We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Windsor Suites
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for his 21st birthday! It has an easy walk to South street (where all the bars are) and Broad st! The staff was great! We were a few hours early and they let us check in with no problems. I called the service desk one night to ask for a cab company # so I can call a cab and they told me "just come down stairs and our bell hop with hail you one". Which he did...pretty fast I should add! Also, we asked them for advice on where NOT to go and they were quick and happy to tell us. (bad parts...anything west of 23rd street and south of South st...try to avoid these areas) From 22ed st on to Penns landing is a good area! I would definitly stay at this hotel again. The room had a balcony that over looked a road (I believe cherry st) that was lined with flags. My husband and I enjoyed trying to guess the flags countries while having a smoke. (non smoking hotel). The room was clean and very large. Beds were comfortable and this room had a great price. We paid less than $100 per night! Try this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bliv0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,161 - 1,167 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2009

just average. booking.com did not include tax on the price, which after that, was not a deal. the hotel staff didn't make up our room the whole weekend. there was a nice pool on the roof, and parking is $31. we got a room facing the back without a balcony, and the decor was quite dated.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My Husband and I stayed here exactly one year ago and we loved it. We have returned this year again for a weekend getaway. The room is clean. The staff is very nice. The room comes with a full kitchen which adds a very nice touch. The parking is still steap, but the rates are in line with the area. You are allowed to move your car as many times as you want.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssap01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We stayed during thanksgiving weekend and we thought it was a good deal because a lot of hotels in Philadelphia charge extra for parking. We got the room, parking and breakfast for $150, and we also wanted to see the thanksgiving parade and it was right outside the hotel, so it was kind of a good deal.
but if you can afford to spend a little more and if parking isn't a problem, then I wouldn't suggest this hotel.
Its really quite old and not maintained very well. The breakfast was very basic. The staff was nice enough though.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drl1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

The hotel staff is friendly, and the room was clean but...the hotel is old, and the rooms are not suites like the pictures say. They include a little kitchenette so they say suite, but you do not get a living area with a couch,,I was disappointed. The pool is on the roof,which sounds great but its not...its cold up there and you have to walk up these stairs that are dark and dangerous. For the price of the hotel you can stay elsewhere and get a nicer room,,I think. Plus its 2 miles from the historic district.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank de1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We spent two nights at the Windsor Suites for a short trip to see the historical sights of Philadelphia. Our room included two double beds, a full kitchen, table, large flat screen TV, spacious closets and a nice sized bathroom. The hotel also has free WiFi and the bathroom amenities included Bath and Body Works products. We paid $109 for our first night (a Sunday) and $139 for the second (booked through the hotel website). Our spacious room also included a very large balcony that, although without chairs or tables, had a spectacular view of the Philadelphia Museum of Art (home of the "Rocky steps") to the left, and the beautiful City Hall to the right. Reading Terminal Market was a short 10 minute walk with the Historic District an additional 10 minutes away.

Parking was over $30 per night but included in-and-out privileges and honestly, parking is very expensive in the city. The breakfast buffet was kept stocked by a cheerful employee and included several types of cold cereal, a waffle iron, bagels, breads, and fruit.

Although the hotel would not be considered chic, it is very homey and you definitely get your money's worth in location and space. I would definitely stay at this hotel again when traveling to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

This hotel, although older, was so comfortable to stay in. Each room had a kitchen and beautifully updated bathrooms. For $40 more I upgraded my room to a suite that was worthy of being called an apartment! Huge! The staff were so friendly and servicable. The location is great...can catch the local tour bus FLASH and in walking distance to restaurants, etc.
I wish we could have stayed longer. I encourage travelers to check it out.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationsrus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,545 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2735 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £96 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windsor Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DOWNTOWN PHILADELPHIA HOTEL - UNIQUE URBAN HOTEL SUITES Experience modern urban living at The Windsor Suites, your home away from home in downtown Philadelphia. A perfect blend of modern comfort and authenticity, our hotel captures the spirit of discovery and innovation instilled by Benjamin Franklin. Discover the city as you walk out our front doors and visit any one of the renowned arts and cultural destinations at your fingertips, such as The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Comcast Center, and Rittenhouse Square. Our spacious studio and one-bedroom suites feature fully equipped kitchens, living and dining space, and breathtaking skyline views to suit both business and leisure travelers. Savor traditional Irish cuisine at Con Murphy's, stay connected in our fully equipped business center, or host an event in the flexible 1,900 square foot meeting space. When it is time for fitness and wellness, re-charge in our fitness center, or lounge by our rooftop pool overlooking the city. Regardless of your purpose for visiting Philadelphia, you'll find that Windsor Suites embodies the genuine warmth and pride that our great city is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing