We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and professional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kiato, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great and professional”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The six day trip at Philadelphia is a great choice together with a great staying at Sofitel. A typical Sofitel Hotel as all over the world Accor standards , but little bit more proffesional !!! The position of the hotel is near to everything with easy acces to all things to do in Philly.Looking forward to seeing soon again Philly and Sofitel................!!! Thank You.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giannis_Anna96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Bonjour Giannis_Anna96,

It is our delight that you had the opportunity to stay with us while visitng Philadelphia. I thank you for sharing such beautiful photos from your experience and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel on your next trip to Philly!

Warm regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,966
    951
    218
    90
    51
See reviews for
552
1,190
200
868
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beckley, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Sofitel was just the sort of the boutique hotel that I was looking for when I went to my 30th Medical School reunion at Penn. The staff went out of their way to be accommodating even though renovation was going on. The room was first rate and the amenities were also. There was a Keurig coffee maker in the room and I became addicted to French Roast. The European influence was everywhere. I have been to Paris and loved it. I will look for the Sofitel chain when I go to other major cities.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Mary M,

Here at the Sofitel we are proud to offer a style of service that blends French luxury with our local Philadelphia culture. These links can be found throughout our hotel including cuisine, design, amenities, and many other elements.

It is our delight that you will be seeking our sister properties, and I invite you to reach out to us at any time to assist with information on other Sofitel properties.

We look forwad to welcoming you back!

Warmest regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I'm staying here for a conference, and everything is just superb. My room (1028) is very large and quiet, and has all amenities I could possibly want: excellent toiletries, thick bathrobe, coffee maker, ample storage space, large desk, good WiFi, comfy chair, great bed, etc. The staff is equally excellent: the concierge accepted a package for me a couple of days before my arrival, bar staff is attentive and friendly without being pushy, and housekeeping even leaves a thank-you note for their tip. Location is decent, with Walnut Street around the corner and the Convention Center at walking distance. The Old City is somewhat further away, but still at walkable (30 mins) distance.

Some minor points:
- I'm on the 10th floor, and the windows cannot be opened, nor is there any other means of ventilation, apart from the A/C, which I turn off during the night to avoid the noise. Entirely understandable, but I like to get some fresh cold air in the room during the night.
- My room had a "do not disturb" sign, but no "service please" sign to hang on the door.
- The shower is excellent, but the water temperature fluctuates quite a bit; adjustments are necessary to keep the water warm.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewah564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Bonjour ewah564,

It is my pleasure that you enjoyed such a wonderful stay with us. We take great care in providing amenities in each of our guest rooms that provide extraordinary comfort and convenience, such as the ones you mentioned.

I will certainly share your feedback on excellent service with each of the concierge, Liberte bar, and housekeeping teams, as well as provide our Director of Operations with the minor points you listed to help us continually improve the service we offer to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Philadelphia!

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blakeslee, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Philadelphia Sofitel Hotel two times and found it to be of the highest quality in every category. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and have very comfortable beds. We select the Drive/Breakfast package which simply cannot be beat for value and convenience. The hotel is set back from the street, which allows us to drive right up to the front door. Once our bags are removed, our car is taken to an indoor garage for the duration of our stay. If it's needed we just call a half hour before we want to leave, and our car is waiting outside.

The food in the Liberte Lounge is absolutely superb (try the Rack of Lamb), and breakfast (included in the package) in Chez Colette is just as good. The menu selection is excellent, and it's hard to decide, but don't miss the French Toast. The staff throughout the hotel is attentive, cheerful, and go out of their way to make us feel comfortable. Any request is handled quickly and professionally.

The location in Center City has an abundance of great stores and restaurants. As far as we're concerned, the Sofitel is our only choice for our visits to Philadelphia. We've had a favorite NYC hotel, but because of our Sofitel experience, on our next trip we plan to stay at the Accor Novotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Richard S,

I am delighted to read your feedback!

Each of our ambassadors has a strong passion for excellence, and I am proud to share your feedback with our team. It will serve as motivation to continue delivering the luxurious and personalized service that we have become renown for.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit and all others to follow!

À bientôt !
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

2nd year in a row that we stayed at sofitel. It is reliably excellent. staff is professional and courteous. rooms are elegantly appointed, beautifully decorated, quiet and spotlessly clean. they offer scrumptious croissants and pan au chocolate in the lobby, along with coffee and tea in the lobby. While we were there, an area-wide power failure occurred (due to PECO, not sofitel) and Sofitel's staff handled it very professionally. emergency power kept the elevators operating. My only criticism is that late check-ins should be afforded late check out. Still, they are tops in philadelpha.
previously I have stayed at Days Inn at convention center, which was a disaster - (unacceptably very noisy due to a/c compressor, also quite run down). Also stayed at Radisson/Warwick which was OK, but nothing like the Sofitel, which is a joy!

Green Features: no criticisms. it was a very friendly environment. the a.c. was very efficient
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Bonjour james m,

An unexpected power outage is certainly not ideal, but our ambassadors are well-trained to handle such a situation, and I will be certain to share your positive feedback with the rest of my team. I am pleased you were not inconvenienced and still enjoyed an excellent stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit!

Warmest regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,143 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,307 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing