We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on an overnight before an international flight. Close to the airport via Septa train, in a great neighborhood, and the people here have great recommendations. Loved seeing the murals on South street. Walked to the Philadelphia history museum and the art museums. Love love love Philadelphia and this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WriterDianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    395
    82
    27
    27
See reviews for
203
539
152
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We recently stayed in Philly for a visit. We have stayed in 4 properties, all had their ups and downs, This one was the smallest hotel, was on a nice quiet street, Very, very personable, and eager to help, rooms were a little small and the amenaties were a little less than some of the upscale properties we stayed before. The biggest thing I missed was a coffee maker in the room. I left early enough in the morning that it would have really helped. You would have to look very hard to find a better bargain or deal over this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher has less street noise, and corner rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Location, cleanliness, excellent service--The Alexander has it all. I felt comfortable and welcomed upon my arrival and when I departed, was followed out the front door and pointed in the direction I needed to go. Have already recommended the Alexander to others and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wennett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

The Alexander Hotel is an older, boutique style hotel in a trendy, lively, old Philadelphia neighborhood. My wife and I spent two nights there in early November. Our stay there was comfortable, although the room and bathroom were very tiny. The breakfast offered was continental style, but good. The best part was the location. If you don't mind walking, it's a short distance from nearly everything we came to Philly for-the Historic area, market street, Reading market, Pats and Gino's, Morimotos (the Iron Chef), etc. Steps away are many fine restaurants, as well as shops and night-life opportunities. We used Trip Advisor's City Guide to plan our trip, and it was great. We recommend this hotel as a good base if you are a tourist in Philly.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SlomoRootlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for two nights - could easily have stayed longer! This is a boutique hotel with breakfast included. Rooms are not large (we had a double), but absolutely fine - great use of space! The shower is fantastic! Breakfast is generous and served in a gorgeous room - lovely furnishings and decorations. The location is fantastic - walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do - extensive selection of eateries and cafes. The neighborhood had a great vibe. A great place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The room was nice and cozy. The hotel by itself made it feel as if I time traveled to a different decade. My girlfriend and I choose the Alexander In because it right in the middle of the festivities for Outfest. The fact that they have snacks at all hours downstairs huge bonus and we were not expecting breakfast either. If anyone is looking for a place to stay in Philly stay here!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiJo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fiora, Italy
Level Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have decided to write another review because unfortunately too many places change and don't keep up their standards.Alexander inn still makes every guest feel special,the rooms are full of light and have a fantastic view,housekeeping is friendly and efficient and breakfast is good and coffee,etc are replenished immediately,unlike many fancy hotels.the location is perfect and safe.the price is right,too.john I miss you and the inn!

Room Tip: Get a corner room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Property: Alexander Inn
Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $125.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing