We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a luxury hotel but with all the amenities we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Milano, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not a luxury hotel but with all the amenities we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2008

The Alexander Inn is not a luxury hotel, but is a comfortable and welcoming inn in a quaint neighborhood. This small hotel is in a great location if you want to experience staying in a great neighborhood rather than a crowed business or tourist district. Great neighborhood restaurants. There is also plenty to do nearby and within walking distance. There are bigger, more expensive hotels just down the street, but this place is quiet, small and relaxing, convenient, reasonably priced, and with all the amenities we needed.
Some rooms may be small. It’s better to reserve a deluxe room : they're more spacious for just a few dollars more. Our king-bed room was a little small but not too bad, it was quiet, with free wireless and had bay windows with a great view of the Philadelphia skyline. The hotel was very clean and the staff always friendly and willing to give advice on great places to eat and fun things to do in the city. In the morning there is a great breakfast (toast, danishes, bagels, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt). Right around the corner from Antiques Row and only a few blocks from historic sites. The location of the Alexander is excellent as well, as you are only a few short blocks from great places to eat and the location of the hotel is very safe, too. I can honestly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Hotel reasonably priced with all the amenities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GORILLAS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    395
    82
    27
    27
See reviews for
203
539
152
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2008

I just stayed at the Alexander Inn during my visit to Philly. First of all, for the money I paid (approx. $107 per night not including tax), it is a very good value.

The Positives:
-terrific location and lovely neighborhood - an easy and enjoyable walk anywhere in the Downtown area;
-front desk friendliness - the General Manager, John (I think) is just such a friendly, helpful individual - he is a wealth of info about Philly and is a great resource;
-relatively quiet - although on a well-traveled street, it is a pretty quiet little Inn at night

The Less Than Positives:
-pillows are like bags of sand - bring your own!
-small rooms - but, hey, remember the PRICE!

Overall, I would return to the Alexander Inn as I felt I received good value for my money. It's not a luxury hotel, but is a comfortable and welcoming gem in a quaint neighborhood - that's good enough for me!!

  • Liked — location, price, friendliness
  • Disliked — pillows
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDiva51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2008

My fiance' and I stayed at the Alexander Inn for two nights as part of a weeklong visit to Philly. We felt welcomed by the staff and we appreciated the attention to detail in the lovely decor and restoration of an historic buliding. The hotel's location is absolutely perfect for walking out and enjoying the sights.

Everything was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was a nice touch. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location, decor
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nukegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2008

Lovely, hotel. Guys behind reception very friendly and helpful. . I got an impression that they really want their guests to have a great stay and are genuinely interested in making sure that you do

This hotel has free internet / computer access which amazed and pleased me.

Easy to walk to the Bell and Independence Hall from the hotel, plus South Street is also not too far, I walked to and from and enjoyed being able to look about the streets.

Strongly recommend a lunch stop at Reading Terminal Market....brilliant fresh food and something for everyone’s taste.

  • Liked — Felt safe
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank April-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2008

We stayed at the Alexander Inn during the hottest time of the year in Philly. The hotel and all it's employees are just great. The rooms are quite beautiful, much more than you would expect. Once you are in your room you forget that you are in the middle of this big noisy city. It is very peaceful and relaxing inside. There is also a gym and business center in the hotel that was also quite nice. Over all, the hotel is very clean, the staff is very helpful and I will go back any time I am in Philly. There is also plenty to do nearby and within walking distance. Yes there are bigger, more expensive hotels just down the street, but this place is quiet, small and relaxing.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, affordable.
  • Disliked — Nothing, there were no issues!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dave6503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2008

This small hotel is in a great location if you want to experience staying in a great neighborhood rather than a crowed business or tourist district. It is about a 10-minute walk from the Convention Center and the Market Street Subway. So you don’t have to pay for a taxi from the airport or train station if your luggage has good wheels.

Great neighborhood restaurants. At least two are BYOB and they don’t even charge a corkage fee! The state liquor/wine store is a bit less than a 10 minute walk away on Locust between 12 and 13 streets. They are open in the evening but close at 5 on Sunday.

Very clean. Small bathrooms but not a problem. Some rooms may be small. Splurge for a larger room – it’s still cheap. AAA 10% discount.

They have 2 free internet terminals which should have good availability for this 48 room hotel with free wifi in the rooms. Free printing of boarding passes but $1/page otherwise!

Very good breakfast as long as you are not low carb limited.

Reserve as soon as you can because there is great demand for this hotel with great value. Appears to have been renovated just a few years ago. Am looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
525 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2008

This is small boutique hotel is located within walking distance from the historic sites. We booked months ahead and had our choice of two rooms. We booked the smaller, less expensive room since we were just going to sleep there and the fellow told us it was the quieter of the two. It was workable, but it was one of the smallest rooms we have ever stayed in. As we walked passed the open doors of other rooms they seemed quite spacious, so that's something to consider. This hotel is located in an almost residential area. There are several restaurants within a few blocks. It is in the "gay district" but we didn't see any obvious signs of that other than the rainbows on the street names and the banners flying above the streets. The gentlemen at the desk were always helpful and informative. The breakfast was good. The only downsides that I can see (other than the size of the room) was getting the luggage into and out of the hotel. It's on a one way street and the loading zone is on the other side. When we arrived it was full and we had to double park. The other problem for me was that the wooden blinds don't really darken the room. It was a great stay and I would highly recommend this place. If it's full, I noticed there is a small Rodeway Inn around the corner you might try. The location was really helpful because driving and parking are really out of the question there.

  • Liked — The proximity to historic sites
  • Disliked — Loading zone to drop and load luggage
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Property: Alexander Inn
Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $125.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing