We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, comfortable bed!”
Review of The Windsor Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Windsor Suites
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We arrived Philadelphia by Amtrak and took a cab to Windsor, Cost was about $7.00 for two.We received our room, dropped our bags, and headed back downstairs to the pub. Terrific selection of beers and ales on tap, and surprisingly, were moderately priced for a city location. We ordered a burger and asked to split it - pleased that we were served with separate plates, burger was halved and french fries split, too! Room key gives you 15% off the food portion, so this was a decent place to get a bite late at night.right in the hotel and not get gouged.
We received an "upgraded" suite with a separate bedroom. It was huge and featured a nice view of the Basilica. Kitchen facilities including stove, microwave, refrigerator, plates, utensils were present, and while we did not utilize them, a longer stay would find these features very handy.
King bed was very comfortable, unlike so many hotels who have mediocre beds,
Safe did not work.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobblevins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Bobblevins,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We are pleased you had a great stay, and enjoyed the restaurant as well as our amenities and location. Please do accept our apologies for the issue with the safe. Our team is always ready to fix any issues reported by our guests, as your comfort is our primary goal.
Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Location is the financial district. Close to sites, restos, etc by public transportation, car or cab. Parking(valet) costs 35$ per day with in/out privileges. We were attended to and received our car promptly. Checkin was problem free. All of the staff were friendly, some more than others. We received good directs and recommendations for sites and restos. We had a one bedroom suite. Fully equipped kitchen. 25 x 30 living space, avg size bedroom, bath. Enjoyed our stay. Only downside was the gym: Sparsly equipped but with good equipment. Two treads, a bike or two, universal cable cross machine, no free weights. Work is being done so I guess improvements are on the way. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear andrelee,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. You are correct, we have been doing some well needed sprucing up of our gym. I am not sure if one or two pieces of equipment were removed to facilitate this when you were there, but we do maintain a minimum of three treadmills, plus bikes, free weights, and several other pieces in our gym. We hope you'll like the upgrades on your next visit. Thank you for staying with us!
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for our first ever time in Philadelphia. We were so impressed, our room was huge and we had a full kitchen and fridge if we decided to cook. The location was perfect, right in the heart of everything. We ate in the Asian restaurant attached to the hot as we only had one night in Philly, and it was delicious and super cheap!! It was so lovely to sit outside also and watch the city go by as we enjoyed our meal! Would definitely return!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LeanneandAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear LeanneandAndrew,
We are always thrilled when our guests leave us happy. Thank you for sharing your great comments. We would love to have you again, so please call us directly so that we can help you plan your next visit.
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon!
Regards,
The Windsor Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Good central location and lovely swimming pool on the roof, the rooms are spacious and decently appointed. The entire stay for us was marred by the all pervading tobacco smoke smell that pervaded the hotel and totally ruined by the extremely rude and unhelpful staff including the manager.

If I was only thinking of location then I'd recommend it, but as an overall package I certainly wouldn't.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestieHenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear WestieHenners,
Thank you for staying with us recently, and for your review. We are disappointed that you were not happy with our accommodations, and we apologise that things did not go as expected. We are a completely non-smoking hotel, and for the comfort and safety of our guests, we employ a zero tolerance to any hint of smoking in the building. We also do apologise for any unfortunate behaviour you experienced from our staff. We have reached out to you for assistance with additional details which we will use to identify areas for retraining. We hope you will help us in that regard.
Thank you for choosing us. We hope that you will reconsider us for a future stay.
Regards,
The Windsor Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our view was City Hall, a beautiful building, we just couldn't stop looking at it! We came from touring New York to Philadelphia so it was like going from a shoe box to a mansion in room size! The room we had (2 double beds) was large, very large, lots of walk space between the beds and at the end of the beds. Large walk in cupboards too. The kitchen was an absolute bonus, nice to be able to cook a bit of breakfast to start the day especially after going 8 days without this option. We only had one problem and that was when they lost power in the early hours of the morning, don't know whose fault it was but it was a bit of a problem as the air con went out but it didn't last too long fortunately. Valet parking next door was brilliant, so super easy and the staff there were very friendly. There is a pub/restaurant below the hotel which we went to for dinner twice and had great meals. Hubby went there for a night cap most nights and also found it to be a good experience. Yes, I would return to the Windsor Suites, it's an easy walk to the Franklin museum, the Eastern State Penitentiary, the city centre and the city market.

Room Tip: A room with a view at the front of the hotel is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Louby76,
We are so pleased you had a great stay with us recently, and that you have chosen to share your comments with the Tripadvisor community. Our spacious rooms and fully equipped kitchens, as well as our convenient location always combine to make us an appealing hotel choice. We are thrilled when our guests are able to take advantage of all that we have to offer.
Thank you again for staying with us.
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked this hotel as a last resort and boy was my initial instinct not to stay there correct! Admittedly the room was clean and adequate (no hangers in the closet but that was quickly remedied). The real problem was that at 7 :30 on Sunday morning the fire alarm went off, woke us up from sound sleep and we were left hanging without poor instructions as to what to do. We were told to wait in our room, which is what we did even though the fire instructions on the door say go to the fire stairwell and evacuate. We waited and waited and waited. Meanwhile various alarms intermittently went off but no one told us anything else to do. Finally after about 1 hours and countless alarms, I called the front desk and was told by the perky receptionist that it was a false alarm. Why weren't we contacted? While relieved that there was no fire or other danger, I think it is outrageous that we were not better informed. We felt abandoned on the 16th floor. If there had been a real siuation someone (us) might have been hurt. I think a hotel has an obligation to take care of guests more responsibly than this one. You shouldn't have to sacrifce your safety when you stay in a hotel.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaysy700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Gaysy700,
Thank you for your frank comments with regards your recent stay with us. Please be assured that our number one priority is the comfort and safety of our guests. We sincerely regret the disturbance created by the fire alarm, which reacted to a perceived threat. While we were relieved that there was not an actual fire, we have taken note of your concerns, and we are actively working on improving our communications to better update and reassure all our guests.
Please accept our apologies that your stay did not go as expected. We thank you for staying with us, and for your feedback.
Best regards,
The Windsor Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived at the Windsor at around 10pm after a delayed flight. The man working at the desk at night of the January 4th did not seem hospitable. Maybe it was his demeanor but I didn't think anything of it being a born and raised Philadelphian. We booked our room through PriceLine at a pretty decent rate so I handed the man my ID and credit card and he went typing away at his keyboard. He asked if I had the reservation in a paper form or in my email. I said yes, do we need it? Never in my check-in process unless going to an all-inclusive resort or local bed and breakfast did I need to provide documentation about my stay. After all, everything we needed was right on his computer including my full name, address, and credit card. After I finally brought out my phone to look for the reservation he said don't worry about it, I will just call you if we have an issue, whats your cell phone number? I gave the man my cell phone number but informed him it is 10pm at night and I would rather not be called until 9am the next day.

We went up to the room which was actually pretty nice. Balcony with a full size kitchen. There was plenty of closet space given that this location could be used for extended stays. The bathroom was also clean and up to date. The TV remote didn't work but that's no big deal since I was shortly going to head off to bed.

At around 6:30am-7am the fire alarm went off and the recorded voice informed us that the fire alarm went off but please stay in our rooms. I understand things like this happen and I would rather be safe than sorry so I get on my pants and jacket and prepare to head down if it comes down to it. Around 7:30am there was no more alarms. Were we okay to stay here or did I miss a memo? I feel like an "all clear" on the intercom to all rooms would have been the way to go and put me back into comfort. As I walked to the hotel room door I noticed a paper on the ground. It was a bill for $162 and some change. I really did not understand why I was being charged this amount since I paid in full on PriceLine. At this point between the check in, the alarm miscommunication and this bill I headed down to the lobby where the front desk clerk wasn't sure why this was charged but he would let his supervisor know but he saw that I paid on PriceLine. This man was very helpful out of all staff.

I checked out shortly after and headed to another hotel nearby that would let me check-in early. I would only return to this place if I needed an extended stay or all other hotels were sold out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Nick S,
Thank you for staying with us recently, and for sharing your comments. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced, and that your stay did not go as expected.
We have reviewed your concerns, and discovered that at the time of check-in, we had not yet received from your booking source the complete information needed to process your reservation. This resulted in our Front Desk agent asking for additional information from you, so that we could follow up with your booking agency. This was not resolved in a timely manner, and unfortunately our automated system generated the bill which you received. Again, we apologize for that complication, as our aim is to make your stay as seamless and comfortable as possible.
We have noted your comments about the fire alarm, and have forwarded them to our Engineering Department and the fire alarm company to improve our notifications, thus assuring the comfort and confidence of our guests.
We are happy to note that you found our guest room comfortable, and suitable for an extended stay.
Nick, the management and staff of The Windsor Suites take all our guests’ feedback to heart. We use the reviews, both positive and negative, as tools to help us improve our service. We thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention, and assure you that we will be addressing each one.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Please feel free to contact us directly for assistance with making future reservations.
Thank you for staying with us.
Regards,
The Windsor Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,552 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2735 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £95 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windsor Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DOWNTOWN PHILADELPHIA HOTEL - UNIQUE URBAN HOTEL SUITES Experience modern urban living at The Windsor Suites, your home away from home in downtown Philadelphia. A perfect blend of modern comfort and authenticity, our hotel captures the spirit of discovery and innovation instilled by Benjamin Franklin. Discover the city as you walk out our front doors and visit any one of the renowned arts and cultural destinations at your fingertips, such as The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Comcast Center, and Rittenhouse Square. Our spacious studio and one-bedroom suites feature fully equipped kitchens, living and dining space, and breathtaking skyline views to suit both business and leisure travelers. Savor traditional Irish cuisine at Con Murphy's, stay connected in our fully equipped business center, or host an event in the flexible 1,900 square foot meeting space. When it is time for fitness and wellness, re-charge in our fitness center, or lounge by our rooftop pool overlooking the city. Regardless of your purpose for visiting Philadelphia, you'll find that Windsor Suites embodies the genuine warmth and pride that our great city is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing