We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful weekend”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Although not the newest hotel, everything was great. Had a great corner room with views of city hall and north. It was our anniversary and they did lots of extra special things for us. My wife had a wonderful time at the spa (almost 2 and a half hours). Bar food was great. Was wonderful to sit in lobby and reminisce about trip to Rome and the Pantheon. The only drawback we had was the lobby wireless kept dropping us out. Pain when were trying to make plans. The staff is truly wonderful. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraignCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    368
    206
    102
    61
See reviews for
272
421
67
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

How have things changed in Philadelphia over the years. The Ritz-Carlton lobby was my bank while in college at Temple, but the change is for the better. The lobby is extremely nice creating a great welcome to the hotel. We enjoyed the drinks at the bar and the complementary popcorn is to die for. We finished off a bowl and a half while having a nice conversation with Steve our tender. Check-in was efficient and the champagne toast to our anniversary was a nice touch. We were given an upgrade to a Jr Suite which was a very nice room with a separate seating area. Only downfall was a queen bed, but it was extremely comfortable. The bathroom had an oversized soaking tub and separate commode area. The shower was large and had a great head. The toiletries for the shower were Purple Rain and had a nice aroma to them. The room condition was fair at best as others stated it seemed worn and old. One night stand was missing a piece of molding from its front. The desk seemed to be repaired as well. The sofa in the seating room was comfy and in good shape. Robe was practical even if not too fluffy. We got a great rate, but just from the staff's service and friendliest alone we would definitely comeback.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dme44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

When you think of the Ritz Carlton, you have a certain expectation. This hotel just isn't that. The staff is A+, the lobby - STUNNING, the rooms - meh. I agree with the other reviews - the rooms are worn and tired. In fact, I changed rooms after the the 1st room was unacceptable (i.e. the bathroom had a problem). The 2nd room was bigger and had a nice view. Unfortunately, the mattress was rather worn, so my feet was slightly higher than my head. It is in a great location though - restaurants, shopping, museums are in walking distance. If I'd only stayed downstairs in the lobby, my review would be different.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ugetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryll A, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for posting a review after your most recent stay at our hotel, Ugetit. Your feedback regarding our hotel rooms has been heard and we cannot wait to share the news with you. In a few short months, into the coming year, all guest rooms are going through a complete and total makeover! I hope to see you again soon to experience our new and exciting design first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sochi, Russia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

when we came up to the hotel we thought that it was a museum.the lobby looks gorgeous too.the staff is really professional.the location is the best(city hall is round the corner,readers market is 5min walk,some shops are around,metro station is 1 min .....)we were not impressed with the room(outdated,needs renovation,not spotlessly clean)wifi was complimentary,but terribly slow!!nice toiletries and other facilities as radio,alarm clock ,fridge,iron,but the only special thing was the view of the city..awesome .one more pro is absolute quietness,thougt it's a city center and the construction site is behind the building

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liudmila336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was my first time staying at a Ritz and I was really excited! This hotel is in a great location! There are so many great bars/restaurant/shops/attractions within walking distance. The staff is phenomenal! Everyone is so outgoing, friendly and professional. The lobby and bar area are stunning. I was a bit confused when I entered my room. The upscale and stunning decor I was expecting, did not exist in my room. The room could use some updating. The bathroom was very nice with an over sized tub. Our stay was very pleasant, but I hope for all the money customers put out, a renovation on the rooms is planned soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryll A, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dana P, thank you for sharing your experience on our TripAdvisor page. We are overjoyed to find that your initial reaction upon entering our hotel in the grand lobby was exactly what we hope for all Ladies and Gentlemen when walking through our main doors. The rich history, marble, pillars, and incredible activity and charm provides an experience that we are beyond pleased that you were able to enjoy. Thank you for expressing that our Ladies and Gentlemen were phenomenal as it is our highest mission to serve you, our most loyal guests with exceptional service that you most certainly come to and should expect from our brand. As for our guest rooms, and happy to share, we are ever so impatiently waiting an exciting renovation. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back once our renovation is complete to experience our next phase of enhanced luxury in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

First, the staff, across the board, are noticeably outgoing, friendly and professional. The lobby is beautiful. But once you enter your room, it's hard to believe you're at the Ritz Carlton. The room was worn and tired and highly in need of a major renovation. The hotel's location is great. So I have mixed emotions. I hope they complete a renovation of the rooms soon!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mbc2run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darryll A, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
mbc2run, your feedback is greatly appreciated by myself and our Ladies and Gentlemen and we thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your experience. I am honored to share with you that our hotel will be going through a major renovation in the new year! We look forward to welcoming you back to experience a new style of ambiance and historic charm in the City of Brotherly Love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
302 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Ritz Hotel (a new residential Ritz condo bldg is next door) is great rehab of a historic Philadelphia property. It is centrally located and so it is a short walk to Reading Terminal Market, and City Hall is at the end of the block. The staff here is wonderful-and the service is very special. Our rooms were very nice--try to get on a higher floor and you will have a beautiful view of the surrounding city and architecture.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mookie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt at The Bellevue
#32 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,799 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102-2500
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated neoclassical hotel set in a century-old landmark bank in downtown Philadelphia. The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia is a stately testament to the city and an exceptional place to experience all the city has to offer. Walk in the footsteps of America's forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in the heart of Center City and absorb the energy of the city as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing