We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Hotel”
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the Alexander Inn this June. The hotel is beautifully decorated with an array of original artwork. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. However, one of the best elements of this hotel is the staff. They are more than willing to help you with anything you need. They definately made our stay enjoyable. This hotel is definately a must and I will be staying here whenever I come to Philadelphia!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BohemianBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    414
    83
    28
    29
See reviews for
215
563
160
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Our experience was so wonderful. We needed a place to stay (on 2 separate occasions) as one person in our party was undergoing medical procedures at Jefferson Hospital. We were treated so well, and were very comfortable in our rooms. Breakfast was great.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is the best hotel in Philadelphia. It is in a great trendy area with restaurants on all corners. The room I had at the hotel was a single: a queen bed in a petite room. Worked out perfectly. My only complaint is that I could hear my neighbors in the evening; I wasn't sure if they had their window open, were sitting on the fire escape or the walls are thin. Luckily, they didn't go on for hours. The front desk crew are awesome, helpful, and accommodating. I found out that the property is privately owned and not subject to increases in lease payment, ergo... the reasonable prices. This will be my go-to hotel if I am in Philly again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anglophile0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Only stayed 1 night but about 11 pm my partner was in the shower when I noticed on top of my suitcase looking at me was a mouse. It vanished as quick as it appeared but to where I don't know. I rang the front desk and informed them immediately but was told as the hotel was full there was nothing they could do about it and to mention it to the manager on checking out to see about a rate reduction. Needless to say we didn't sleep too good. On checking out we mentioned the little extra guest we had which the attendant was aware of but were still charged the full amount. Later we returned to pick up our bags and the little chap was running around the breakfast room having a ball. Pointed it out to the front desk once more as other guests had now noticed the visitor. It left us with the impression they know about it but there not going to do anything. The hotel is nice and the room was lovely (204) but wouldn't stay again after this experience and charged full rate for the privilege.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcochie, General Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
First, we would like to thank this guest for having chosen the Alexander Inn for their stay in Philadelphia.

Providing public accommodations in a 100+ year old building in the center of a bustling city comes with its delights and its opportunities.

Providing a clean, safe, and well-maintained property is a top priority for us. We take pest control seriously. Our maintenance programs include preventive pest control and protocols to deal with any possible breeches which can be exacerbated by the likes of drilling, utility work, construction, and jack-hammering in the neighborhood streets. Routine inspections, keeping the property as clean as possible, and having frank conversations about the issues with our guests are our most efficient weapons against pests. We are confident that, with these protocols, we do not have any infestation issues.

We are sorry that this guest felt that we did not take them seriously; and sorry that we could not have remedied this situation more quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a nice hotel in a good area. The staff could not have been more helpful, the complimentary breakfast was lovely and the rooms were comfortable. This hotel was within walking distance to a lot of the attractions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a little find! This hotel deserves its high ranking on Tripadvisor. Staff members were exceptional: highly organised, friendly, knowledgeable and pre-empted every possible query or request. The information re food outlets and things to do was spot on! Rooms are small but quaint and clean (nice towels). Breakfast included was more than adequate. Good location - walking distance to centre of town. Parking nearby was affordable and handy. Would definitely stay here again if in Philadelphia and wouldn't consider anywhere else. Great value. Thanks for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask the front desk questions - they have all the answers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary-Ellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Last month, in May, my husband and I took a trip to Philadelphia and stayed at the Alexander Inn near the historical area. The location, 12th Street and Spruce, is within walking distance to many major attractions. i.e. the Liberty Bell, Constitution Hall, Reading Terminal, the Academy of Music and many other sites. This boutique hotel is a lovely renovated historical building. They serve a very nice and adequte self-serve breakfast and they always have pastries and fruit available to guests. We also appreciated how clean and well-maintained it was. Public transportation is right on the corner and we were able to use it to get to the Italian Market for a great dinner at one of our favorite restaurants. The only downfall is that parking on the street anywhere around the hotel is nearly impossible. Parking is provided at a discounted rate in a parking garage that is a couple of blocks away. However, that being said, it was still a very nice place to stay. The staff is so wonderful. Everyone was helpful with suggestions and recommendations as to where to eat and what to see.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fl1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,067 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Property: Alexander Inn
Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $125.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing