We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is a lot to be said you get what you pay for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There is a lot to be said you get what you pay for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

What a very nice hotel. Friendly people to help us after hectic traveling day. Fantastic room everything we wanted and more. Great location in the center of the city. The staff help make arrangements to get to the ballpark after eating nearby based on their advice. Overall a wonderful experience but then again I did pay a high price to get what I needed. Sometimes we all deserve a treat and this was ours.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Bonjour Dean J,

We absolutely delight in having the opportunity to pamper our guests! Thank you for pointing out your fantastic guest room, our great location, and your wonderful experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon so that you may enjoy another "treat" and indulge in all that we have to offer here at the Sofitel Philadelphia.

A bientôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,891
    918
    211
    86
    49
See reviews for
522
1,145
194
838
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was my first stay at a Sofitel hotel. The warm welcome extended by Guest Services manager Sonia Dimicoli was very much appreciated and set the tone for our entire stay with Sofitel. We were celebrating my wife's birthday during her first visit to Philadelphia. The pleasant amenities offered by the hotel and Ms. Dimicoli, from the upgraded room to the complimentary dessert and birthday wishes, were certainly a nice touch that helped to make our visit a memorable one. Also, the Doorman and Valet staff were very genial and never missed an opportunity to greet us with a smile upon entering or leaving the hotel. My wife and I travel quite a bit and are very discriminating when it comes to hotel accommodations. This experience certainly surpassed our expectations.

Thank you Sofitel! We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamaalDaveed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Bonjour JamaalDaveed,

I am truly proud that Sonia, our doormen and valet staff provided you with the exemplary level of service and smiles we have become known for and created a memorable stay to celebrate your wife's birthday and first trip to the City of Brotherly Love!!

We excitedly await your next arrival.

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here whilst visiting our son in Philadelphia. A good central location and a comfortable suite. Air conditioning did not work properly, but we didn't realise this until our son pointed it out, as were there in March so didn't need it! Some items in bathroom had not been replaced when the room had been cleaned prior to our stay.
Overall, I would say a very good hotel, just needs a little bit of attention to detail. Very comfortable bed though!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Bonjour SJM8!

We aim to provide a comfortable stay for each of our guests, and I am delighted we were able to provide this for you in one of our suites while you were visiting your son!

Thank you for providing your feedback, as it will assist all of our ambassadors as we continuously strive to provide the exemplary level of service that is our custom.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

A bientôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel staff are helpful, my room was spotless and beautifully appointed. Very functional and complete. Keurig coffee maker that also makes wonderful hot tea. The shower was large, the bathroom was all marble surfaces with ample towels. My room had two large closets, one with hangers and another with shelves for folded clothing. The restaurants in the lobby served excellent food in a delightful ambiance and their staff were attentive and well spoken.

The in-room air conditioning was a little disappointing though. On the seventh floor, my room was very cold when I returned to retire at the end of the day. Raising the set temperature on the thermostat did not result in warmer air being blown into the room. In fact, one night it was so cold that after shivering for almost an hour I got up, donned one of the beautiful cotton robes provided and wore that to bed. Around 3am the warmth of the room woke me and I had to set the thermostat back down to something reasonable and remove the robe. My visit was at the beginning of April, Springtime, and the external weather was in the 60'sF or around 20deg. C during the early evening.

The location of the hotel is very central to most things in Downtown Philadelphia within a block or two of some excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: The rooms don't have a refrigerator or a microwave so be sure to leverage the room service for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwanagary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear wanagary,

What a delight to read that you were able to indulge in all that we offer in each of our guestrooms including a Keurig coffeemaker, large bathroom with separate shower and soaking tub, and ample large, soft towels. I thank you for pointing out the "excellent food in a delightful ambiance" that you enjoyed in our restaurants.

It is a disappointment to learn of your experience with temperature control in your room, and please be assured this is certainly not our custom.

We look forward to your future stays with us here in our downtown location!

Au revoir,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland, Usa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed here for both business and with family for fun over the Christmas holidays 2013. The rooms were very nice, as I would expect from a Sofitel. We got a nice rate so value was excellent. The hotel restaurant was great for a quick breakfast and the service was very good. The valet parking was pricey but I expect that in Philadelphia. The hotel is near Rittenhouse Square with a lot to do. The only minor annoyance was that I recall the front desk staff wasn't the friendliest but overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Bonjour Terry A,

We genuinely love to take care of our guests, whether the stay be for business or leisure. I am delighted that you have chosen to stay with us for both!

Thank you for pointing out Chez Colette as being great for a quick breakfast and very good service.

We look forward to your future stays with us at the Sofitel Philadelphia.

A bientôt!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed at the Sofitel for 4 days. It's a nice hotel. Beautifully designed and decorated. The rooms are nice, with good pillows (not the too thick, too hard foam ones that most hotels have), and feather bed topper. But it's a city hotel, so crappy views (the alley!); one tiny window; no drawers at all(!!!); a shower that barely ran, the door wouldn't close and was hard to regulate; bad lighting; and the most expensive OK breakfast I've had in quite a while.

Don't get me wrong, the staff were very nice (and all spoke one or two words of French :-) But for a very expensive hotel, it didn't offer much to justify the price. The fitness room was great; lots of equipment. There are some good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daxenpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear daxenpax,

I'm glad you enjoyed much of what we have to offer here by utilizing our SoFit fitness center and relaxing in our specially designed bed after enjoying our downtown location. I appreciate you sharing your comments so that we may continuously provide enhancements to create the most magnifique experience possible for our guests!

We hope to welcome you back to enjoy the Sofitel Philadelphia again soon.

Warm regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing