We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Parking OK rate for downtown hotel”
Review of The Windsor Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Windsor Suites
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Expensive Parking OK rate for downtown hotel”
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Parking in downtown Philly is expensive. The rooms were up to par with 3 1/2 star hotel rating. If you pay a little bit more than 100 bucks for this hotel then it is OK, any more than that I would consider a hotel near the airport because the airport isn't that far from downtown. Walking distance from this hotel to Independence Hall is still good 25 mins, walking to Reading Terminal market is 15 mins or so. Rooms were clean, complimentary breakfast incluced but you better go down early because the cafe is small, might have problem finding a table. The valet parking takes forever, waiting for you car for 10 minutes or so is normal.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FormsanRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    453
    114
    53
    40
See reviews for
378
366
83
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights. Great package deal included lots of inclusions, including parking, internet, breakfast, gym, at about half the nightly price of other hotels. Big room (studio apartment really), good bed, big TV, friendly service and great central location. Not 5 star luxury but definitely 4 star and no rip-off charges. Will please tourists and business persons.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accomodater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days. When we arrived the front desk was very gracious and kind and we felt very welcomed. When we walked into the room I was surprised how huge it was! There was tons of space! The kitchenette was an awesome bonus. We also had a great view of Love Park from our balcony! We were walking distance from Reading Terminal, the Liberty Bell, museums and the infamous Rocky steps.

I was also delighted with the free breakfast in the morning. Nothing fancy but it does the job if you don't want to spend extra money during your stay for a meal.

I highly recommend this hotel for families, couples or business travelers alike. The location and the value we received does not compare to a lot of hotels.

Not to mention that we just enjoyed staying somewhere convenient, safe and comfortable.

Thank you Windsor Suites... !!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabella619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Indies
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Spend two weeks here on business and wanted somewere self-catering, so I wasn't eating out the whole time. Not bad location wise; was about a 20 minute walk to my location and was fairly centrally located for other things. Bit of a hike with shopping from the nearest supermarket, but there is a wine store nearby and a couple of good restaurants, such as the Mexican place just across the road.
Main advantage of the room was the kitchen area; rooms were otherwise a little on the tired side and could do with some refurbishment.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChocMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

this place has a full kitchen with dining area so it's great for families. we also enjoyed the breakfast buffet - nothing fancy but decent. The beds were comfortable and the service was great. We actually broke one of their glass pots and made a mess in the kitchen, people came in immediately and cleaned the area completely.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mira002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RahChaCha
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Stayed here last April for a good friends wedding and could not have been more pleased. Excellent location for sightseeing some of the historic parts of PHL. The room was clean as a whistle and newly updated. Great shower! Free breakfast was a plus and the Balcony had an excellent view! I would book here again in a heartbeat! I don't understand the negative reviews and I guess some people think a $100+ room rate should be like the Four Seasons. LOL!!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DUBBLE_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC metro area
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for his 21st birthday! It has an easy walk to South street (where all the bars are) and Broad st! The staff was great! We were a few hours early and they let us check in with no problems. I called the service desk one night to ask for a cab company # so I can call a cab and they told me "just come down stairs and our bell hop with hail you one". Which he did...pretty fast I should add! Also, we asked them for advice on where NOT to go and they were quick and happy to tell us. (bad parts...anything west of 23rd street and south of South st...try to avoid these areas) From 22ed st on to Penns landing is a good area! I would definitly stay at this hotel again. The room had a balcony that over looked a road (I believe cherry st) that was lined with flags. My husband and I enjoyed trying to guess the flags countries while having a smoke. (non smoking hotel). The room was clean and very large. Beds were comfortable and this room had a great price. We paid less than $100 per night! Try this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bliv0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,924 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#16 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Property: The Windsor Suites
Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2735 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windsor Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DOWNTOWN PHILADELPHIA HOTEL - UNIQUE URBAN HOTEL SUITES Experience modern urban living at The Windsor Suites, your home away from home in downtown Philadelphia. A perfect blend of modern comfort and authenticity, our hotel captures the spirit of discovery and innovation instilled by Benjamin Franklin. Discover the city as you walk out our front doors and visit any one of the renowned arts and cultural destinations at your fingertips, such as The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Comcast Center, and Rittenhouse Square. Our spacious studio and one-bedroom suites feature fully equipped kitchens, living and dining space, and breathtaking skyline views to suit both business and leisure travelers. Savor traditional Irish cuisine at Con Murphy's, stay connected in our fully equipped business center, or host an event in the flexible 1,900 square foot meeting space. When it is time for fitness and wellness, re-charge in our fitness center, or lounge by our rooftop pool overlooking the city. Regardless of your purpose for visiting Philadelphia, you'll find that Windsor Suites embodies the genuine warmth and pride that our great city is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing