We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Ranked #26 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel on April 19, 2013. The Ritz Carlton Philadelphia is one of the most stunningly beautiful hotels in the city. From the moment you enter, the neoclassical architecture commands attention and your eyes are quickly drawn to the ceiling. The staff was incredibly attentive and polite, which one would expect at such an establishment. Unfortunately, I didn't have the best view from my window, but the ample space and immaculately clean and pleasant bathroom made up. Anyway, I didn't stay for the window view. Philadelphia is a city for exploring. Luckily, this hotel couldn't be situated in a more convenient and accessible location. With regard to the lounge on the ground floor, it was the perfect place to unwind with very hip music and an astonishingly complete wine selection. It is, however, geared to a younger crowd. I do remember this hotel years ago before the current refurbishment. I miss the older layout with the busts of the Roman emperors under the rotunda. It had a much more grandiose effect. I wish they'd bring that back. There's no need to emmulate a W Hotel. This hotel has the name and place setting to be in a league all its own.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    353
    199
    98
    56
See reviews for
245
405
64
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed here on Saturday night June 1, 2013. The staff not what is expected at the Ritz. Our room was not ready when we arrived at almost 6:00PM and we stood around waiting. The champagne at check in was very nice, we almost asked for a second glass after the wait! The concierge was unavailable for the first 30 minutes that we were there, which would be fine if he was pleasant when he finally arrived. We asked for restaurant recommendations and he got annoyed when we shared that we didn't have a preference for a specific cuisine. He said there was so many choices as if we needed to help narrow it down. A great concierge could have said, "here are a few Philly favorites...". The building is stunning! The bar is lovely with great ambiance, but we paid $50 for three drinks. Also when we checked out this morning rather than offering to print our tickets, the person at the desk told us we could go to the kiosk. She did print the tickets after we asked her to do so. While nothing terribly eggregious, my expectations for the Ritz are much higher than this.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celmo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Don't try to get a cab from this hotel in the early morning hours. My party of four women had an early morning flight but the hotel staff, despite their promises and several requests the day before could not get us a ride. We ended up standing outside in the cold waiting for a second vehicle to arrive so we could all be transported. I've stayed at many hotels, both in Europe and the US, and this was very poor service. Sure, they welcome you with champagne, but that's it.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bdegroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here and we were blown away by the service we received. The staff could not have been nicer or more professional. Since we did not know the city, the staff helped us every step of the way with restaurant recommendations and eventually reservations. They also provided us with directions and helpful tips. The valet men, especially the manager, was so nice and really went out of his way to speak with us and help us out. Our room was lovely and while it's not the best Ritz Carlton I've ever stayed in, it was a fantastic hotel for a city. Great location to all the attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaiaLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

My husband and I used marriot points to stay here for his birthday. We "splurged" by using extra points instead of booking our typical downtown marriot. The champagne at check in was a nice touch, as was the consistent door holding and greetings. Other than that, the only thing that set this apart from less expensive marriot properties was the more affluent clientele. Rooms, lounges, amenities, etc. are just as good, or better, at other, less expensive marriot properties. We spent close to $50 on 3 disappointing cocktails in the lounge. The room was fine since we got it for "free" but I would not pay a high price tag to stay here. My #1 hotel in Philly is still the Sofitel, and if I'm using marriot points, the marriot downtown is superior to the ritz.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tripmomPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
207 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

This Ritz Carlton is not typical of other five-star hotels. Although the service is about as good as you will find anywhere, the hotel could use an investment to replace some of the carpet and furniture. Not that it's bad, but it's not exceptional either. Just average.
I believe that the hotel is housed within a former bank, so it was not purpose-built as a hotel. The location is right across from Philadelphia City Hall, where at the moment, there is considerable construction underway which makes for unsightliness and inconvenience. The location is a reasonable walk to the museums - at least in good weather but you're not near the historic district. There are some top-notch restaurants nearby, but first enjoy a drink in the hotel's lobby bar.

Room Tip: Avoid a room next to an elevator as these are rather noisy. Also, check on the status of the constru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skelt440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Spent a couples getaway night after the symphony which is just a short walk away as well as many other historic attractions. Staff was exceptional from the front desk to doormen and room service staff. Suites are clean, well appointed and spacious. Location is perfect with excellent restaurants, shopping and attractions all within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Hyatt at The Bellevue
#31 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated neoclassical hotel set in a century-old landmark bank in downtown Philadelphia. The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia is a stately testament to the city and an exceptional place to experience all the city has to offer. Walk in the footsteps of America's forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in the heart of Center City and absorb the energy of the city as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing