We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Ranked #70 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise!”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and let me tell you, This place is wonderful for it's location and it's staff members. Right when we checked in, our rooms were nice and cozy. The location of the hotel was close to all the sightseeing sights. Love Park was only 15 minutes away walking and Chinatown was right next to us. Needless to say we pigged out heavily. The continental style breakfast was all we needed to get our day started and the wifi access was definitely an advantage. Will have to stay here again the next time i'm in philly!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    170
    231
    163
    127
See reviews for
130
156
98
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
445 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights n September 2012, the welcome was friendly and informative about transportation services - we had no car. The room was clean and spacious enough for a city centre hotel. Breakfast was basic. Our room window faced the Convention Centre but was quiet during night hours. Ice was readily available and fast wifi.

Room Tip: Try to get a 4th floor room on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jin6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumby, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I recently stayed at the Travelodge in Philly and had an overall good experience. The room was about average; but the room and bathroom were very clean and the bed was comfortable with 4 pillows provided. No microwave or fridge in the room (didn't miss them) and like the title says "no frills." My main complaints would be that the water pressure from the shower was low and there was a beeping noise in the mornings - not sure what it was; but as my room was facing a lane it could be the removal of a dumpster. Now the good points: The check-in staff were all very cordial and helpful in providing information. The houskeeping staff were also excellent. The location was perfect as it's across the street from the Convention Centre, very close to the Broad St. subway line and other lines, on the edge of Chinatown with numerous restaurants within short walking distance, close to the Reading Terminal market (about 50 eating/drinking/food sellers businesses), and not too far from the historic area. The complimentary breakfast was very basic with not much more than coffee, oj/apple juice/milk, cereal, and bagels and muffins. The hotel looked like it had undergone recent renovations and the elevator, hallways, and lobby areas look like they were newly carpeted. All in all excellent value for money and would recommend to anyone not looking for all the bells and whistles.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room away from Race St. or the lane running alongside the hotel's eastside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We have booked a room in February, our stay was in August. We got a room on the ground level, right next to the reception - outside was the walkway of the convention center. I never stayed somewhere that loud - from inside and outside the hotel.

Staff was absolu rude and not interested in their guest. They texted on their smartphones, red books or were on the phone with their friends. It was all like: another guest is disturbing me.

I will never ever stay in this place again!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I like staying at Travelodge. Unfortunately, this property I cannot add to that list. I called the property to make a reservation. They told me the price, which for downtown Philadelphia, wasn't too bad. They then told me that for cash paying customers, they had to pay them $50 cash for a deposit. For people travelling on a budget is STUPID!!! Local calls are free. I talked to the manager explaining that I was there for Medical reasons with a local hospital. He told me that he would by-pass the deposit. When I got there the front desk clerk said she knew nothing about it. I then talked to the manager, who I previously talked on the phone with, and told me he knew nothing about what he said earlier when we talked on the phone!! To make matters worse, the next morning I had to go up to pay for another night, and they refused to letme stay another night. I have since sent a letter to Travelodge corp office. The rooms there are nice, but with the attitudes there of their management and staff, it wouyld be better for you to spend your money on a hotel that appreciates your business. AVOID staying here!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night. This hotel is on a tiny, one way street. There is no parking of any kind offered, so you must fend for yourself at one of the nearby lots, which typically charge about $15 per day. Keep in mind that this "day" ends at 6:30am. If you keep your car there past 6:30, you will be forced to pay for another full day. I checked in slightly early, and they informed me that the only rooms they had were on the first floor. This was strange to me, but I didn't have time to argue. I asked if it would be noisy, and I was assured that no, there would be no noise issues. I had my doubts, considering my room was next to the entrance, next to the front desk, and next to the outside street. My suspicions were confirmed that night. The noise was incredible, easily the loudest, most frustrating hotel room I have ever stayed in. People came in and out all night, cell phones rang, cars and trucks ran back and forth on the street outside. The "drapes" in the room barely closed at all, meaning I had to manufacture a makeshift way to keep the light out. My favorite part was when I was awakened at 3am by the front desk guy chatting with someone else, a friend I assume. They were not talking overly-loud, but the room's sound insulation was so poor that I could clearly hear every word they were saying. When I called and asked them to keep the noise down, they merely laughed, and I could hear one of them tell the other one to "tell him to just not sleep". The next morning, this same front desk guy had the wonderful question of, "How'd you sleep?" I made the mistake of trying to be close to where I needed to be that next day by getting a hotel room in the city for "cheap". Don't make this mistake. Stay out in the suburbs in a real hotel, with real parking, and private rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnColumbus_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I chose this hotel because I had a function to attend at the convention center and I wanted a hotel room close to the center with a comfortable bed and that would be a quiet place to rest and study. The hotel is convenient to the convention center - it's directly across the street - but that is the only good thing about my stay. The bed was one of the most uncomfortable beds that I have ever slept in - I did not get good sleep at all. Moreover, my room, 103, was on the first floor and the walls must be paper thin because I could hear everything that was going on in the hotel while in my room - every conversation the front desk had, doors slamming, people talking in the hallway, people going in and out of the elevator. Between the bed and the noise level I barely slept during the 2 nights I stayed at the hotel. The decor of my hotel room was very sterile and drab and the only "window" in my room was a window looking into the hallway of the hotel. My stay here was extremely disappointing - I would never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Good luck getting good sleep if you are given room #103! If you must stay here I would request a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melwhip25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#45 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
City Center East
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn Center City
#49 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Property: Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Address: 1227 Race St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-1618 (Formerly Travelodge Philadelphia Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Philadelphia hotel has an ideal location, directly across the street from the Philadelphia Convention Center, and walking distance to many of the city's historic attractions. Our 100% smoke-free hotel in Philadelphia is ideal for business or pleasure travel, and you'll enjoy our sunny hospitality from our multilingual staff. Our comfortable guest rooms are equipped with coffee/tea maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and 32 inch flat screen HD televisions with premium cable channels. Local calls, Internet access, dry cleaning service and bottled water are complimentary for our guests. Self-parking is located a block away for $20 a day. Upon check-in, a hold of $50-100 will be authorized and reimbursed if not used. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Travelodge Hotel Philadelphia
Travel Lodge Philadelphia
Philadelphia Travel Lodge
Philadelphia Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing