We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location/ View great stay!”
Review of The Windsor Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Windsor Suites
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Location/ View great stay!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The location was great for walking everywhere and having a kitchen was huge bonus. This is not directly in the historic district, but right on the edge with good access to get everywhere. Walked to museums, restaurants, and waterfront daily. Also has great access to medical center.

Room Tip: Great views from higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVerbsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear SVerbsky,
Thank you for your review of your stay at The Windsor Suites. We are happy that you found our location convenient for walking about the city, and that you were able to take advantage of the fully equipped kitchen in your suite.
Please stay with us again soon. We look forward to having you.
Best regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    457
    116
    54
    40
See reviews for
385
370
83
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed on a Philly overnight package that included 2 nights for $400 with parking.
It was a great deal.

Service: wonderful and attentive staff who greeted us each time we got off the elevator.
Rooms: very nice setup with kitchen, large walk in closets and a vanity. The only issue we had was that we went on a warm weekend and were located on the 15th floor. It was relatively warm in the room so we tried turning on the a/c; however, we were told by the front desk that they don't have a/c and we should open the windows. This bothered us a bit because we were traveling with a toddler and were placed on a high floor.
Business center: very small but equipped with 2 desktops.
There are so many hotels in Philly that we might return only if there was a discount package.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYEYEDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear JAYEYEDEE,
Thank you for staying with us recently. We are happy you found us to be a great deal, and recognized our staff for the attentive service you received.
Unfortunately, during your stay a glitch in our cooling system affected our ability to cool our rooms efficiently. We are happy to let you know that it has now been fixed. We do appreciate your patience, and offer our apologies for the inconvenience.
Thank you again for choosing The Windsor Suites. We hope you'll take advantage of one of our great package deals on our website for your next visit to Philadelphia.
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for two nights with our family of four (two teens). The location was great - easy walking to lots of restaurants and local museums. The room seemed fairly large for a downtown hotel, and had two big closets. The kitchen was helpful to have - so we could eat breakfast in our room - although there is no place to sit to eat really in the room. We used the Visit Philly package to get a package with parking. The hotel is about three blocks from a subway station, so we didn't even use our car.
The staff at the Windsor Suites was very friendly and accommodating, and greeted us every time we came in. We used the fitness room and it was fairly well stocked with good space. We went up to the rooftop pool, which doesn't open until Memorial Day, but the view was great. The AC wasn't on yet, but we were able to open windows to cool the room, and it's nice to have the fresh air. However, there are no screens, so if you had little kids, you probably wouldn't want the windows open.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beerquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Beerquist,
Thank you for your great review. We love when our guests are able to enjoy all the amenities and features of our hotel. As you experienced, our kitchens are perfect for families to save money, and our location is convenient to most of the attractions, businesses and shopping. While our windows do offer the option to be opened for fresh air, we wanted to let you know that for safety reasons, there is a limit on how far they can be opened.
We are happy to let you know that we are currently preparing to reopen our rooftop swimming pool anytime now, and we hope you'll enjoy it on your next visit.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a whim. We were given a room on the 9th floor with a tremendous view of the entire parkway. The location was great for going to all the museums and the restaurants in the area were fabulous. tHE rooms were spacious and clean and I appreciated having the full kitchen. It made the experience with young children much more convenient and pleasant. The staff were very helpful and accomodating. A great experience. I would choose this over the neighboring Embassy Suites.--this is a much quieter experience with elevators that run regularly. --and there is no need to fight crowds for a free breakfast. We threw some breakfast items in with our things and enjoyed a nice morning meal on the balcony.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a balcony. Not all rooms have them. Room 909 was great with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elgreen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear elgreen68,
A happy guest is our best reward, and comments like yours definitely make our day! Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Windsor Suites with the Tripadvisor community. We are glad that you and your family had a great experience staying with us, and we invite you to come again soon. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you for choosing us!
Kind regards,
The Windsor Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

During my stay at the Windsor Hotel,the staff was really kind and prompt to help whenever there was an issue. I had a small accident at the hotel and Jessica has been really sweet and helpful. Other than that, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the customer experience from the cleaning lady to the valet are great. I recommend this hotel to everyone, it is not a 5 star but the people there are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrycp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear jerrycp,
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent experience here at The Windsor Suites. We are thrilled when the efforts of our staff are recognized by our guests, as it reinforces that we are working hard to offer the best service. We hope that you are recovering from your accident, and you will return to stay with us again.
Thank you for choosing us!
Best regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I found a great deal through trip advisor to stay in one of the King suites with a balcony over looking the Ben Franklin Parkway. The views were terrific, we were in walking distance of everything she wanted to see, ie the Love Statue, Reading Terminal, and China Town, and the room had all the bells and whistles, we could have stayed there for weeks! My only know was that parking was an extra 29 bucks a day and although you could take it in and out, it would have been much easier to use public transportation.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mykael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Mykael L,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay with us, and found us convenient for exploring the city. Please note that the parking rates offered by the garage are the most competitive amongst hotels in the area. In addition, we offer complimentary in/out and the opportunity to keep your car up until 6pm after your check out, at no added cost. For the best deal, however, you may wish to take advantage of one of our promotions on our website that include free parking. We hope you'll visit again soon.
Thank you for staying with us!
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very nice suite which could accommodate 5 adults very comfortablely (other hotel in area could not accommodate us, their loss) it was like a nice apartment. Price was reasonable. The staff was very helpful, pleasant, ,and friendly. In walking distance to the Catherdal where my son was getting married, as well as places to see, eat and drink. Being a Philadelphian would definately recommend The Windsor Suites to locals as well as tourist.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Patti L,
Thank you for your great review of your recent stay with us. We are happy you found us convenient to the Cathedral (which makes for such beautiful weddings), and that you enjoyed our staff. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope you'll visit again soon.
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,059 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#16 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,272 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Property: The Windsor Suites
Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2735 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windsor Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DOWNTOWN PHILADELPHIA HOTEL - UNIQUE URBAN HOTEL SUITES Experience modern urban living at The Windsor Suites, your home away from home in downtown Philadelphia. A perfect blend of modern comfort and authenticity, our hotel captures the spirit of discovery and innovation instilled by Benjamin Franklin. Discover the city as you walk out our front doors and visit any one of the renowned arts and cultural destinations at your fingertips, such as The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Comcast Center, and Rittenhouse Square. Our spacious studio and one-bedroom suites feature fully equipped kitchens, living and dining space, and breathtaking skyline views to suit both business and leisure travelers. Savor traditional Irish cuisine at Con Murphy's, stay connected in our fully equipped business center, or host an event in the flexible 1,900 square foot meeting space. When it is time for fitness and wellness, re-charge in our fitness center, or lounge by our rooftop pool overlooking the city. Regardless of your purpose for visiting Philadelphia, you'll find that Windsor Suites embodies the genuine warmth and pride that our great city is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing