We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great find in a great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Inn
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great find in a great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2007

From the moment that I walked into the lobby, I felt like I was amongst friends. The front desk staff were so friendly and helpful on so many levels! They answered any/all questions, had tons of suggestions for places to eat in the neighbood, for all kinds of tastes and budgets.

The (FREE) internet was great. I used it in my room and in the lobby. Having some hand-held food (fruit, danish) always available just off the lobby was great too.

The room was on the small side, but that's fine by me. I'll take cleanliness over size any day! Plus, the ceilings were so high and the window was so big that it made up for any perceived size issues. The bed felt like it was going to be really hard, but I had a really great night's sleep.

I would definitely stay here again when in Philadelphia!

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff and hospitality. They put the "accommodate" into "accomodation"!
  • Disliked — Not the best neighborhood late at night...doesn't have anything to do with the hotel, just the location.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank starzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    763
    393
    81
    27
    27
See reviews for
203
537
150
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore MD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2007

Outstanding service at every level: checkin in, restaurant advice, knowledge of local events including art, music and theater, superb breakfast, and accommodating in every way. Best of all the price is highly competative.

  • Liked — Thoughtful service
  • Disliked — No on site parking
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Professor-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2007

Since March 2007 I have stayed in Philadelphia on 8 different occassions. Every time has been in a hotel and usually for more then one night. After reading many reviews about Alexander Inn I decided to book there and see for myself what the place was like. I did try to book it for a few stays during the summer, but they were totally full both times I tried.
Right now, for the price and amenities, I prefer Alexander Inn. I am booked there again in December for 2 nights, Don't know the history on this place, but it has been beautifully restored with an art deco flair. Furniture is mostly art deco and many pieces are top quality. Bathrooms are small but constructed with "real" tile and grout. Real wood in the hallways and elevator entry-ways. The place was restored to last for a while.
Soft furnishings do show some sign of wear as the rugs did have stains, but were clean (yes, this is possible). The same problem with the bedspreads. I admit I would like to see the blankets double-sheeted, which I might do myself when I arrive next.
Staff was great and very helpful. Breakfast was continental with great pastrys, cereals, plenty of fresh fruit, etc. The coffee was outstanding (at least the decaf that I had). I am strictly a Starbuck's decaf Sumatra drinker, so saying their coffee was good is quite a compliment.
The other hotels I have stayed at in center city Philly are: Doubletree Inn, Holiday Inn Express, Holiday Inn (historic), Hampton Inn. Doubletree and Holiday Inn (historic) are pricier and are quite expensive for breakfast. Hampton Inn location was a problem and was too expensive considering the lack of good management and safety problems. Holiday Inn Express was very worn, staff wasn't consistently helpful, on weekends extremely noisy (I thought a riot was going on outside until 3 AM), and pricey.
The Alexander Inn reminded me of favorite hotels that I've stayed at in both London, England and Prague, Czech Republic; clean, safe, breakfast provided, decorative, and affordable. Any problems that arise are taken care of quickly.
There was a cute little table that folded out from the wall with a bench to sit on in my room instead of a desk. It was great to use and then just fold away to give added space in the room.
This next stay is with my husband and 17 year old daughter along, so we'll see how they like the hotel.

  • Liked — Location and breakfast
  • Disliked — Worn bed spread and no coffee in room
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KCmusiclady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2007

A convenient location (two blocks from the new symphony hall) in a residential neighborhood close to restaurants and bars. Continental breakfast (sweet rolls, toast, bagels, coffee, juices, teas) and free internet access included. There is a small gym in the basement. The staff was very helpful and friendly, helping with directions and places to eat - a one page handout. The hotel is gay friendly in a gay neighborhood. The hotel was mixed while I stayed for 5 nights - everyone seemed to be very comfortable with one another.

  • Liked — Location, reasonable price
  • Disliked — The sweet rolls could have been sweeter!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jerrytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2007

I'm just saying the same thing as almost everyone else: I wish every city had an Alexander Inn, a beautiful old place on a quiet, tree-lined street in the center of Philadelphia. My single room was small, but the huge bay window, high ceilings, and intelligent planning made it seem spacious. It was silent all night. The amazingly kind staff recommended a cozy French restaurant--with an equally warm staff--for my dinner. The breakfast room was pretty and friendly. When colleagues attending the same academic conference, a few blocks away from the Alexander Inn, complained about their impersonal, expensive hotels, I tried not to look too smug. I plan to come back to Philadelphia to see some of the museums, and this is where I'll stay every time.

  • Liked — The staff, the decor, and the location
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkWrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2007

I spent 3 nights in a double/double corner room while attending a business meeting in early November. The room was fine, although the carpet had some shadowy stains that had been treated but not removed completely. The room had plenty of space (including a large bureau, two rather grimy armchairs, and a table), the décor was nice (with coordinated colors and wooden blinds in the windows), and the artwork in the room was extremely interesting. The bathroom, while small, was fine, although the walls could have used a good washing. (The wall color was a dark red, but spills and spots were still visible.) The bedsheets were just fine (they are a tan/beige color, which matches the room décor), but the blankets were the thinnest that I have ever seen. Because my room had no thermostat to control the heat and it was very chilly, I had to go down to the front desk to request a second blanket. The small space heater in the closet area did not work. The breakfast provided was fine, I thought; it is a generous continental breakfast that consists of carbohydrates (cold cereals, bagels, pastries, toast), yogurt, and fruit. The coffee and juices were very good. Front desk staff were always friendly, responsive, and extremely helpful.

The hotel is a 15-minute walk to Center City. And the area around the hotel has some interesting restaurants and antique shops. However, if I visit Philadelphia on business in the future, the price, location, and room would probably not lead me to choose the Alexander Inn over a larger hotel located closer to Center City.

  • Liked — Price, breakfast, and front desk staff
  • Disliked — Cleanliness could be improved; blankets are very thin
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AskingForHelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2007

A very small room, with a very hard undersized Queen bed, a wood bench was the only furniture in the room, a thru the wall air conditioner that sounded like a thrasing machine and you could not hear the TV, so we opened the screenless window and fought the mosquitoes for the rest of the night. The bath room flooded because the shower and the rest of the floor was one level. Checked out the next day and was charged an extra $75.00 for early check out. Very Sparton.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — A very small and Sparton room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BillybobCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Property: Alexander Inn
Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $119. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing