We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #33 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we stayed here with Priceline recently and had a great stay. Staff was nice, helpful, rooms were excellent, beds comfortable.
very nice lobby. Wish we'd had a chance to stop at the wine bar but maybe next time!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jenny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Yes, definitely on your next visit to us, please enjoy our Taste Restaurant and Bar as we feature many great wine selections! We pride ourselves on having a great food and beverage team. Location Location Location is so important, especially for our leisure travelers and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. #creatingmemories

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is beautiful. The lobby is very elegant. The room was decorated nicely and very clean.
What we loved most about the hotel though was the location. It was easy walking distance to all of the historic sights. It was also only a block away from the Korean War Memorial, which was very moving. Also, just a short walk to Penn's Landing. The neighborhood near the hotel has many fine restaurants as well. The hotel is located about a mile and a half walk from the Reading Market Place which I highly recommend. About the only thing we did not like is that the prices in the bar were pretty outrageous. Oh...the bed was amazingly comfortable!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback.. Yes, Reading Terminal Market is a great spot to "treat yourself" on a Philly favorite food item. Thank you, we are so happy with our recent multi million dollar renovation. The beds are great, which is important to us as we know and understand that in today's world, travel is not easy for our guests....but, a good night's sleep is ! Thank you, we are fortunate to have so many great memorial parks within walking distance. We look forward to your return visit to us ! #sheratonsweetsleeperbed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We arrived early and our room was ready! The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the concierge (Morris) was extremely helpful. While the onsite valet parking is pricey ($43 per night when tax was added), we more than made up for that with the great price we got as a Starwood club member. We stayed on the club floor, and enjoyed the snacks and access to a variety of beverages (water, sodas, juices) throughout the day. The continental breakfast went beyond the basics. The location was perfect. We walked everywhere except to the Mutter Museum. On the down side, we were right across from the ice machine and people seemed to need ice all night! On Sunday, we were awakened by a false alarm and directed to leave the building. While I know this bothered many people, I was glad to see that there was an efficient system in place to evacuate the building if needed. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room that is not near the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank swhit618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments. Like most Philadelphia hotels, the parking garage is outsourced and we have updated our Garage Manager. Thank you, when we completed our multi million dollar renovation, the Club Lounge, along with the food/beverage, atmosphere was important to us. It is a great benefit for our travelers. Our Location is great as you can check in and enjoy the city by foot. We look forward to your next return to Philadelphia and the Fall is a beautiful time to take in the City. #Philadelphia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I simply don't think this hotel has a Sheraton level. It's old. Bathrooms are small, not luxurious but neither elegant. Room has an old moquette. Beds are OK. Business center is big and efficient, also fitness center is nice but I was used to another standard with Sheraton. On Sunday morning I was waked up by a false alarm. That 's all.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Smilzetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We appreciate all of our guests comments. We did complete a multi million dollar renovation in April, 2012. The entire hotel was renovated from new beds, linens, furniture, bathrooms, public space, outlets, to meeting/banquet facilities. If you are interested in a return stay, please contact Karen.vincent@sheraton.com and she will be more than happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We arrived early and although our rooms weren't ready we were able to park the car and leave our luggage. We also did a pre-check in. When we arrived back at the hotel after a day of site seeing we were able to go right to our rooms. The rooms were spacious, clean and very quiet. We loved the location as we could walk to the historic area, south street and the waterfront which was a block away. They were having a summer festival so it was a lot of fun. The staff at the hotel were very gracious and attentive. They also have a small cafe in the lobby that serves Starbucks Coffee and a full service restaurant. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for feedback and for choosing our hotel on your "weekend in Philadelphia". We appreciate it as we know travelers have many options to select from. We are so happy with our recent renovations and our staff is top notch! We are glad you were able to enjoy the benefits of the hotel, including our lobby café ! It is a great spot to enjoy a cup of Starbucks, read the paper and enjoy the atmosphere. We look forward to your next visit with us !!! #creatingmemories

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed on business earlier this month -- this is an older property that's nice but has paper-thin walls. I was initially in an adjoining room (hate those) and asked to moved because the guest next door was screaming into her cell phone. Got a nice atrium-facing room -- and at midnight, the noise began. There was a meeting of young engineers from Dow or somewhere who really don't know how to behave. Closing the room's interior door and blocking that with a bathmat helped...until the morning of my last day when the guy next door starting hollering into HIS cellphone at 0700. I was already up for work, fortunately. Nice staff, very expensive restaurant if you're not on business.

Room Tip: get a room off the atrium and make sure it doesn't adjoin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SLM941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We apologize for any noise issues during your stay and especially when you are traveling on business. We do hope you return back to us for your return visit. Please contact Karen.vincent@sheraton.com who is our Account Director for Business Travel and she will be more than happy to assist you. Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

On our most recent visit to the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill we stayed in 3 connecting rooms; a standard with 2 full beds, the parlor suite, and a standard room with a king size bed. We found these rooms to be spacious and luxurious. The parlor suite has a small dining table, a couch, a Murphy bed, as well as a televison. For a family that needs more room or has several children this is a great option to travel comfortably without being on top of each other.

Additional bonuses
TV in every room
Bathroom in every room

There was a minifridge in the parlor suite and microwaves in the standard rooms.

The pool runs from 3.5 to 4.5 feet and is open late.

Room Tip: Club level rooms provide you with access to the club lounge with complimentary refreshments and cont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JerseyFamilyFunJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback. The set up you described is a good one.. We like when families enjoy the parlor with the connecting rooms on either side. You described it best, plenty of room with many benefits, especially have a tv and bathroom in every room.... Everyone has their space to do what they want to do. Many of our wedding parties like this set up too.. Plus there is plenty of natural light that comes in ! We look forward to your return visit to Philadelphia and to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £104 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the nation's most historic neighborhood, Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel is the perfect setting for a memorable visit. Our hotel is tucked within the Old City district of Philadelphia - home to world-class attractions such as Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell, The National Constitution Center, and Penn’s Landing. Well-appointed guest rooms offer everything you need to relax and refresh during your stay, including our Sheraton Signature Beds. Join us at Taste for creative American cuisine, and spend time discovering Philadelphia - our unbeatable Old City hotel location places your near historic landmarks, as well as local sports stadiums and great year-round events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing