We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Free breakfast with your stay..only because the stuff is 3day's old not fresh..fruit fly's on the breakfast table...toilet overflow twice in my room..the little short man at the desk.was not helpful...

Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
2  Thank edsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,364)
There are newer reviews for Alexander Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2009

We had such a lovely time at the Alexander Inn. The rooms were lovely, the people were lovely, the breakfast was lovely, and the location was lovely. We'd stay there again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scambel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

What a gem of a hotel. The hotel was spotless. The rooms were very comfortable. I can't say enough about the ambiance and the service. The staff was extraordinarily pleasant and helpful. It was such a pleasant overnight experience and I would recommend it to anyone spending time in Philly.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheepgirlnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

The impeccable staff and perfect location made our stay at the Alexander Inn during the NCAA March Madness basketball games in Philly ideal. Staff went out of their way to advise us on best downtown travel routes and restaurant recommendations. The breakfast buffet was quite lovely. But the hotel needs a real reno: bedding is tired (no pun intended), carpeting worn, and tv has poor reception. With a new flat scree set in each room and fabulous 300-count thread sheets and comforters, the place will sparkle. It's still the best bargain in Philly.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We took this trip to see some American history and to decide once and for all who had the best Philly Cheese Steak.

We chose the Alexander Inn because of its high ranking on tripadvisor and because of the price. We paid some where around a hundred bucks for a weekend night and we thought it was worth it.

Although, the room we were in was a bit small (even for our NYC standards) we found the place to be cute, clean, and located within walking distance to most everything. Gino's and Pats were a short cab ride away.

If you would like to see a video from our trip and a more detailed article from our trip visit our website FrankandMeg.com

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankenMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

The building is on the historical register. It is a little creaky and some things are worn. However, everything is clean. The location is ideal for the theater and antique shopping. We wouldn't be surprised if everyone on the staff was an owner of the inn because all seemed to take a personal interest in the needs of the guests. It really was more like a B&B than a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stepitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2009

The entire friendly and most helpful staff , the decor, the ambience, the location, the extensive breakfast selection....can't be beat. We had the most enjoyable hotel stay ever and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 95,014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 87 in Philadelphia
5,283 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £118 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $125.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing