We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, central location, fantastic rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, central location, fantastic rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Have stayed multiple times on a corporate rate for leisure. Fantastic personalized service, impeccable attention to detail, very clean, excellent staff and beautiful rooms. Yes, food etc is very overpriced but do yourself a favour and take a walk - there are plenty of options nearby.

Ask for a high floor and enjoy the views across Philly. Del Frisco nearby is a good dinner option (not cheap!)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Wanderlust81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    354
    199
    98
    56
See reviews for
246
405
64
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Some of the below reviews are lame, if you ask me. The rooms are quite large- I was in a standard room and the bathroom was literally almost as large as the bedroom and sitting area. This is classic Ritz style- plush, comfortable, elegant. The location is extremely central and the building itself- the most beautiful interior (bank building) with incredible architecture. I do think the modern pink/orange lights are very strange- I like the infusion of classic and modern, however in this case, it makes it seem a bit too loungy and cheesy. All in all, it's definitely my favorite in the city. There is nothing like the experience of walking into the main lobby - definite wow factor.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clutchbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I have stayed at the Ritz three times for business in 2011. Each time the hotel was top notch. My room has alway been very nicely appointed. My most recent trip was the week before Christmas. I was upgraded to a junior suite which was very nice. The beds and bathrooms in the hotel are very nice. The service at the front desk and restaurant could not have been better. The hotel itself is very beautiful and is ideal for a a business traveler. I recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelGuestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

After the 1st night our room was changed because of outside mechanical noise and flushing issues. Room was smaller but quieter. Many of the rooms are small and the carpet should be refurbished. (we were with a group so we saw several rooms) The housekeepers could not have been more pleasant, however, they don't know what clean is and need more training. One thing I expect from the Ritz is impeccable cleanliness! Management was very responsive, but not sure they "get it" either. In defense of the Ritz it was New Year's weekend and they were overwhelmed by crowds.
The lobby is an old bank and is beautiful. I must say that although carpet should be replaced in many areas, the paint and wallpaper were impeccable!
We would give them another shot at a quieter time, however, we miss their old location.
Mummer's Parade was wonderful and viewing perfect.
We have gotten better quality bath products at the Holiday Inn! Is the Ritz is changing?????

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I am a Marriott Platinum member and travel quite a bit. Used Marriott points to stay with the family.

We were given a room upgrade which was nice, but boy the rooms are small. Asked about concierge level, but they wanted to charge $150 for access. So basically being a platinum Marriott member means very little at a Marriott owned property, The Ritz Carlton. I know the city well, since I live here. The Four Seasons beats this hotel hands down. Furniture looks beaten up.

Won't be back and I question why I stay with Marriott.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsprep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pa.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I travel to PHL a lot of on business, but this was my fist stay at the Ritz Carlton. It's a great hotel. Nice rooms. Great bathrooms. Outstanding staff. The only thing a little off-putting is that the hotel is almost in a separate building from the magnificent lobby. And, there is no pool. But otherwise a wise choice when in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbhusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

I like to use top tier hotels like the Ritz-Carlton, and I've become accustomed to the high level of service and amenities they offer. The Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia fit the bill in most categories, but fell short in a few areas.

Service was top tier. Everyone was friendly, helpful, and willing to please.

Location is ideal. Right in the middle of the city within easy walking distance to everything.

The room was interesting - it was a junior suite, with a small sitting room on one side, and a small bedroom on the other side. Great views of City Hall and the street.

The big problem was the street noise. The windows were not really well insulated, and along with the cold coming through, so did the decibels. Probably not a big deal for some, but we're light sleepers, and appreciate peace and quiet. This is the one thing that would keep me from returning.

Had dinner at 10arts. It was adequate, but honestly, I expect more from a restaurant bearing Eric Ripert's name.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, although its not clear whether they exist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDogAteMyHomework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Hyatt at The Bellevue
#30 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,519 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated neoclassical hotel set in a century-old landmark bank in downtown Philadelphia. The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia is a stately testament to the city and an exceptional place to experience all the city has to offer. Walk in the footsteps of America's forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in the heart of Center City and absorb the energy of the city as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing