We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #33 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Society Hill in June and absolutely loved it. The rooms were nice and the beds very comfortable. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to do. The concierges' were all very helpful, especially Diane. She was great!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalsFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    378
    136
    49
    25
See reviews for
242
221
34
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel is located on a nice quiet cobblestone street. It is a reasonable walk to the Independence Hall area. The entire staff--from the front desk to the cleaning staff to the restaurant staff--were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were a little dated, but it didn't detract from the overall charm of the hotel. The beds were very comfortable. My daughter really enjoyed the swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Michael R,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are thrilled you and your family had a great time at the hotel. We recently completed a top to bottom renovation of all guest rooms and space. We did keep some of the furniture and décor to give the feel of the urban features in a historic hotel. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Great hotel where you can park your car (for $35/night....yikes!) and walk around to some great bars and restaurants. The waterfront area is across the bridge and an easy walk as well. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful with some suggestions of what to do (but I did verify with Trip Advisor on the restaurant choices offered up and they did agree) Cuba Libre was a nice locale Cuban restaurant/bar with some amazing apps and original drinks. Spasso's for dinner was good Italian food. Too many other places to try in the one night there, but would go back.

The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. Only drawback is the maze-like layout of the floor plan. Took a few trips back and forth to the room and lobby to feel like I knew exactly where my room was. Not enough of a problem that I would not return, just an observation, especially to a family with kids who go out in the hotel by themselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayorMike12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear MayorMike12

We are pleased you enjoyed stay and that you were able to try the abundant restaurants in the area. We thank you for your feedback regarding the layout of the hotel and will work to better assist guests with directions around the hotel. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We only stayed one night at this hotel but it was beautiful and clean. The queen size beds were a plus as many hotels offer two doubles. While a little pricey, it's typical of a city. We were able to book a family offer which included snacks for the kids, a few in-room movie, and late check-out at 4pm, which was especially helpful since we could keep our luggage in the room while we did our sightseeing. The hotel is within walking distance of Independence Hall, Reading Terminal Market, and the waterfront.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Lisa B,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel. We are happy to hear you and the family had an enjoyable stay at the hotel, and most of all felt comfortable. We always try to keep our prices comparable to our neighboring hotels. We hope you and the family return to the hotel in the future to enjoy another comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights. There was no free wifi in the room. No free breakfast. No fridge or microwave. One restaraunt that was overpriced. Room service also too high. Asked for late checkout. Told to call in the morning. Called in the morn and was told that they couldnot grant the late checkout and to call later. Business trip i did not enjoy at all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bmoresunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Bmoresunshine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize we could not honor a late checkout. We always try to best accommodate our guests to guarantee their satisfaction. We frequently compare our prices to hotels, equal to our status, to ensure our guests are receiving the best prices available. We always offer promotions on our website and reservations line so that every guest can have the pleasure of receiving the Sheraton experience. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future, and we wish that you view our packages and promotions on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We really liked the hotel, they did an excellent job with their recent renovation. The lobby has plenty of comfortable seating areas and trendy decor. The room itself was perfect, good size and nice bathroom as well. The restaurant prices I thought were on the high side. $25 for a breakfast buffet is outrageous. We were in there around 9am, and the buffet was not even set up yet. I decided on the omelet, which was mediocre at best. Plenty of restaurant within walking distance, which may save you some money. Nadia at the front desk was excellent, and all the staff I had interactions with were all very professional and friendly, housekeepers, doormen, bartenders etc. I found the location of the hotel to work quite nicely, being right off the highway, easy drive down the highway to Phillies games, and they have rental car at their concierge desk! So convenient! Will definitely stay here again if my travels bring me back to Philly! :)

Room Tip: High floor, exterior view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julz2381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear Julz2381,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We thank you for a wonderful review and are happy that you would choose to stay with us again, if you travel back to Philadelphia. We have compared our cost of breakfast to other hotels in the area and found our rates comparable, but we are always happy to suggests local resutrants that serve breakfast. We thank you once again and will look for you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The location is definitely the selling point for this hotel. It is within walking distance to so many great restaurants and must see spots. The staff was friendly and nice and the rooms were great. I happened to get a room across from the entrance to the pool which made it a bit noisy for me with kids who were overly enjoyed entering and exiting the pool area right outside my door. The room itself was furnished quite nicely and i was impressed. No free wi-fi though... The downstairs lobby area was also wide open and roomy and had lots of seating areas to congregate and relax. Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridagal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn's View Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing