We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apple Hostels Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst travelling around.

Place is lovely lots of communal things to do and great way to meet others travelling, they also have 1 activity a day which is good! Staff are really friendly too!

Rooms are as you would expect for a hostel, but it is just one big room (that is for the code room anyway)

Location is really good in the old part of town which has some lovely bars and restaurants near by, also can get the Phlash bus which takes you all round the city for $2.50 per trip.

Be advised if you have big and heavy luggage can be a pain as there are only stairs to the room and they are quite narrow.

All in all a lovely please to stay

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshie_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    131
    28
    13
    12
See reviews for
9
30
182
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

18 people to a room, but surprisingly we felt most safe here rather than 2 of us in a 4 bed. Showers are clean though breakfast options are limited to cereal. Good use of kitchen and fridges etc. good location and the bar crawl was great fun! Would recommend. But be prepared for the hugeeee rooms.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Beeks873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Apple Hostel was an excellent place to stay in Philadelphia. It was centrally located, easily accessible from the main train station, and had friendly and helpful staff. The Ghost Tour was particularly good: an excellent blend of sight-seeing and not-too-meandering stories.

Although the dorm room was very large, all of the guests were considerate. There was no outside noise, and both my friend and I found it easy to get to sleep.

I would definitely return to this hostel in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aonene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at the Apple Hostels in downtoan Philly for almost a week. This was my first stay in a hostel set up outside of India, and must say it's an experience worthy of having. Here're the positives and negatives of the my experience at the hostel.

Positives

1. Very professional and friendly staff. They won't get tired of giving the same instruction over and over again to the flux of people staying at the hotel. Minimal intervention, and creates a very casual environment. Helping and advising when asked for, and befriends you instantly.

2. Great location. The second best options in the area would cost you anywhere upwards of USD 150 per night. Right in the historical district of Philly, and walking distance from city centre and Penn's Landing area. Wonderful location for eating, shopping, and site seeing.

3. Wonderful set of activities planned for each day, ranging from wine and cheese nights to pasta parties and beer night. All for free! Helps build a camaraderie amid the visitors from almost all conceivable cultures and age groups.

Negatives:
1. The dorms are small and congested.
2. Didn't see sanitizing the dorms, for the week that I stayed there for. With people using the place for a night sleep the dorms need cleansing once in a while.
3. Very narrow staircase, making it difficulty to take the luggage upstairs to the dorms, or even for two people to cross at the stairs.

In all a great option for a single traveller to Philly to wants to stay in a room just for sleeping.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PavanSoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It was great staying in the Apple Hostel for the first time in my life. The best part is it is located in the center of the city and has easy access to public transportation. I found it clean and peaceful. It would be unfair if I don't mention Bradley's name the front desk staff who had made my stay enjoyable and wonderful. Thanks Bradley for your great customer service and I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhanisha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The fist time that I went there it was really amazing. All day there are an event in the hostel such as movie, drinks, music. People who work there are very friendly. I really enjoyed when I was there. I recommend Apple Hostels Philadelphia.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabriellasouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is an uber-clean, super cozy and quiet hostel. It's location is perfect for undertaking an old timy Philly tour or getting on the metro to go somewhere else. The female only dorm was large but super quiet. Brilliant extras - everyone gets their own little reading lamp to read or pack if needed before lights go on in the morning. Staff super courteous, knowledgable and helpful. Only downside was really slow and spotty internet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
0.8 mi away
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,052 reviews
1.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Hostels Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Hostels Philadelphia

Property: Apple Hostels Philadelphia
Address: 32 S Bank St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2811 (Formerly Bank Street Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Apple Hostels Philadelphia 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Hostels is the only hostel in downtown Philadelphia, close to all major attractions and the best bars and clubs in Philly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apple Hostels Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Hostels Of Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing