We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #34 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I used to stay at this hotel weekly years ago, and I was very impressed with the lobby renovations that they completed in the last year or so. Hotel is in a great location for those wanting to be in "old city" and near the historical sites and great food. Only downside was the room was close to the pool and had a musty smell because of it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Colin M,
We thank you for your continued loyalty and are glad that you were able to experience the renovated product. We apologize for the smell in your room and continually look to improve our service and cleanliness and guarantee that are guests have a wonderful stay. We will share your comments with our housekeeping and front office staff so that we can ensure the cleanest of rooms.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here during MLK weekend. This hotel has a great bar downstairs w/a decent wine list. They offer wine tasting on most nights which was nice on the nights we decided to stay in out of the cold weather. The rooms are clean and the staff friendly and very helpful. The parking is expensive. You can travel a block around the corner at the movie theater for cheaper parking. We did not use the car the entire time so we parked in the theater lot until we checked out.
We were able to walk to clubs and dining establishments in the area.

This is a great place to stay if you want to stay in Old City. My only complaint is there isn't free Wi-Fi in the rooms. You are allowed 2 hrs free service only in the lobby. It's 2014 and most places offer free Wi-Fi so this hotel needs to catch up with the times!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank grantctgurl4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear grantctgurl4eva,
We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we are happy that you were able to experience our Sheraton Social Hour. We would like to apologize for not communicating our options for parking prior to your arrival. Our intentions are never to surprise our guests in a negative way and we like to provide them with all the information needed so that they have a wonderful experience with us. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Hotel is good, a couple of nice small restaurants around, but a couple of small bad things.

Showers are terrible: Water would not sink very fast.
Parking is pretty expensive, so if you think on getting it because of a low rate forget it, you will spend it back on parking (there are no cheap options around either).
No free internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pabdcarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Pabdcary,
We would like to apologizes for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and we are upset that we were not able to remedy the situation prior to your checkout. We thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us as it helps us to improve our service and communication with our guests. If the opportunity of traveling to Philadelphia comes again, we hope you choose to stay with us so we can deliver a more relaxing stay. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We are so pleased with our decision to stay at this hotel. We were a little apprehensive based on previous reviews but there was absolutely no need. We had a club level room and found the room very spacious and comfortable.

The club room was very well stocked(hot appetizers at night with fruit and cheese, crackers and veggies and wine). Breakfast was great with one hot dish ( pancakes on both days) and fruit, bread, yogurt and Starbucks coffee brewed. We left very satisfied. It was good food and very convenient. The club room attendant was great and made us feel right at home.

Valet parking attendants were great and the service cost with taxes about $42 per day, but with the weather, so worth it to give the problem of finding a parking spot in a strange city to someone else.

We had a great view from our room and could see the Ben Franklin bridge.

One of the best things about staying at this hotel is location to historic sites. We were within easy walking distance to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, US Mint and many other historical sites. You could walk to the Philadelphia Art Museum, but we chose to cab it and with kids I would recommend cabs. about $12 one way hotel to art museum area.
We felt safe in the neighbourhood. We had special requests for housekeeping and they were very helpful. We had a great stay!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank EastCoastCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear EastCoastCanada,
Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing and fun filled experience with us. We are thrilled you had an enjoyable time with us and we hope we have the opportunity to host you during your next visit to Philadelphia. Thank you and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our comfortable guestroom that overlooked the lobby of the hotel was spotless and quiet. We enjoyed being within walking distance of Center City Philadelphia without the hustle and bustle of that area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler06032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear traveler06032,
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay. We hope you can share another wonderful experience with us again soon. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton Society Hill on January 4, 2013. We had a wedding reception 1/2 mile away in Old City and the newlyweds chose this as their home base. The hotel was perfect for what it was used for and very open and accomodating to hosting a farily substantial amount of wedding guests. The room was spotless and had high end furniture that looked brand new. The modern decor of not only the rooms but the entire hotel added to the overall classiness of the place. We had a great nights sleep with the pillows being just the perfect firmness for the Warden and I.
The one downside that I found with the hotel was that they wanted to charge me $48 to park for the night. The way the parking attendent explained it to me was that it was usually $28, but I had an SUV so that's $10 more and on top of that I had a roof rack, so that was going to be another $10 ! I have a Toyota FJ cruiser.....not lifted....stock tires.....factory roof rack.....really ??? He did tell me that right around the corner there was a public parking are that would charge me $20....needless to say, that's the route I went.
Other than the parking situation, we a had a perfect stay !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomMcMenamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear TomMcMenamin,
We are happy that you enjoyed the wedding celebration. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience. We apologize we did not communicate the parking rates before you arrived at the hotel. We would enjoy seeing you again in the future. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The hearing system in the room is TOO LOUD. Loud as if sleeping next to an airplane engine! To add to the loud noise, the system comes on and off with a ridiculously loud bang that endures you wake me up several times at night. When I complained to the front desk in the morning they said all rooms are like this and they don't carry any portable heaters, so that I could at least turn the system off. Too bad, as the room was clean and the bed comfortable but you do need to be able to sleep and I couldn't there.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear L B,
We would like to apologize that you did not have a restful night. We have noted your comments about the heating systems and we are looking into the issue. We thank you for noting the cleanliness of the room. We hope you can stay with us again and we guarantee to provide a quiet and clean room. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £111 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the nation's most historic neighborhood, Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel is the perfect setting for a memorable visit. Our hotel is tucked within the Old City district of Philadelphia - home to world-class attractions such as Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell, The National Constitution Center, and Penn’s Landing. Well-appointed guest rooms offer everything you need to relax and refresh during your stay, including our Sheraton Signature Beds. Join us at Taste for creative American cuisine, and spend time discovering Philadelphia - our unbeatable Old City hotel location places your near historic landmarks, as well as local sports stadiums and great year-round events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing