We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apple Hostels Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The staff were very helpful in planning my day and recommending where to go for lunch and dinner. The breakfast provided while basic was good.

I had a private room and my only criticism was the heating/cooling system was very noisy and was not able to be shut down.

Be aware the manger is over zealous and condescending with implementing rules. You are made to feel like a child.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

I've been to Philly 10-12 October 2013, had a great experiences in Philadelphia, the location of the hostel is very convenience to walk to many interesting places. Many good restaurants near by the hostel by just a few block.
Staff were all friendly and helpful.
Con : I couldn't sleep well because some hostellers talked too loud, somebody left the plastic bag in the shower room and made it dirty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherRies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, wish I could have stayed longer. The staff were incredible. One guy in particular that worked at the front desk (he also took the ghost tour) was extremely helpful and gave us some great ideas for a self-guided walking tour. He told us some incredible local places to check out and consequentially Philly is now one of my favourite cities in the US! The dorm room was great. There were about 20 beds, but I hardly noticed because it was so spacious. Bathrooms were clean and they had some good common areas and a great kitchen. The location is perfect, right in the historic district and half a block to the subway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We arrived early to Apple after getting the bus from NYC. It isnt too difficult to find if you look at the actual address as it does have the name of the street on the side of the building at the end of the street. It is down a back street but that works to its advantage too.It There was a place to put our bags and this wasnt a problem as our bags were safely tucked away into storage at no charge and we were free to come back in an hour. When we could check in it was easy and we were given a break down of where we were and what was going on thsi week in Philly. The staircase to the dorms is a bit steep and thin but i had a medium suitcase and got up and down fine. There is a code to each dorm and that doesnt change making it secure. The room was well furnished and clean. Be sure to talk to everyone as we had Australians, Kiwis, Bostonians, Chinese, Japanese, Colombians, Chileans and more in the room!

We took part in the bar crawl night that included free alcohol beforehand, our crawl was hosted by the owner of the hostel which made it great as he knew his way round well. The bars were cool, cheap and not too far away from each other. Movie Night was good too as everyone was invited to come down and socialise, the kitchen is spacious and kitted out well and the showers/bathrooms were clean and tidy.

Great access to the city too with the Rocky steps about 40 mins walk away and good access to the subway system.

Would definitely reccommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

As previous reviewers have said, apart from being a bit shabby, up an alley, and with an excess of narrow stairs, this is a fun place for young travellers. Couples, however, have a right to know that the 'couples dorm' is NOT a couples dorm. It is in fact a corner of a huge room of random people, and right beside a large locker area and entrance door used by all. The manager reckoned that a 'couple' may consist of as big a group as you like so long as there's one woman amongst them. He also insists that lone males are never admitted. So how come the dorm was largely filled with unrelated males, and we personally saw a lone male check in and get allocated to the couples dorm? The place is not bad - just hate being conned.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brit-oz-lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Philadelphia is such a great city with everything in walkable distance. Although it was a little tricky to find at first, the staff are very accommodating and friendly. Although the lack of warning about the ridiculous amount of steps was a bummer. The arrangement is typical dorm style and everyone staying there was sociable and friendly. My friend and I had a great time and we hope to return!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Flo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

At first we thought we would never physically find this hostel, as it was unclear as to where exactly it was (up a side street between two main roads), but once there we had a good time. We spent just one night in Philadelphia, and the friendly staff ensured that our short stay was an enjoyable one. The staff at reception were full of information about the city, and free maps and pamphlets were provided which illustrated the wealth of sights to see. Our room was a mixed couples dorm, and was comfortable (with bunk beds) and included lockers, although if you did not have a padlock with you, a vending machine in the building sold them for $5. The kitchen facilities were spacious, and contained more than enough utensils to accommodate the number of people staying, even including a vending machine which dispensed cold drinks, and popcorn to put in the microwave. The living area was a little small, but due to our short stay this was not an issue. One thing we did take advantage of was the washing facilities available at the hostel, which (for $5), could be used to wash and dry your clothes in under two hours (and this was much needed by the time we arrived!). The staff are in control of the lights in the hostel, which was useful as some guests were in Philadelphia to sample the clubbing scene, and returned at 3am, but the lights were turned off at 11pm in order to ensure that all residents had a good night sleep (personal lamps were also available). Overall, this was a comfortable place with friendly faces and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crismurphy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn Center City
#56 of 88 in Philadelphia
559 reviews
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 88 in Philadelphia
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Hostels Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Hostels Philadelphia

Address: 32 S Bank St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2811 (Formerly Bank Street Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Philadelphia
Price Range: £20 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Apple Hostels Philadelphia 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Hostels is the only hostel in downtown Philadelphia, close to all major attractions and the best bars and clubs in Philly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Apple Hostels Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Hostels Of Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing