We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nearly as good as the name should make it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not nearly as good as the name should make it.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed at the Sofitel for 4 days. It's a nice hotel. Beautifully designed and decorated. The rooms are nice, with good pillows (not the too thick, too hard foam ones that most hotels have), and feather bed topper. But it's a city hotel, so crappy views (the alley!); one tiny window; no drawers at all(!!!); a shower that barely ran, the door wouldn't close and was hard to regulate; bad lighting; and the most expensive OK breakfast I've had in quite a while.

Don't get me wrong, the staff were very nice (and all spoke one or two words of French :-) But for a very expensive hotel, it didn't offer much to justify the price. The fitness room was great; lots of equipment. There are some good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daxenpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear daxenpax,

I'm glad you enjoyed much of what we have to offer here by utilizing our SoFit fitness center and relaxing in our specially designed bed after enjoying our downtown location. I appreciate you sharing your comments so that we may continuously provide enhancements to create the most magnifique experience possible for our guests!

We hope to welcome you back to enjoy the Sofitel Philadelphia again soon.

Warm regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,951
    942
    216
    90
    50
See reviews for
540
1,185
198
861
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The service was the best I ever had at a hotel. I mentioned in passing that I was celebrating a birthday, and the next thing I knew there was a complimentary basket delivered to me room. We had an issue with the TV, and they were up in our room to fix it within 2 minutes. Everybody went out of their way to make us feel special.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JK4138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Bonjour JK4138,

All of our guests truly are special, and I am delighted you enjoyed a magnifique stay with us. We love to surprise our guests, especially on an occasion as exciting as a birthday! Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Merci!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huizen
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Close to all the important sightseeing-places of Philadelphia, I recommended this hotel. This hotel has very comfortable rooms with relaxable beds. TV-channels with a lot to choose from different programs. Great bathroom. Restaurants they serve delicous a la carte breakfast en dinners.

For tours in the city of Philadelphia, you can always ask their congierge. She will help you with all your questions.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Animefan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Bonjour Animefan1980,

I am delighted you enjoyed everything we have to offer here from our delicacies in Chez Colette and Liberte to the exemplary service offered by our concierge.

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful 5 star review, we will excitedly await your next arrival!

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

There are some hotels that go beyond the ordinary by focusing on their guest by providing friendly service that goes beyond the routine . This Sofitel is one of them. We arrived at 3:30 pm and the room was not ready. To ease the frustration, complimentary drinks at the well appointed bar plus an upgrade for our troubles. Throughout the stay staff made us fell at home. Some of the stand outs are; the breakfast waiter who noticed my love for the great flaky croissants and provided a little box of pastries for our trip home. The valet parking staff, met us at check out counter, took care of luggage as we waited inside, quick car retrieval, luggage loaded, and bottled water available for the ride home. Never had to ask, they went out of the way with those extra touches that make a difference between an ordinary hotel and one that provides a first class experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Larry D,

Each of our ambassadors strives to create a personalized and luxurious stay for each of our guests, and I thank you for pointing out the exemplary staff you met throughout your stay who were able to provide this for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Philadelphia.

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had to ask 3 times for a crib. Our safe broke and from 4pm-6 couldn't open it. They came back again while i was at a rehearsal dinner. Still not open. At 10:30pm to midnight they drilled while I had to sit with my sleeping baby in the bathroom. I switched rooms in the middle of the night. They still charged me 3 room nights when I was there 2. No compensation!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandabill1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Bonjour amandabill1980,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. This is certainly not the experience we would want you or any of our guests to have. We hope that you may return to experience the magnifique level of service that is our custom.

Warm regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I attended a week-long seminar at this hotel and had a very good experience. The staff were welcoming and helpful throughout my stay, particularly the concierge who was able to help out with several requests. The common areas and meeting facilities were quite nice. The WiFi could have been a bit faster, but at least it was free. Overall a great stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ExpatTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear ExpatTraveler2,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during your week-long seminar, and hope that we may welcome you back soon for your next business, or leisure trip!

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,058 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#16 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,272 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing