We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dated”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel is very pretty being a converted bank and historic site. The lobby is an achitectural pleasure with its soaring rotunda and marble. The lobby bar is very nice when it is not a DJ bar and faux club. We returned late on a Saturday night and the crowd was quite rude. To the extent that they almost knocked down our handicapped friend trying to push him off a bar seat.
The staff is very professional and quite good.
We were upgraded to a junior suite, which was very appreciated. However, the rooms are in need of an update. They are comfortable and spacious. The bathrooms are beautiful, clad in marble with a great shower and soaking tub. Just could use some freshing up.
The concerierge Mark is fantastic and goes out of his way to make your stay perfect.
The food is very good and the bar menu quite good also.
The location is excellent but arrival can be a challenge being on a main street without a driveway.
Be advised that rooms near the elevators can be noisy at night.
All and all, Great location, great staff makes for a nice stay.
Not the best in Philly, but decent.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room next to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horsedadMorrisCounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    375
    211
    106
    63
See reviews for
279
435
69
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I had to wait 2 hours to check in because the computer was not working. I missed my business meeting. They gave two glasses of wine, that did not solve the problem
I will not be staying at ritz again.
Regards

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Aside from the traffic and valet situation, the hotel is great. It's an old bank building that was converted years ago, and the lobby is grandiose with soaring ceilings and massive columns all around. The lobby bar and restaraunt is a great place to meet up with people and socialize, and the staff is always great, as this isn't the first time I've stayed here. The only word of caution is I ordered a club sandwich from room service and the tab was $24. For a club sandwich. It was a very good club sandwich, but yes, $24. It comes with the territory staying at a Ritz property, but just be aware. Overall, a great place to stay in town, excellent location, and I'll always be a return guest.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The lobby is basically the only PRO of this hotel. Once you are in the lobby, you go to the elevators which is a different run-down building.

I stayed here twice. When I stayed here, Hurricane Sandy had hit so a lot of families must have moved in for the week. Dogs were barking, Kids screaming, Kicking walls all night long. The next time I was here was in February and it was allright.

No concierge for Marriott platinum members. Not even free breakfast.

The next three times I was in Philly, I stayed at different hotels.

Again, there is absolutely NOTHING special about this hotel. The lobby is all they have going for them, and the actual hotel is in the run down building next door.

Pass.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank imran k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I stayed for three nights, and the hotel's location was perfect. I was able to walk to a majority of great resturaunts, shopping and entertainment. The city atmosphere was great!! Overall great stay!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank clfountainiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have stayed here at least six times. It is a really beautiful hotel, but on the lobby of an old bank building. The rooms are beautiful, the service excellent, the location great, the restaurant and bar spectacular. This is a wonderful, romantic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
501 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 355 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

The Rittenhouse costs more, but the Ritz is more palatial. The lobby bar is over the top with veteran bartenders Mikel
and his able young assistant Fous serving the best martini you can imagine. Champagne on check in. Get a room with the last two digits 21 and you'll have a corner view that you'll not forget.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
782 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102-2500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated neoclassical hotel set in a century-old landmark bank in downtown Philadelphia. The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia is a stately testament to the city and an exceptional place to experience all the city has to offer. Walk in the footsteps of America's forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in the heart of Center City and absorb the energy of the city as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing