We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hostel that seeks its equal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apple Hostels Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hostel that seeks its equal”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed at Apple Hostels Philly for 3 nights and I gotta say I enjoyed every single minute here! The staff is super friendly, offers help wherever you might need it, tips to where to go and what's worth visiting in the city, which restaurants are good/cheap...
The activities are cool, too, probably also because they top it with free beer here and there!
On top of all this, it is really clean. The kitchen is probably the cleanest and best stocked kitchen I have ever seen in a Hostel!
They just offer so many things and all with this unparalleled ease and fun in what they are doing!
Simply wonderful and definitely recommendable!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babs_Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    128
    28
    13
    12
See reviews for
8
29
178
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I've been staying in hostels since my long gone youth and came away from this hostel feeling it was the best I had visited. Each staff member was extremely friendly and helpful in accommodating needs and giving great suggestions of what to see and do in the city. Very clean, excellent kitchen, brilliant location. I hope I get to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hostel was GREAT! it is super clean, the staff is amazing and there is lots to do in the hostel if you happen to catch a snowstorm or rainy day. I was in town for 2 days and really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Nice staff, very clean and with a cool modern look. The common areas were always very clean, the kitchen has all the supplies you need to cook, even spices (that was really appreciated) and sandwich bags.

The location is very good (we walked everywhere but if you want to use public transport, the subway and buses are really close by). They also have cool activities (such as pub crawls, free pasta diner, ghost tour for $2, movie nights, etc) and free tea and coffee all day.

Things I didn't like:

- You have to go up a really narrow stair (we stayed in the coed room and you have to climb a lot of stairs!)

- The rooms were really hot (even though outside it was not warm). They have AC but when we asked to turn it on they told us that they turn it on after 6 pm (so that was really stupid, because we wanted to take a quick nap to go and explore the city)

-There is a women bathroom inside the coed room, so it was usual to find a guy inside (even though the bathroom was for women)

- The common bathrooms that were upstairs needed some cleaning (they usually clean very often the kitchen and the common areas but in my opinion they didn't take enough care of these bathrooms)

-They turn off the lights with a key at 11 pm (so you cannot manipulate the lights) that was really annoying especially because we were the only guests in our room and they turned off the lights anyway.

The hostel was really good, the details I mentioned bothered me but there are not reasons not to stay here. I would definitively recommend it and I would stay here again if I come back to Philly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vero156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This is the first time I travel alone so I was a bit scared of what it would be like, and one of my main concerns was the hotel. So I packed extremely light (I only came for the weekend and spent one night) do that I could carry my bag with me at all times and still tour the city in case the hostel turned out to be less than pleasing. But I was wrong. Except for some hair found in the shower and the women's bathroom floor, everything was quite clean. I even sent pictures of the place to one of my neat freak friends. In order to enter the rooms you need to enter a code, so it is reasonably safe. There's always sb at the ftont desk, at least during waking hours. The kitchen is pretty well equipped. There are: large/small bowls, silver ware, plates, spices, pots and pans, appliances, cups, glasses, foil & plastic wraps, paper and plastic bags, etc. In the mornings there is free cereal and milk. Also cofee and tea bags. In the living area, there's a tv, chess board, metegol (sorry!don't know the word in English for it), a wii, computers. Oh, the internet connection is strong and I didn't have trouble once. If there is one thing that brought me trouble, was finding the hotel in the first place! Bank st is only two blocks long and quite far away fron the bus station at 30th st. Ah, I almost forgot about this. There's bar opposite and the music might be loud. I don't know, I didn't happen to hear anything but fyi, there are earplugs. available. I'm sure there are more things to say but I can't remember them. Oh well, I hope this will help you picture what this place is like.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here over the weekend, in the women's dorm. The hostel is clean, the staff are friendly and helpful. I personally liked that the lights are turned off at 11pm it means you aren't disturbed by others who come in later. The hostel is also close to all the attractions of the historic area of town with plenty of public transport nearby. Definitely staying here again when next in Philadelphia!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This is the 4th time I've brought a group of exchange students from the UK to the hostel. We stay for a week each time and have always enjoyed our time in Philly. The hostel caters perfectly for our needs and the staff have always been attentive and incredibly friendly. The location of the hostel is ideal for the attractions and close to some great bars and restaurants.

I look forward to returning in 2015!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Unipete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
0.2 mi away
Penn's View Hotel
Penn's View Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Hostels Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Hostels Philadelphia

Property: Apple Hostels Philadelphia
Address: 32 S Bank St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2811 (Formerly Bank Street Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Apple Hostels Philadelphia 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Hostels is the only hostel in downtown Philadelphia, close to all major attractions and the best bars and clubs in Philly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Apple Hostels Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Hostels Of Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing