We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Days in Philly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Great hotel with friendly staff. Clean, well kept with comfortable rooms. The location is fabulous, walking distance to many of the main attractions in Downtown Philly. The Taste bar is a great place to grab a drink and some food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kafman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 959 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

We were in a Starwood room which was very basic no frills. It was average in every way. There are no microwaves or refridgerators in rooms. There is no breakfast included, but you can get very limited choices of Starbucks in the lobby. The location was quiet and easier to manage then being in Center City, but I prefer the restaurants, shops and things to do in Center City. The only stand out at this hotel were the doormen, they were excellent!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank joan3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear joan3boys,

We would first like to apologize for not providing you a WOW experience. We always want our guests to leave with a memorable experience. Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We will share them with our staff so that we can improve on our performance. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Unfortunately, we were not able to make our reservation due to the weather. All flights were cancelled into Philadelphia. However, I did want to comment on the outstanding service that the Sheraton gave us. They were very understanding about our situation and held the room for us just in case we were able to make it. After we determined that there was no possible way to get there, they happily cancelled our reservations with no fees charged. They were friendly and professional. When we travel to Philadelphia again I know where we will be staying.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank daytoncp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

the hotel is beautiful, Sheraton beds are so amazing to sleep in like on a cloud! Plenty of restaurants within walking distance, we really just parked car & walked. Beautiful lobby, well appointed rooms . the old city is great, friendly staff also

Room Tip: we didn't eat breakfast or go to spa but didn't want to give something we didn't try a b...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loislaneNy/nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Sheraton Society Hill by accident. It was a little cheaper than other hotels close-by the convention center which was above my budget.
It is a smaller yet fully amenitied, almost boutique hotel. The area is was located was awesome. In the heart of an upscale residential neighborhood and local restaurants and bars, walking distance to most historical sites and museums.
The charm of the residential neighborhood and the service of the hotel an proximity to downtown would make me want to go back. Safe place to stroll in the evening after dinner and convenient drug store a couple of blocks away. I had great experience.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank mjhlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear mjhlee,
We are happy that this happy accident allowed you to experience our hotel. We are happy that you had an enjoyable time and we hope you will stay with us again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

If you’re planning a trip to Philly this could be a great choice. It’s located near old city, a short walk away from a number of historical sites (like Independence Hall, the Mint, and Ben Franklin’s house), Penn’s Landing (the waterfront), South Street, Theatres, and dozens of great restaurants and bars (Amada, Cuba Libre, and Eulogy, just to name a few). It’s not super convenient for public transit, the subway is a few blocks away but Philly’s not a terribly big city, you can hit a lot of the big sited from here on foot.
The lobby is very large, taking up the entirety of the first floor. It’s very bright and cheery, there is a ton of natural light and the space is dominated by a large water wall/fountain. There are some shops off of it, the obligatory Starbucks and bar as well. Everything was in excellent condition. We arrived midafternoon on Saturday. Initially, there was a couple ahead of us in the checkout line and a single clerk at the desk but within moments after our group queued up another clerk appeared and we were through in just a few minutes. The staff was very efficient and courteous.
The hotel is only 4 stories high, and we had a room on the 4th floor. The room itself was in fairly good shape, we had a room that had a partial view of the waterfront so we could see a bit of Penn’s Landing, but not enough that I would have gone out of my way to get it again. The furniture was all new and modern and the rest had been updated sometime in the last decade so it looked fairly current. The only thing that really detracted from the place was a slight odor, it wasn’t bad just unusual. Our group ended up in a few different rooms and most of them commented on it also, so I’m guessing it’s something that they use to clean the rooms.
When we first tried the light in the bathroom, it was really dim. So much so that we were in the process of moving a lamp in there to add more light (we were in a rush to get ready for a dinner that evening) and making a call down to maintenance. After about 2-3 minutes however, it worked its way up to full power and I realized it must have been one of the eco bulbs. Afterwards we didn’t have any issue with it, just the first time we tried it.
The bed was amazing. My wife was 9 months pregnant and had been having trouble sleeping but the mattress that they have, along with copious amounts of pillows did the trick. We slept so well, I was serious considering adding on another night just to get another night’s sleep in. We were there for an all weekend event so we didn’t get a chance to use many of the amenities at the hotel, which is a shame because the pool looked fantastic. We live in the area and occasionally spend the night in the city to save ourselves from the drive home and will very likely be back here again at some point.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the back of the hotel and have the best chance at a waterfront view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanHanLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear DanHanLan,
We are so thankful for the lovely review you have provided. We apologize about the odor and want to guarantee you that we will look into this further and make sure that we use odorless chemicals. We wish you and your family all the best with your new addition to the family, and hope you all can return soon. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and in a great location, loved everything including the club room that had free drinks and food 24-7. My room was spacious, well appointed and clean. The staff was friendly, very accommodating and helpful. Great experience.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank msb2m5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Shannon B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We are thrilled you had an amazing experience and we hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £125 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the nation's most historic neighborhood, Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel is the perfect setting for a memorable visit. Our hotel is tucked within the Old City district of Philadelphia - home to world-class attractions such as Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell, The National Constitution Center, and Penn’s Landing. Well-appointed guest rooms offer everything you need to relax and refresh during your stay, including our Sheraton Signature Beds. Join us at Taste for creative American cuisine, and spend time discovering Philadelphia - our unbeatable Old City hotel location places your near historic landmarks, as well as local sports stadiums and great year-round events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing