We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in Philadelphia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
metro New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in Philadelphia”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I have been to the Sofitel numerous times over the years. I always enjoy my stay. The rooms are handsomely decorated and very comfortable, the service impeccable, the breakfast delicious, and the cost to value excellent. I was there a week ago and plan to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to have you as a regular guest with us when visiting Philadelphia. We are very pleased to hear that you find our rooms are comfortable, service impeccable, breakfast delicious, and cost to value excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,953
    942
    216
    90
    50
See reviews for
541
1,185
198
862
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

In case you only read the first line of this review- the brasserie cafe has the best coffee I've ever had in north America and the most tasty and well presented blueberry pancakes. I've stayed t the hotel three times now, as I'm an airline employee. The suites are stunning, spacious, have a very comfy bed, and are well equipped with Bose stereo's etc. The staff are very helpful, and gave top tips on sites and restaurants for an upcoming vacation (thks Patrick) and the concierge was incredibly helpful tracing a delivery I was expecting that went awry.
Hotel is sited in the centre of town with plenty bars and restaurants nearby( walking distance)
It's my favourite hotel of all that I've stayed in in any major US city. Heartily recommended.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you have named us your favorite hotel of all that you have stayed in in any major US city. We love to provide a home away from home to our frequent visitors. We are also very pleased to hear that you enjoy our coffee and blueberry pancakes that we serve in Chez Colette. We hope that you have also had the opportunity to enjoy our lunch and dinner restaurant and lounge, Liberte as well. We are very glad that you enjoy our spacious rooms, unique So-Bed, Bose stereo, great downtown location, and helpful staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittston, PA
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Checked into to the Sofitel, 2 rooms, 2 dbl beds. everything went very smoothly. Rooms were as advertised. First time at the hotel, friends speak highly of it.

In town to catch Roger Waters do 'The Wall' with 3 friends.

It was a ridiculously hot Philly day and the the room HVAC tried to keep up and failed, despite being set at 65 degrees. Neither room really ever got cold, the AC barely kept it warm.

Bathrooms were very nice, seperate tub shower and spacious. A bit of a french flair with the toiletries and the towels were large and very soft for a hotel. i liked that.

Keurig in the rooms, minibar, no fridge, we had a lovely view on the 14th floor.

Everything was very nice, not exceptional in any way but very nice.

The Bar/Restaurant downstairs was ok. inflated prices andnot that great; appetizers we had calamari, cheese plate and wings were below average. Bar did not have Gentleman Jack or Belvedere Vodka.

Staff at the hotel was attentive and personable. All in all for the price would have expected a little more, but hotel was very nice. Again, for the price . . . the Ritz and Four Seasons, even the Westin are better places to stay.

Room Tip: As always higher rooms are preferable in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimWPPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, location, large marble bathroom with separate tub and shower, L’Occitane products, large, soft towels, Keurig coffee makers, and our staff’s attentive and personable service. We will most certainly discuss your review with our engineering department to make necessary adjustments to our air conditioning settings. Our guests’ comfort is very important to us during their stay, and we strive to provide all luxury amenities and especially basic amenities such as air conditioning. We will also review your comments with our Food and Beverage department to ensure that we provide top quality items that we strive to produce. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Philadelphia and to provide you with a better experience than your last one. Please don’t hesitate to contact us with any further concerns or requests and we will be delighted to serve you in any way we can.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Nothing great about this hotel. It is nice and the rooms are nice. The bed was OK but definitely not the most comfortable. The TV was nice and had a lot of channels to choose from. The bathroom was a good size with a separate shower and bathtub and a large sink area. The shower was small which made it hard to move around inside. The air conditioning barely kept the room cool and made it uncomfortable to sleep. The internet had good speeds.
There is a much better hotel right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinJLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. Excellence is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our hotel and to provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. Your comments allow us to review our service and products to make the improvements necessary to better our guests’ experiences and to enhance our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, large selection of TV channels, large marble bathrooms with separate shower and bathtub, and that our internet was convenient for you. We understand that our beds are not preferable to all of our guests, although we to try to provide products that are favorable to as many guests as possible. We will most certainly discuss your review with our engineering department to make necessary adjustments to our air conditioning settings. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Philadelphia and to provide you with a better experience than your last one. Please don’t hesitate to contact us with any further concerns or requests and we will be delighted to serve you in any way we can.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, MI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The rooms are spacey, modern and the beds are comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It would be nice to offer complinetary breakfast since everything else is so expensive. (Most hotels we stayed at on vacation this past week had breakfast provided). The hotel is close to everything and we would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BusyMomMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such an excellent stay with us and that you enjoyed our modern décor, spacious rooms, unique So-Beds, and convenient downtown location. We are also very pleased that our great staff was able to provide a memorable stay for you and were friendly and helpful. We have several breakfast packages that include breakfast that we believe you would enjoy and look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel Philadelphia for a long weekend and I have to say it was one of the nices experiences ever....The location is safe and charming and the hotel room was large and spotless! We had our little dog with us and the hotel was pet friendly....the only thing I was not notified was the additional $300 pet fee which was returned but was not originally quoted to me...otherwise I highly recommend this property - the bed was extra comfortable and there was a park a couple of blocks away to walk our dog! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nycubanpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience during your stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our downtown location and large hotel rooms. We apologize for our lack of communication regarding our pet deposit that is returned at check out. We have passed your review onto our Front Office and will be sure to improve our communication to our guests at check in on our pet deposit. We look forward to welcoming both you and your dog back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWFL
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel over the 4th of July holiday; through the weekend visitng friends. since they live downtown it was a close walk to everything; even in the 100+heat.

Staff was very attentive and we really enjoyed the bar area; thanks a bunch to Chris and couple others that made sure our glasses were always full.

Rooms were clean and room service was very prompt with our request.

If you are looking for value for your money and in town Philly; this is your place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pan513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant stay with us while visiting friends over the 4th of July Holiday weekend. We are very pleased that our great staff made your stay memorable and was attentive to all of your requests. We are also glad to hear that our downtown location was convenient for you, especially for creating a short walk in the intense heat we have been having this summer. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,067 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,273 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing