We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Ranked #62 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
S Wales
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
256 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Stayed for 2 nights at a rate of £115 per night inclusive (+~$175/night) booked via hotels.com. Had a conference at a city center hotel a few blocks away (in the Loews).

This hotel is about as close to the conference center main entrance as you can get and just around the corner from the Reading Terminal market.

Met the requirement in that it was clean, comfortable and the free internet worked. The hotel has a pleasant bar and all staff were pleasant in my limited dealings with them.

There is a parking lot right across the road from the hotel and plenty of parking lots in the vicinity so I didn't use the valet parking.

The negatives: The room was small and the desk real awkward. It would almost be easier to sit on the bed.

In summary, all in all a good budget hotel experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    177
    107
    54
    31
See reviews for
103
116
52
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buford, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Overall the room was good, clean and nicely decorated-Great location. Checking in was pleasant. There really need to be a limit on the computers (everyone just cruising thier facebook pages all day) - my daughter had to get up a the crack of dawn just to use the computer.
My issue did not begin until day 2 when we ordered a couple of appetizers from room service. What was delivered was not consumable by humans. I have never had dog food, but can only imagine dog food taste better than what we were delivered. They did not even try to hide the food with a nice presentation or garnishment--just some slop a 2 year old could make better on a plate. Then that night (4/18) after leaving to hotel to get something to eat, the front desk clerk, a young women decided to target me and get rude with me for standing and waiting for the valet at her front desk. Not sure how valet worked at this hotel, but I was never greeted by a valet person. Even when checking out we tried calling to get valet to bring car around but never got an answer. So we tried to hotel's outside number--still no anser. So we left frustrtaed and will probably never return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Recently had a three night stay with the wife and three kids (ages13,11 and 9). It was our first trip to Philadelphia and we were looking for something affordable and located near the major sites. We booked connecting rooms and I had no problem with the rates. As for location, while it is within walking distance of the major sites, it is on the very edge of what is considered a good part of town. It is located behind the convention center, an area that gets very isolated after dark. Since there is not much too do after say 6pm with the kids, we were not planning on staying out late. As for the long "dark" tunnel some have written about under the convention center, it is not that bad. Very well lit with a good amont of people utilizing it. Again, just don't go alone during the late night hours.

As for the hotel, it is a nice hotel, just not many frills. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The rooms are on the small side, but still comfortable after a long day out with the kids. But there was one problem to note, and it is more with the reservation booking agents, and not the hotel itself. We very specifically requested connceting rooms, one with a king size bed and one with two double beds. I was assured by the booking agent that is what we would receive. Upon checking in, the manager informed me that there are no connecting rooms in the hotel with that configuration. Ths was very frustrating, but it was not the hotels fault. The reservation department should know how their hotels are set up. We mde the best of it, but it was dissapointing. Other than that, we found no issues with the hotel. Unless you call finding some ones underwear under the chair an issue.

All in all, not a bad choice, just wish the location was a bit nicer.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayside5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2010

The hotel is pretty new which was an advantage right out of the starting gate. It is very CLEAN, and modern. Well appointed and maintained.Great Value.
The location if you are going to the convention center is awesome. As a tourist, the location worked as well. It is an easy walk to the historic area and accessible to mass transit. If you like Chinese Food it is just a block from Chinatown.
Staff friendly and courteous. Eager to help.
Small restaurant/bar. Good food. Friendly staff.
I was very pleasantly surprised. My faith in limited service properties has been renewed.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tagteam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2010

My boyfriend and I ended up staying longer due to the snowstorm. We weren't the only ones to get snowed in. The staff never went home. They made an unknown situation into a home away from home. The Manager on Duty gave us a tour of the hotel - my favorite part - a must see: The Penthouse Ballroom located on the 10th floor. WOW! What a great view of the city. The only negative is that the room was small, kinda cozy but small. However, the shower makes up for it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shizones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, PA
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I spent a week at the Downtown Sheraton Four Points in 36 hours during the recent snowstorm that swept across the Middle Atlantic. Cancellations, no transportation, and huge snow left me a bit stranded. My inability to do what I had come to Philly to do was greatly assuaged by the friendliness and the courtesy of the staff. The hotel had two shifts of its staff stay in the hotel to make certain they would be there to be able to take care of its guests. Beyond the staff's wonderful effort to assist its guests, I was very pleased with my room and the bed. I also used the impressively well equipped (cardio and dumbbells) fitness room twice. All in all the hotel and its staff made what could have been a disastrous weekend into a pleasant experience. Shoutouts to Joanna, Crystal, Karrinna, and Ming.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2010

My laptop was stolen out of a locked guest room. The hotel staff went through the motions of trying to get to the bottom of what happened, but the bottom line is that the minute the computer was reported as missing I was treated like a nuisance. Hotel personnel did not encourage me to file a police report, and when I insisted the police officer said someone with a keycard had opened the door as the doors were self-locking.
Keycards were also malfunctioning during the time of this theft and the front desk attendants gave out new keys to guests without even asking for a name or an ID. I needed to get a new keycard four times in a two day period, and passed colleagues in the elevator and in line at the front desk with the same problem. I did not feel safe at this particular Sheraton, and the staff made an already negative experience much worse.
The location is great.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackhawk44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgr4pts, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center, responded to this review, 12 February 2010
It is always unfortunate when a guest states that an item was removed from their room. We did take this guests claim seriously. The guest failed to mention that while she was here for a convention, and she did take her laptop to the Convention Center for business on several occasions. It is entirely possible that the guest left her Laptop at the Convention Center. We checked the door lock, spoke to the employee who had access to the room. She has been at the hotel since it opened. We are confident our employee did not remove any items fron the room. Keycards can demagatize when they come in contact with cell phones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Rodeway Inn Center City
#49 of 86 in Philadelphia
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#46 of 86 in Philadelphia
110 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Address: 1201 Race St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-1617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the heart of Philadelphia, Four Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Center offers comfortable accommodations, and is just a short walk from the Strayer University. This three-star hotel features a state of the art fitness center for guests to work out effectively. All rooms are smoke-free and fully air-conditioned. Each is equipped with a 32-inch flat-screen TV with cable channels, coffee and tea making facilities, and a private bathroom with designer toiletries. The hotel’s business center offers fax and photocopying services. Free Wi-Fi connection is available throughout. In addition, a gift shop and a 24-hour front desk are found on-site. Cherry Lounge and Restaurant serves American classics and comfort foods for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Furthermore, there are other dining options just within walking distance. Four Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Center is within a ten-minute walk from the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Liberty Bell Center is two kilometers away. Self-parking is located a block away for $29 a day or for $34 with in/out privileges. Upon check-in, a $35 hold will be authorized on your credit card and reimbursed if not used. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Four Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Hotel Philadelphia
Four Points Philadelphia
Philadelphia Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing