We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stumbled upon this place [online] as so many of the hotels in the area were already booked; so glad I did! The B&B is housed in two traditional row houses built in the mid 1800's, and it's in THE perefect location~t's just two blocks from Rittenhouse Square. There are many little café's and coffee houses right in the area surrounding La Reserve.

The entire staff was very friendly and accommodating, from the front desk folks to the cleaning gals to the chef! Our room was immaculate and huge, and it had an interior door that could be opened to the next room~since it was family, it worked out great for us. [The shared door locks on both sides.] The bathroom was so clean, kept that way at all times... the towels were fluffy and smelled great [not the typical kind of burned smell you get at some hotels]. They provided soap and shampoo, and there was a hair dryer in the bathroom as well. The bed was very comfortable, and our air-conditioner kept the room perfectly cool.

The continental breakfast during the week was sufficient and good... yogurt, granola, cereal, a few different types of bread and English muffins for toasting, homemade breakfast bars or muffins each day, I believe you could get oatmeal as well. Coffee and tea and hot chocolate were available from 6:30 a.m. until the evening, and at some point after breakfast they put out fresh homemade cookies. The cooked breakfast on the weekends was excellent... there was actually a menu and you could choose from eggs, pancakes, french toast, and always a special~Sunday morning we had fresh blueberry stuffed crepes with orange zested marscapone cheese!! Delicious! [Kudos to the chef!!] Sausage or bacon and toast came with it, and cereal was still available. For the weekend breakfast you did need to sign up for a specific time; you can do that the night before.

Yes there is some creaking of floor boards but that's part of the charm of these older homes! Check out the interesting books in the sitting room, lots of information on Philadelphia and its history. They even have a grand piano you can use! I agree, it would not be a good choice for anyone who could not do stairs. Overall it was a great stay and a great experience! We plan to stay again next time we're in Philadephia!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kargalvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

We really liked our stay at La Reserve; the B&B is very homely and the staff are really friendly.

The location is perfect for exploring the centre of Philadelphia.

Our room was really nice but did get very warm despite having air-con. The shared bathroom was kept clean and we never had to wait to use it.

The continental breakfast was good with lots of variety.

The accommodation is laid out over a number of floors and there is no elevator so be prepared to carry your luggage up several flights of stairs if you have a room at the top of the building.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobeleast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were very happy with our stay. The room was really nice and the location was perfect. It's within walking distance of antique row and rittenhouse square. There is a nearby parking garage that is $20 per 24hours. We walked all over and left our car parked the entire time. The B &B itself is very nice. Check-in and out was fast and easy and the staff was nice. The breakfast on weekdays is nothing special but it works. There is coffee and tea available all day and yummy cookies in the afternoon. Our room was amazing! We stayed in the Saratoga Suite. It had a really nice kitchen and bathroom and a roomy sitting area. The bed was comfy. We could hear the people above us walking around which was a small drawback but is by no means a deal breaker. We loved staying here and would come back to stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rahorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Overall this was an excellent choice for Center City Philadelphia. It is a traditional row house about 2 short blocks from Rittenhouse Square which is an excellent location. While not cheap, it is certainly a very reasonable price for that area. Very clean and nicely decorated, our room (Chatham) was actually a suite, almost a small apartment with a kitchenette. It was on the 3rd floor and with no elevator, that could be an issue for some. My only complaint was that the included breakfast was pretty lame. During the week it is continental, which is fine, but was actually not as good as even the cheap chain hotels. Weekends feature a full breakfast which we did not get a chance to experience. The other problem was that the dining room was too small to accomodate the number of guests so both mornings we were there, we were relegated to the living room which was suboptimal. Should at least have some folding tables they could put out when the need arises. Overall, it is a very good place to stay with an outstanding location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BbrgBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherri H, General Manager at La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you very much for your compliments about La Reserve. I am glad to hear you had a good experience with us and visit to Philadelphia. I also appreciate your feedback on your dining experience at our B&B. During our transition to continentals from full hot breakfast during the week, we have received guest feedback and suggestions that has helped us in improving our breakfast offerings. Our typical American continental consists of muffins, scones, and other baked pastries that our staff members work hard to bake in-house from scratch. We also have available, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, different bread selections, and bagels & cream cheese, cereals, granola, apples, oranges, and bananas.

We appreciate your suggestions regarding breakfast seating. We are in the process of improving our seating arrangement to make our guests more comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My son (27), husband and I recently spent three nights at La Reserve. This was our first visit to Philadelphia, and we were very pleased with LaReserve. The location was excellent, and we were able to walk everywhere. My husband and I were in the Grand Dame- a large room near the back of the property with a large private bath. Our son was down the hall in the Marquis- lovely room with lots of windows of but shares a bath with another room. We found the rooms to be very comfortable and pretty quiet. The continental breakfast on Friday am was more than adequate with homemade muffins and coffee cake, but the hot breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday were excellent. You had several choices, and the breakfasts were cooked to order. The front desk was helpful and printed a number of things for us. We found several excellent restaurants within walking distance of LaReserve. Overall, it was a great weekend, and I would highly recommend LaReserve.

Room Tip: grand Dame is roomy with large bath. Did not see any rooms other than the Marquis (lovely room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhe738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I want to start by saying that the only reason I feel I cannot give this an excellent is that the mattress on the bed needs to be replaced. We stayed in the Independence room. The mattress was a little like a hammock and the bed wobbled. We did sleep pretty well, though. We stayed 3 nights and got used to it.

The room itself was wonderful You will rarely find rooms this spacious in even the luxury hotels in Philadelphia. The room is furnished with remarkable antiques and old furnishings that are both unique and functional. Our room included a kitchenette with full size stove and refrigerator. We stayed here only because hotels were booked solid and asking outrageous prices due to a convergence of several conventions in town at the same time. La Reserve had rooms available at no more expensive than even modest hotels at this time, so we took a chance. We were in town for our daughter's wedding.

Breakfast on the weekends includes cooked to order hot meals, so you select your serving time. We met wonderful quests from around the world and the food, though not outstanding, was very good. The continental breakfast the other day was certainly adequate, if not remarkable. We especially enjoyed the fact that fresh fruit was always out on the table in a bowl.

The lobby area is really an enormous siting room, with a baby grand piano if you are so inclined. We found out that the night before we stayed, a student from the Curtis Institute who's parents were visiting had done his senior recital. I would have loved to encourage him to play for us!

The staff were all wonderful and the rooms were kept very clean and comfortable.

It is a little spendy, but if you have the means, this is a great place to stay in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Each room is different, some are 2 room suites, 2 rooms share a bath, but the price is lower. Ask ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkrissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Very Victorian inside! Great location -- quiet neighborhood but within walking distance to a lot of restaurants and businesses. And it's reasonably priced - often it's cheaper than most hotels around the city. It's great to find a non-chain place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieP436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,395 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,396 reviews
University City
The Gables Bed and Breakfast
The Gables Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Philadelphia
287 reviews
Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 25 in Philadelphia
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1804/1806 Pine St., Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range: £70 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Reserve consists of two beautifully well-preserved, 1850's Four-Story Townhouses located only three blocks from Rittenhouse Square in the Heart of Historic Center City Philadelphia. Our convenient location is within walking distance to many exclusive shops and fine restaurants located on Rittenhouse Square, as well as many major Philadelphia Historic attractions and sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Center City Hotel Philadelphia
La Reserve Center City b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing