We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great use of a historic building” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Ranked #26 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great use of a historic building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is lovely. The lobby is cool and fun and modern even though in a historic building. The rooms are gorgeous and there is plenty of space and the bathrooms are COMPLETELY up to date. The club lounge is beautiful and well appointed and the staff excellent. The view from the top is certainly awesome.

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would recommend it for anyone that has to go to Philadelphia.

Room Tip: The clock tower and view is lovely, but it starts going at 9 a.m. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dora_pirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    353
    199
    98
    56
See reviews for
245
405
64
384
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Due to business, my s.o. travels very often, usually in the Marriott brand hotels, so when staying in Philadelphia for 2 weeks, he was booked to stay at the Ritz Carlton. Lucky for me, I was able to stay for a few nights and enjoy the luxury. The hotel is pure class, but you are paying for it. There is valet parking, which is the easiest thing to do since you pull right up to the hotel entrance, however it is very expensive ($50/night if I recall), there are parking garages around the corner though that will be a little cheaper, maybe $35/night. The bar/lounge in the lobby is very nicely decorated with dim lights and a backlit bar, drinks are obviously going to be expensive but you're at the Ritz, you should expect that.

The rooms vary in size, last year we had a very large room with a couch and plenty of room to spread out, though it was not a suite. This summer's room was much smaller without a couch and only a small table and chair. The bathroom in the smaller room was a lot nicer but water pressure was very light, frankly I'm taking a star off just for that fact. Housekeeping is impeccable and I really like when hotels leave you complimentary bottles of water every day, I hate having to pay $3 for a bottle of water!

There are some really great restaurants in the area that you should definitely take advantage of plus if you walk a couple blocks up towards the park there are some great bars around, just make sure not to say anything positive about the Yankees!! One negative is that last summer (2012) and before, if you were a Marriott Gold member you could take advantage of the club room with free drinks, appetizers, and desserts but now, unless you are a Platinum member, you need to pay a fee to enter. Membership just doesn't have its perks anymore, it seems.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lecc0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We surprised our daughter with a stay in downtown Philadelphia at the Ritz Carlton. From the doorman opening our car door to the time we left a couple days later, the service was outstanding. We used the fitness room several times, got a great recommendation from the concierge and enjoyed our room. The location is superb as we easily walked on Walnut Street to Rittenhouse Square and made our way to the Reading Terminal. Downtown Philadelphia was a delight due to the convenience of our location. Can't rave highly enough about our stay!

Room Tip: Valet parking was terrific...the car was always there after a quick text to the garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rookie669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Arrived at the Ritz and there were doormen quickly opening our doors, getting our luggage and greeting us. Our room was clean and quiet. The front desk was very accommodating and the concierge was able to get us tickets to a sold out venue. We ordered room service and it was brought up on a white linen table with fresh flowers and they set it up with 2 chairs in front of the window where we had a great view.. The food was served hot, great presentation,and scrumptious. House cleaning was twice a day and bed turn down with chocolates. In the lobby there was complimentary fresh coffee and teas in the morning , and cool teas and different flavored lemonade a in the afternoon served with hot pretzels and different mustards it seemed as if everyone that worked there loved their job and it showed. Everyone was enthusiastic about giving advice on directions, restaurants, and what to do. We will definitely be returning to this Ritz..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We enjoyed a six night stay in a Club room. The hotel is excellently placed for attractions right next to the City Hall and great views from the higher floors. All staff we came across were friendly and helpful particularly the concierge and the staff in the club lounge. The food in the lounge was very good but the hotel restaurant was limited - particularly if you don't eat meat. Our one bed suite was a good size and the bathroom matched this.
Only valet parking which was expensive and took a little time.

Room Tip: High floor for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JIAUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This was our second stay at the Ritz in Philly. It is located in the perfect spot to explore the city, just south of City Hall. The service is great. The food is wonderful. The rooms are very comfortable. The bar area seemed a little understaffed for Saturday afternoon, but we weren't in much of a hurry for lunch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have stayed at many Ritz Carlton, and this one was not our favorite. It really needs some renovation and shining up. Our room seemed very worn. Staff however was very helpful and friendly. Our room was quite standard, however the location was convenient not too far from the convention site.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Hyatt at The Bellevue
#31 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated neoclassical hotel set in a century-old landmark bank in downtown Philadelphia. The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia is a stately testament to the city and an exceptional place to experience all the city has to offer. Walk in the footsteps of America's forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in the heart of Center City and absorb the energy of the city as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing