We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz Carlton standards -- what else is there to say?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Ranked #23 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed here during a visit in town for my birthday, and to be short, this Ritz Carlton met every standard you'd expect.

Staying at a Ritz Carlton is a unique experience that brings intangibles unavailable at lesser-grade hotels. The hotel atrium indeed has an accomplished pianist, and the bartender can, in fact, make an aviation. This is not your ordinary hotel.

Rooms are generously sized with comfortable accommodations. Parking is an invisible process, with an efficient valet process.

Make it a point to stay here when in Philly for a special occasion. It is worth the indulgence of your time, and the fractional upcharge over the hum-drum competition.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragonChowhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,256 - 1,262 of 1,712 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

I just spent a lovely night at the Ritz Carlton Philadelphia. I was born and raised in Philly. This hotel captures the history of my city while having a cool urban vibe. Had a wonderful round of drinks in the lobby bar. Olena our waitress was lovely and professional. I told her about my " ritz Carlton drinking game" idea. Everytime someone says " my pleasure", we all take a drink! Room was spacious. TV could be updated. Bathroom was very very nice. Club lounge was nice as well. Ideal location w/in walking distance to everything. Amy in guest services was awesome.
Aaron...best bell hop ever! So helpful. (Anyone that compliments me on my lucky flyers hat is ok in my book!)
I had a great stay and the hotel was very busy due to the US open. They were all on there toes! Thanks Ritz!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The rooms look more like a Marriott than a Ritz-Carlton. I was so disappointed. I often stay at R-C and expected so much more. I ordered room service and before an hour was even up, they called up and interrupted my evening to prompt me for a pickup of my tray/table....really??? I was offered a free movie at check-in, which was a nice gesture--but in order to receive it I was supposed to call the front desk by 11 with my selection. Philly is so boring, just save your money for another spot!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moose029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

A funeral brought us to Philly. Very reasonable rates made the Ritz Carlton our choice for the weekend. The room was on the small side but the view of "Billy Penn" from the window made up for the tiny room. Breakfast was a not-so-nice event -- it was simply not well prepared. Potatoes grossly undercooked, coffee cold, bacon almost raw. I was quite surprised as it wasn't cheap by any price. Didn't have dinner in the hotel. After the negative breakfast experience I wasn't taking the chance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Billy Penn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alspat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel does not live up to its name. I spent 2 nights here while on a business trip. The check in was very fast, and thats about it. The rooms were dirty, teh bathrobe was tore, it took about 54 seconds for the water in the shower to heat up, i could hear my neighbours quite well. There was always an event downstair, yes, you cant hear the noise, but it will take you some effort to get to the elevators through a large crowd. Macy's is 2 min walking distance and Hard Rock Cafe is about 5 min walking, that was a positive thing. But a HUGE minus was that the hotel blocked 300$ from my credit card (usually hotels block 30-40$) and when i wrote to them nobody EVER bothered to answer my e-mails. I will not stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lidia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

First, the club level offerings are wonderful, and concierges Mimosa and Jackie are excellent in every way. Thank you for your incredible service! Second, the location of the hotel is second to none - directly in center city next to city hall. Third, as usual, from front bell staff to front desk staff, the service is top notch. Finally, spa massage (by Nancy) was top notch. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel on April 19, 2013. The Ritz Carlton Philadelphia is one of the most stunningly beautiful hotels in the city. From the moment you enter, the neoclassical architecture commands attention and your eyes are quickly drawn to the ceiling. The staff was incredibly attentive and polite, which one would expect at such an establishment. Unfortunately, I didn't have the best view from my window, but the ample space and immaculately clean and pleasant bathroom made up. Anyway, I didn't stay for the window view. Philadelphia is a city for exploring. Luckily, this hotel couldn't be situated in a more convenient and accessible location. With regard to the lounge on the ground floor, it was the perfect place to unwind with very hip music and an astonishingly complete wine selection. It is, however, geared to a younger crowd. I do remember this hotel years ago before the current refurbishment. I miss the older layout with the busts of the Roman emperors under the rotunda. It had a much more grandiose effect. I wish they'd bring that back. There's no need to emmulate a W Hotel. This hotel has the name and place setting to be in a league all its own.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 89 in Philadelphia
841 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 89 in Philadelphia
3,429 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 89 in Philadelphia
5,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Hyatt at The Bellevue
#31 of 89 in Philadelphia
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102-2500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £244 - £527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated neoclassical hotel set in a century-old landmark bank in downtown Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia is a stately testament to the city and an exceptional place to experience all the city has to offer. Walk in the footsteps of America's forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in the heart of Center City and absorb the energy of the city as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Marriott, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing