We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Worthy of Sheraton Name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Ranked #58 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Worthy of Sheraton Name”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Never have I found the staff so rude, an unclean room, and a neighborhood that is questionable at best.

Upon check-in, the staff was apparently doing me a favor. There was no smile, not a "Welcome," nor anything else that made me feel comfortable. I had a fair amount of luggage as well. It would have been nice to have either a bell hop or even a cart to help me, but nothing was offered.
Next, I was given a double room while being promised a king room. I was so angry at this point, I decided to press it, and demand what I paid for. After doing me another "Favor," I was given what I asked and paid for.

When I got to my room, there seemed to be some sort of stain on my comforter. I was both exhausted and disguasted by this point, so I took it off, turned up the heat, and went to bed. I noticed in the morning that there was a sticky substance on one of the bedside tables. Both of these are unacceptable in a one star hotel. In something with the Sheraton name, it is completely unacceptable.

Within one block of the hotel is a methadone clinic and a homeless shelter. Both of these services are important, however, I am unsure if it's good that close to a hotel. I was up early, and was looking for a place for breakfast in the neighborhood. I walked up to Broad St. and looked for a coffee shop or something. There was nothing, and ended up eating at Handeman Hospital. BTW, breakfast at the hospital cafeteria wasn't so bad.

I will not return to this hotel for anything. Had the staff been good, kind, or even mildly friendly, or the room clean, or anything about this hotel okay, I would have given it another star. Next time I'll stay in a lesser hotel up the street (Days Inn; Hampton Inn) and at least get a free breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    176
    106
    53
    28
See reviews for
103
116
52
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The Four Points is a reasonably priced hotel located convenient to the Convention Center, The Reading Terminal Market and Chinatown. It's been a year since my last visit and there have been a few changes; First, the rooms have been renovated, and while still average size for any downtown metropolitan hotel, the amenities are adequate and the the heating and A/C units are quiet and efficient. Secondly, the hotel no longer offers valet parking. There is a parking lot directly across the street, and as one reviewer mentioned it is a bit pricey at $32 per day. However, there is another lot one block below the hotel on 12th street that is only $20 per day. Happily one thing has not changed and that is the outstanding and friendly service of the hotel staff. Ms. Rhonda Jones is a superstar and she is truly dedicated to her guest's satisfaction. Free bottled water is provided daily, and the beds are super comfortable. We'll gladly return to this convenient downtown location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 9th floor are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishboy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a perfectly fine budget hotel for the convention crowd, located less than a block away from the convention centre itself. However, I noticed that it was priced about the same as other hotels that also cater to this group of travelers and offer much more in amenities. Do your research, especially if things like a separate business center, lounge, exercise room, etc. are important to you.

In addition, my room was always cold even with the (rather loud) heater running almost constantly. Yes, it was cold in Philadelphia the week I was there but the second hotel I stayed at on this trip didn't seem to have the same heating issue.

And finally, I had to re-enter the long, cryptic wifi code every single time I used it (this doesn't seem to happen at the higher rated (but similarly priced) hotels that I worked out of during this business trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara S, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Valuable guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We will address the issues you have mentioned in your review to better serve our guests.

Hope you will give us another chance to prove our good services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Philadelphia hotels

New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

I found this hotel as a last minute alternative for the NSCAA convention. This hotel was perfectly positioned for the convention center. The best thing about this hotel is the staff who literally cannot do enough for you, they were all helpful with any query or problem I had.
The room was very comfortable although I would have liked a bit more of a 'view', the room I was allocated had a tiny window at the top of the outside wall so i rarely saw daylight, however room availability is at a premium for this conference so it wasn't too much of a hassle.
I was provided with a fridge at no extra charge and their 'Green Option' is a great idea where you elect not to have your towels, etc. changed for a night and you get a $5 credit to use either in their restaurant or towards their rewards program - Brilliant!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up, there isn't much of a view but you'll be better off and it's les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicos41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I realize that many east coast city center hotels will have cramped rooms. But, the layout of the room at the Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center was just not usable. If you extend the desk to use your computer, you run out of room for your chair before it hits the bed.

Additionally, the shower has some issue causing the ceiling to fall away.

Very disappointing.. especially to be given the room as an SPG Gold member.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stljettaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara S, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry that you did not have a satisfactory stay with us. We will address the issues you have mentioned in your review and will correct them to the best of our ability so we can provide better services.

I hope you will give us another chance to better serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is not Sheraton. Can't expect much with the price I have.
No free breakfast, bad sound proof system, and unstable internet connection. That is what i experienced. however, the employees are very friendly and helpful. The location is pretty good too! Near to Chinatown, in fact, only 2 blocks away.

I was lucky to get a room that can see the beautiful Philly's view and its famous clock tower!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is the first time I stayed at a Four Points, and I hope that most of them are cleaner and more operational than this one. The two rooms in which my family stayed were generally nice enough, and the front desk personnel was more than accommodating, but the bathroom had spots on the walls and beginnings of mold in the shower, some of the bathroom fixtures were impractical to use, our bathroom sink drained slowly, the key card reader in at least one of the elevators was not working properly all weekend, and the in-room coffee supplies were not refilled on one of the days we stayed. The maid's question about whether or not we wanted to have our room cleaned, and her obvious disappointment when we said 'Yes', were another indicator that the room maintenance in this hotel needs better managerial attention if they want visitors to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geisslerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#46 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Address: 1201 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the heart of Philadelphia, Four Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Center offers comfortable accommodations, and is just a short walk from the Strayer University. This three-star hotel features a state of the art fitness center for guests to work out effectively. All rooms are smoke-free and fully air-conditioned. Each is equipped with a 32-inch flat-screen TV with cable channels, coffee and tea making facilities, and a private bathroom with designer toiletries. The hotel’s business center offers fax and photocopying services. Free Wi-Fi connection is available throughout. In addition, a gift shop and a 24-hour front desk are found on-site. Cherry Lounge and Restaurant serves American classics and comfort foods for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Furthermore, there are other dining options just within walking distance. Four Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Center is within a ten-minute walk from the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Liberty Bell Center is two kilometers away. Self-parking is located a block away for $29 a day or for $34 with in/out privileges. Upon check-in, a $35 hold will be authorized on your credit card and reimbursed if not used. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Hotel Philadelphia
4 Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Four Points Philadelphia
Philadelphia Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing