We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel could use a "face lift"”
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Great location, lovely helpful staff, clean rooms, reasonable price so what more can you ask for? I would have liked a little renovation of rooms, carpets, bathrooms etc. Also "breakfast" is tiny selection of bananas and cereal. But worth the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 33map
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We love the Alexander Inn -- my family and I have stayed here on 2 occasions and have always been impressed by the comfort of the rooms and how well they are appointed; the generosity and quality of the continental breakfast; the centrality of the location; the price. In no other major city could you stay in one of the most charming neighborhoods in a well-appointed room for approx 150 a night.The staff is attentive and professional and parking is available at a reduced rate in a lot around the corner. The Alexander Inn, more than anything, reminds me of a family owned Paris hotel that we stayed in many years ago. It does not make a fetish of impersonal "luxury" the way so many corporate so-called boutique chains do; it does not have to work that hard. It is comfortable,charming, and independent (i.e, not a corporation -- which, for my family, matters)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueR62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed in a larger room with a king-sized bed. While the room and bathroom were a bit small, the overall room was very good for the price. Price was lower than most any other hotel and includes wifi and continental breakfast. Continental breakfast, if not fancy, is certainly fine. Service from the staff was very friendly and timely. The hotel is about 8-10 blocks south of downtown, so if you can handle the walk it is a decent location. Plenty of restaurants and bars within a six block radius.

Room Tip: Was on second floor, but street level noise was not really a problem. I was in one of the larger ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DBW1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were happy that we stayed here! Everything is great! The reception, the rooms, the area, the service. All day you can take 'sweet' snacks and fruit in the lounge. The breakfast is very good.
Very attentive personel. The area is dotted with good restaurants. We would certainly stay here again. The parking is cheap and easy to find.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anita-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at the Alexander! Arrived around 2pm by car and were able to unload our luggage and get it up to the room before parking the car a couple blocks away (secure garage, $15/night). We had a king room with great seating in front of bay windows - extremely clean and well appointed. Our room was on the 3rd floor right next to the elevator, which we thought may be noisy at night, but we never heard a thing. The location of the inn was perfect for walking just about anywhere - Italian Market (south side), Independence Mall area, Reading Terminal Market, City Hall, tons of restaurants, shopping. We took the subway (a short walk to Walnut/Locust station) to a couple Phillies games, and we took the Phlash over to the museum area one day. Excellent food everywhere we ate (Moriarity's, Mixto, Pat's, RTM, Brauhaus Schmitz...). We would love to visit Philadelphia again and spend more time, and we would definitely not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank demmer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed at Alexander Inn this May when we were visiting the U.S. for a vacation. This is definitely the best value for money hotel in Philadelphia. We reached 30th Street Station from DC by megabus and it was around $10 by taxi to the hotel. Centrally located and very close (just six small blocks away; around 8-10 minutes by walk) to Liberty Bell and Independence Hall. Further there are very good restaurants around. The hotel was very clean with all the modern amenities that one can find in any other 4/5 star hotel though on a smaller scale since this is a boutique hotel. We booked a Standard Queen's room (120 sq. ft.) through their website. This room was quite small but at $129 + taxes = $150 approximately a night we cannot find anything cheaper but of similar quality anywhere else in central Philly. If you wish you can upgrade to the bigger Queen or King rooms (around 50% larger) for $20-30 extra. Buffet breakfast was complimentary (a big factor in selecting this hotel) and comprised of bagels, cup cakes, eggs, fruits, juices, toast, cereals and coffee/tea. Further the snack bar is open day long with some cakes and fruits available round the clock in case one feels hungry. The service was fantastic with the front desk always ready to help out with the nearby sightseeing or eating options. Wifi strength was very good. Go for it - a charming and small hotel in a heritage building.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with Deluxe Queen or King bed for $20-30 extra if you do not want to feel too cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank abbh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were so happy. We arrived at 11am to drop our bags off but we're told our room was ready. Bonus! We were also told we could help ourselves to the breakfast if we wanted.
The rooms are clean and neat, the double bed is a good size and the hotel staff are so helpful, even suggesting routes for me to run.
Complimentary breakfast was nice and set us up for the day ahead.
Great location as well. Really can't find much/any fault. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Bridger79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#11 of 89 in Philadelphia
3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 89 in Philadelphia
5,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £97 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $125.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing