We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,463)
Filter reviews
1,463 results
Traveller rating
856
454
94
29
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
856
454
94
29
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelbay windowcontinental breakfasthard boiled eggswithin walking distanceyogurtdiscounted parkingcenter citysingle roomrooms are smallfew blockskimmel centergreat boutiquewalked everywherechain hotelssouth streetnice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 1,463 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Visited the City of Brotherly Love to see an NFL game with my son. We really had a great time. Philly takes a little getting used to for first time visitors as far as driving, one-way streets, parking, etc. but we couldn't have picked a better place.
The only gripe I would have is the TV reception. Now most of vacation time is out of the room, but when relaxing at the hotel, I'd like to see a quality picture and a little better choice of channels. I know... it's a small thing but fixable. Yes, the hallways and bathrooms are small/narrow but the hotel was built in 1900. Continental breakfast was fine. Good coffee. The guy at the desk (Joe) was awesome at giving directions and suggestions. All of the employees were very friendly and kind. I am not from a big city so it was a new and fun experience. Thank you for a super pre-Xmas weekend.

Room Tip: Judging by the fire-escape map in the hall, pick a room with 2 beds. Bring a good GPS to get around!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thank you for writing. GO EAGLES! Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Stayed here with my partner while I attended a conference a few blocks away. The hotel is lovely, the front desk and all staff are fantastic! We had a nice view of the Philly skyline. Breakfasts each morning were much more than expected. Yes, some of the rooms are rather small, but you'll be out sightseeing all day. Would not hesitate to stay at the Alexander Inn again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DanishMermaid71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for writing and the 5 stars. Hope you return soon. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights while in Philly and it was a perfect small hotel in a great location. Rooms were small, but that's to be expected when the building is more than 100 years old! Everything was clean, the staff were great and I loved the small waiting room / lobby - it always felt so cozy. The location is great, on a charming corner in Washington Square West. It was super cold when we were there so we didn't walk as many places as we had hoped but in warmer weather it's would have been a lovely stroll between sights.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Philly particularly if you are budget conscious.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you for writing, so happy your enjoyed your visit to Philly. Come back in the spring when the weather breaks and enjoy the many sights we have here. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Alexander Inn prides itself on providing their patrons the presence of what the early twentieth century would feel like upon entering their doors. Right down to the squeaking floors, narrow stairwells, low ceilings, courtesies, that over 100 years ago, would be evident, the Alexander Inn graces the narrow, old streets Philadelphia with an old-fashioned approach to travelers.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank Alvin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you for writing and the five stars. So glad we could introduce you to time travel! Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

Wonderful small hotel in a perfect location. Clean, nice lounge/breakfast area. If forced to find a flaw, it would be low def tv reception in rooms. Nevertheless, this is a perfect and affordable hotel for visitors to Philadelphia.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thank you for writing and the five stars. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews