms and 2 spacious suites with the convenience of Wi-Fi access and complimentary breakfast every morning. Additional amenities include: Daily newspaper, cable television, private balconies*, jetted spa bathtubs*, patios*, fireplaces*, pull-out sofas*, separate dining areas* fitness center, ATM access, and computer access. Penn’s View Hotel places you within access to all of Philadelphia’s greatest attractions. Also, enjoy an atmosphere of casual elegance at Ristorante Panorama, the authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. At its unique wine bar, Il Bar, you can enjoy the custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, which is the current Guinness Book of World Records holder. Penn’s View Hotel is a true Old City gem, and we look forward to welcoming you. (*Available in some rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Penn's View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penns View Philadelphia
Hotel Penns View
Penns View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing