We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of New Market B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Market B&B
Ranked #19 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Canton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We are so happy that we picked this B&B. It was odd that you have to enter your credit card info through a B&B website, without contacting that location directly, but now I see it is in the best interest of her, as a homeowner. It all worked out well and we weren't charged until the actual check-in date.
We debated between this place and the Thomas Bond B&B. This one is a home, while the other is commercial. I much preferred this location once I saw the area. Thomas Bond is right across from The City Tavern (which is so cool), but there isn't a great neighborhood surrounding it (it is right in the city center, but not much happens there after dark.) New Market is in such a great neighborhood with lots of pubs and restaurants less than a block away, and the price is hard to pass up. Also, South Street is a block away, which is where all the places to eat are. I wasn't crazy about the street after dark, but during the day or evening, it offered a lot options. All the surrounding homes are colonial row houses and just walking the few blocks to city center is almost as lovely as all the historic sites.
Norma is lovely and helpful and full of information. She did make super breakfasts each morning at the time you prefer. They weren't just ho-hum meals either. Another poster described them and two were the same.
We stayed on the third floor with the King bed and private bath. Great space with a tiled bathroom and lots of towels. It's not important to mention any small imperfections as this is B&B at its best. Stairs are small since it was built in the 1800's, so just be prepared. We had a larger suitcase but with some work, got it up.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms. One is on the second floor and the other on the third floor. I peaked in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoesah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
City of San Marino, San Marino
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

this is the best place you can stay in Philly.
The house is beautiful, full of history, wonderfully renewed and in a walking distance from the ciry centre. The neighborhood was really quite and safe The room and the bathroom were big and clean. Norma was adorable, very kind and the breakfasts she made were amazing!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ersicry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My sister and I stayed three nights at this B&B. Being accustomed to the English B&Bs, I had to adjust to some differences: you must agree on a specific time for breakfast and beds are not made for you every day. Once you accept that the rules are different, and considering that we left early in the morning and returned at about 10 p.m. after having had dinner, we cannot find fault with the accomodation. Getting to the third floor with a medium-sized suitcase was tough but possible (up two flights of narrow stairs). The room was large (two windows looking on to the street and two windows at the back of the room), well lit and well appointed and the bathroom was tiled from floor to ceiling. There was a small TV set and although the cable signal was not working when we arrived it was fixed the following day. The mattresses were a tad too firm (i.e. a bit hard) but we were able to sleep soundly and cannot complain. The bed was had plenty of blankets and covers to provide warmth, although there was central heating.
The breakfasts were varied and prepared with care. We were asked whether we wanted cooked breakfasts (we did) and were served buckwheat pancakes with honey and bacon one day, oven-baked omelette with jam another and fried bread, cheese and eggs the third day, as well as tea, and one day we also had cereals and juice. The house offers two rooms but we were the only guests for the three nights we stayed. We were given keys to the front entrance and told how to come in and go out. The owner was not overly fussy, judging from some comments guests have made in other guesthouses. We were allowed to bring down our luggage to the ground floor the day we left and come back after lunch to pick it up, and since the owner would not be home at that time, we were told to take our bags and leave the keys on the coffee table as we went out.
Location is very convenient. There is a bus terminal a block away, South Street offers a variety of restaurants for dinner and the neighbourhood itself is part of the historic district. The house itself has been remodelled leaving the outside as it was in the past.
Norma, the owner, suggested things to see and do in Philadelphia. Even before meeting her, when I sent her an e-mail reconfirming our arrival, she recommended that we should get off the Megabus from New York at a stop before reaching the bus station. We did that and found that getting off at Chestnut and 6th street, instead of at 30th Street Station save us some dollars on the taxi ride.
Norma also allowed us to make two phone calls with our pre-paid international telephone card. Not having a telephone in the room was understandable but it was also inconvenient. When my niece called one night, Norma was out and nobody answered the phone. We heard the phone ringing from our room, but we felt it was out of place to go down to the living room and pick up the phone, and anyway, we did not really know who was calling.
As another reviewer mentioned, you cannot contact the owner directly. You must do it through an agency which charges your credit card after your arrival at Norma's house. You do not pay Norma directly and only when you send your credit card info to confirm the booking do you get Norma's full address and e-mail. We felt a bit uneasy as we usually deal directly with the Bed & Breakfast when we visit Britain, but it all turned out fine.
At a cost of US$ 108 per night for an ensuite bedroom and breakfast, and provided you can negotiate the stairs, we would definitely recommend Norma's place.
And a last word. I am not very fond of cats, but I never saw the two of them together, and the one I did see never got near me or our room, so it was no bother at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Argentine-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

This was my 3rd stay at New Market Bed and Breakfast and I was as pleased as ever.
This 19th century row house has been lovingly revived by the owner, keeping the rustic charm of an antique building while adding modern conveniences. That thinking is also reflected in the decor which is fascinatingly eclectic.

The location is ideal...one block from a parking garage and walking distance to many historic sites including Independence Hall and the Constitution Center. But it's also just a couple blocks from funky, artsy South Street. Easy access to a variety of sights, sounds and tastes.

Our host is a well-informed, welcoming social worker. Questions were answered, information shared, directions given with accuracy and efficency...confidence that spills over to the traveler who is unsure of navigating the city streets. Our food was delicious and healthy. We were glad to have satisfying breakfasts that didn't weigh us down for the day.

The room rates (2 rooms) are quite reasonable.

Not your sterotypical B & B. To me, New Market B & B is what it is all about. Local. Real. affordable. Interesting. Sfe & comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindyHikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

This is a lovely B&B just on the edges of the city center - Independence Hall is about a 20 minute walk away, and there's a bus about a 10 minute walk away that takes you to more of the main attractions. Norma, the owner, is a wonderful hostess. The rooms are spacious and clean, and there is Wifi available. There are a bunch of places to eat and hang out in the neighborhood as well. Two things to note - you have to climb a somewhat narrow and rickety flight of stairs to get to your room (but not a huge problem - I'm a tiny person and I managed to lug my suitcase up there with no help) and there are two cats (but very well behaved and not allowed inside your room). If you want a home-y place to stay that's close to stuff but not right in the middle of all the chaos, this is a perfect choice.

PS - I had to book through the Philadelphia's B&B website - the place doesn't have its own webpage.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faeriehazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights on our first visit to Philadelphia in May.
It was an excellent choice, in a lovely house which had been beautifully restored and was very comfortable.Breakfasts were delicious and all home cooked.It was nice to be seated at the table with the other guests & to chat to them and the hostess over our meal.She was very helpful with many suggestions about the city and places to visit. The B&B is in a lovely area within walking distance of the city centre though there are buses which were handy too.There are excellent restaurants to choose from in this lovely neighbourhood.We'll definiately stay here again if we return to Philadelphia.Thank you Norma!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethne30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

What a charmer. This B & B is in an 1820's row house on the edge of Society Hill. The owner/host has restored this beautiful piece of history, creating a most comfortable spot to call home while exploring the city. While the furnishings are modern (and work so well in this setting) you'll delight in exposed bricks, wide plank floors and square nails that authenticate the age of this welcoming haven.
While the house is narrow, the rooms are spacious and uncluttered. Decorating accents are from all over the world and hint at a well-traveled hostess.

The location is ideal...there's a parking garage one block away and all the attractions are within walking distance. Questions about what to see and how to get around are readily answered. The innkeeper knows her town!

Breakfasts were a pleasant surpise. No table laden with pasties here! We were served homemade granola with bananas one day and an amazing buckwheat pancake another. All the food was fresh, healthy and sooo tasty. Coffee? Hmmm!

The room prices were quite a bargain!

This was my second visit. And you can bet I'll be back. A fav place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindyHikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#15 of 86 in Philadelphia
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Market B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Market B&B

Property: New Market B&B
Address: Historic Area 2nd and Lombard, Philadelphia, PA 19147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing